Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Little Machine

by Darzoz - Compo Entry

Feed a cute little robot some scraps so they may one day become big and strong!!

controls are MOUSE, ENTER, and ESCAPE.

Also be warned!! There's currently no way to save progress!!!!

12/11/2016, 9:31pm PST: Fixed bugs with auto-feeder, uploaded web version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#139Graphics3.68
#145Audio3.33
#146Humor3.12
#161Mood3.44
#201Theme3.84
#247Overall3.42
#346Innovation3.05
#432Fun2.89
#1199Coolness36%

Comments

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:45am

a different take on the theme which is nice but overall its a little slow, with idle games which I have played way to many off the hook is always lots of fast early progress and discovery, hit a wall, grind through the wall, fast progress and discovery hit a wall, repeat.

the grind felt really slow from the start before any progress or discovery comes and that is hard to get into

Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:06am

Very cool take on the idle game genre. But the pace is veeeery slow in the beginning. Wish it would auto-generate power faster :-) Other than that, very nice.

torcado says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:28am

Yep I agree with the others; start out progressing faster then get slower
otherwise i thought it was a nice little clicker game :)

dunin says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:39am

Nice mix between a clicker game and tamagochi!
I think power is hard to get too, mostly because we can't let it run in other tab...
But graphics are cool and this *chub*chub* sound is so cute...

Insality says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:16pm

the game seems pretty cool and clicker mechanics are really good implemented (with upgrade your robot)
but very slow start make feels frustrating

Try to fix this and game feels will be much better!

dunin says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:10pm

I come back after let it live in separate window: there are some bug collisions, when robot try to reach scrap behind multiple objects..

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:13am

I feel like I'm missing something because others are mentioning an "idle" genre. Is this the name for the kind of clicker games where the objective is to automate the game so it plays itself? While that kind of genre doesn't appeal to me a bunch, I can see the appeal in this game. It has very cute graphics, and the CHOMP CHOMP the robot makes is adorable! However, the gameplay feels extremely slow, and there doesn't appear to be a whole lot to do. I think if the game had a bit more personality, like if the robot went around interacting with stuff, or if there were more options around what to buy, this would be a lot more fun.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:22pm

I'm not sure I understood everything about the game, but the character is cute and it controls well.

Tyranosaw says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:58pm

I have read through the other comments and i agree, the game is a little slow but other than that, it is a well make clicker game. Well done

acotis says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Cute! I like the little chomping sound he makes when you feed him. That said, I partly agree with others in that I think the pace is too slow. However, I don't think it should be fast-slow-fast-slow-fast-slow as cynicalmonkey suggests; I think a slow take-off is appropriate as long as it isn't frustratingly slow (see "A Dark Room" for an example of what I consider good pacing in this genre).

Some notes on the details:
+ The robot runs into generators, and food can get dropped behind them, making him just run at the food until it disappears.
+ The coins can be seen even when I'm on the "buy screen".
+ The coins can be "tossed around" if you click it mid-air. I actually like this one -- was it on purpose or is it an accidental feature? ;)

Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:46am

Nicely polished game, but the progress is too slow for me. I'm embarrassed to admit that I played for about half an hour, and still only got 7 generators and no coin collector.

I was hoping that the robot would also evolve somehow to strengthen the sense of progress, but perhaps I had to play longer? :-P The controls said that "Enter" did something btw, but this did not work for me. Was this intended to be used instead of clicking "Charge"? If so, that would make the game a lot more playable, but having a more interesting mechanic would in my opinion be better still.

matiz982 says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 8:23am

I like this type of projects. Cute robo character and great audio!

V0odo0 says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 6:29pm

Nice clicker. Spend around 15 minutes on this and absolutely satisfied. Only one sad thing is that it doesn't work in background.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]