Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Room Service

by alfadur - Jam Entry

Can you manage a bunch of pandas checked into a single hotel room, so that they don't bump into each other? What if you're also a panda?

The difficulty may or may not be a bit excessive in the later levels. :)

A quick gameplay explanation to avoid confusion: there are 3 pandas, and each of them thinks it's alone in the room. So they will come periodically to drop off their items. And when they enter the room, they'll expect to find all their items where they left them the last time. And no extra items.

Edit: added a high contrast version to make sure pandas are distinguishable.

Made with:
Code - Kotlin and PixiJS
Graphics - CorelDRAW

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#38Theme(Jam)4.35
#178Innovation(Jam)3.65
#249Humor(Jam)3.13
#476Overall(Jam)3.29
#479Graphics(Jam)3.42
#548Fun(Jam)2.97
#602Mood(Jam)3.03

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:40am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

LimeniusTeam says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Very cool idea, nice graphics, and excellent memory practice! :) Loved it.

Sota says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:47pm

I like that it's a memory game! I've only seen a few of those here, but this one is a bit more challenging.
Good job! d(^u ^ )

tylerraz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Great use of the one room theme to create a challenging memory game. The pandas look nice, although the color variation could be a little more distinct.

jimmynoshoes says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:50pm

Hooray for the pandas.

piwicode says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:00pm

Lovely graphics, the concept is nice and reminds me good old games. It's requires concentration and is quite fun. Thanks for making this game.

alfadur says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:26pm

Thanks for the feedback!

@tylerraz you're right about color, what makes it worse is that I forgot to tint the shadows.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:33pm

The art/design of the game are really cool

Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:59pm

This is really fun and looks very cute. At first this was very confusing, because the actual situation makes no sense whatsoever, but as a memory game it is actualy pretty good.

TeamScripta says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Really great entry! Hi marks for innovation, I've never even heard of Kotlin. Good job making a web game with something different. I loved the panda art!

awesomerex says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:16am

This is really hard. The combination of place/color/shape is a lot to deal with.

ambocclusion says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:19am

Interesting game but really really difficult. Can't keep up with panda demands. Took me a really long time to figure out what to do, needs instructions on the description.

cjke.7777 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:19am

Very nifty idea, has the potential to made into some bigger with a bit of polish. Nice and fun

Zgragselus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:20am

Nice idea for the theme. Quite challenging too.

abezuska says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:36am

I like the characters, and items cute art style.

alfadur says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:35am

@TeamScripta it's still pretty much the same workflow as with plain Javascript, I just don't have the concentration to deal with a dynamic type system while in a jam :)

@awesomerex there are ways to reduce the cognitive load using the order of items in the inventory. Actually it can even be reduced to memorizing a single color, but that's more of a design oversight on my part than anything :)

@awesomerex you're probably right, I might have placed too much trust into game over messages to explain what's happening.

Avocadosan says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:45am

I didnt understand it at first but i was kinda my fault, i didnt read Lmao. I really liked the gameplay!

Kalkatos says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:27am

Great use of the theme. It's a funny piece!

ragnta says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:44pm

I don't understand this game. I don't known what do I need to do if the panda ask something. :(

alfadur says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:15pm

@ragnta when they say something, it's really just a comment on what should've been done before they enter the room. So if a panda says "what is this X doing here", it means X is someone else's item, and it should've been hidden so that they don't see it, and so on.

yuigoto says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Nice use of the theme! I wonder what would the game be like if, instead of just moving items, you had to manage these pandas's sleep, or if you had to camouflage yourself, or avoid two pandas coming to the room at the same time! :P

Nice graphic style too! I really liked the cartoonish style, really fits the game! :) I miss some audio, though. I think that could add even more to the mood of the game! (Like, you hear the next panda mumbling something when close to the room). :)

Controls worked pretty fine and fast for me, but it took me a few rounds to get the whole how the "next panda" thing worked :P

Good work! Cheers!

ragnta says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:46pm

@alfadur and the items that the panda ask are random generated or It's working in FIFO system? :)

alfadur says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:37am

@ragnta well, it's kinda neither, to be precise. Each panda has its own inventory, which is filled randomly at the start of a level (N items for Day N). Each time they come, they might drop some items on the tables, or take some they've dropped previously. Even if they don't take all their belongings back, they still want to see each item on the same table they've placed it on previously. And they never want any items they didn't bring themselves. I was thinking of having them actually ask for new items, but there was no time to implement that.

@yuigoto that's great suggestion on the sound of approaching pandas :D And actually preventing them from meeting each other is something that would add a bit of context to the game setting. If I ever manage to scale it to something more featured, that would be a thing to try out.

Ouro17 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Nice game! I liked a lot how you displayed this theme, it's very funny to keep the thing "as it was" so nobody notice, nice idea! Congrats.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:31pm

This is very very cool. Super clever idea, fits with the theme perfectly, and the execution is nice. It's very difficult, but I feel you could become competent at it with some experience. The perspective rendering effect is neat, too. I'm impressed by the creativity all around!

JackTheOgre says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:36pm

I really like the mood of the game c: And it looks soo nice even though the graphics are pretty simple. I guess that's because of that interesting perspective effect. Nice job and keep it up :D

Dec 21, 2016 @ 10:39pm

Hahaha! Cool. I love that it's pandas (for no particular reason).

ScreamRawr says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Really cool concept!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]