Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Tangent

by rxi - Compo Entry

.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall4.43
#7Graphics4.55
#9Fun4.21
#9Audio4.30
#17Mood4.16
#38Innovation4.02
#149Theme3.98
#189Humor2.93
#1421Coolness26%

Comments

CMLSC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:30am

I won! :D
Also, I noticed an issue with your movement.
http://imgur.com/a/naR1r
I cheated the last bit. Instead of actually making the jump to the platforms with the button and computer, I missed and went below. I was still close enough to press C though, so I won. :3

CMLSC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:31am

Btw, will be checking back here for replies. :D

gironC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:32am

I love so much the art, and the concept is very interesting, nice game! :D

Raiex Gezz says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:27am

i love the way on how player go to different room~ (=w=)d

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:28pm

Probably your best Ludum Dare game yet, and I love everything about it. The game looks really clean, great color palette. I love all the added unnecessary scenery, really add to the mood of the game. It plays nice. It's a really simple game yet there's enough challenge to keep it interesting. Audio is perfect as always. And of course the concept is very innovative. I wasn't always sure what was going on, and I loved it. Great job rxi!

dunin says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:00pm

Wow that's really cool!
Great mood, great mechanics, great graphics!
Full of surprises and fun!

amras0000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Phenomenal work as usual; it's always fun playing your titles.

The game has a very solid difficulty and mechanics ramp, introducing new concepts and challenges smoothly and always building on what was there before. Any complaint I had about the mechanics was eventually washed away by what they evolved into.

I will try to nitpick a bit, though, since a "you're great!" review isn't all too useful for personal improvement. My first impressions of the game was actually a little bit negative; the consoles and buttons don't really fit into the bunny/foresty theme you've got going, and although the transition animation was cute, the consoles in the early game felt more like doors/passages in a standard platformer (and therefore bored me a bit as it's nothing I haven't seen before in a million games) than like something that was modifying the level itself. Later on in the game, when the overall structure of the level would stay the same and only a couple platforms/enemies would change in a given transition, the mechanics felt a lot more smooth and creative, and I enjoyed myself a lot more. I'd have liked a stronger focus on that style of level design in the early game.

As a matter of personal preference, I might have liked a tiny bit more focus on puzzling and a tiny bit less focus on (moderately) precise platforming, but I can't say I didn't enjoy the mix you had going.

Thanks for the great experience :)

P.S. - would have loved some swaying grass animations

mitkus says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:35pm

Very impressive game! Kept me playing for awhile, which is not very usual with LD games.

I'm sure you'll get lots of positive comments and they are well deserved, but I'll write some minor complaints:

- Sections where you have to be quick to get under a door can get frustrating. It's totally fine to make them hard, I just don't feel I become better at them besides trying until I randomly succeed.

- It can be hard to quickly intuitively feel when I'm close enough to a button to press it. The helpful popup is helpful, but I find it comes up too slowly.

Anyway, great job!

martincohen says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:53pm

I love everything you make, man. Feels very smooth and solid. Love the art (the simplicity of the waterfalls just amaze me!). Mechanics are incredibly well tuned and puzzles are ton of fun. I'll spend good amount of time with this one. <3

pta2002 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Love it!
10/10 would get frustrated again.

neontropics says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Looks cool, any chance of an OS X or Web version?

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:19pm

Loved it!
Everything is just smooth in this game and works without hassle. The platforming is fun, the transitions are nice.

I like how you made me exited to reach the end, by introducing more action and more reason to play quicker.
Good job.

peredm says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Amazing Game!
The mechanics are very original and fun. The difficulty curve is good and I love the simplistic art style! In my opinion it doesn't exactly fit the theme but everything else is incredible for 48 hours.

resty says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Oh this amazing game. the beautiful art, those water and butterflies... love it.

piwicode says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Fantastic game.
The sound is very addictive, the idea is admirable.
I have finished it and it is of a magical accuracy.
Thank you very much for all this talent !!
We've been working on a game a bit in in the same idea if you want to test.
Bravo for the gameplay timing.
Bravo for graphic art very fair
Congratulations for the sound, poetry and animation just right it too.
My favorite for now
Marc

Feips says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:51pm

The art and the mechanics are amazing!
I love it.

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:20pm

Very rad
Loved the art- the music- and the game play
overall very strong entry
Clever puzzles that scaled in difficulty at a nice pace. Nice one

Zee says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Great game! My favorite so far! Great visuals, great audio, and great game-play. Not really much to say other then amazing job! I felt the difficulty was well balanced, nothing too hard, or too soft.

My only real complaints are that it feels more like you're teleporting to another room then the room changing when you click on a panel, which doesn't really fit the theme. I felt the room changing while walking through it worked better. The game-play is also nothing new and quite basic, however well done it is.

You're also missing the source!

Overall, I had a lot of fun!

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Sheesh. Winning took forever! Congratulations on the game though! It's definitely gonna be a winner. Now stop being better than us. ;)

rogual says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:28pm

I had a lot of fun with this one. Really polished, and I love the music. There was one bit I couldn't get past where you have to run through a few rooms in succession before the door closes, and I could never be quite fast enough. But I liked what I saw. The little fish and flying things were great touches.

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:43pm

I love the art! I was a little confused on the progression, but I liked it.

torcado says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:43pm

Sooooo incredible. really love the warping effect and puzzles. And the music too gosh dang. awesome entry

sollinxp says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:48pm

5/5 in all categories, this game is the best so far!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Nice mechanic, kinda hard sometimes!? Had to speedrun it almost! haha. I thought that the music was super cool, but the sfx were not on the same level.

piwicode says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:36pm

My friend told me about this game. I love the music and gfx design. Is the game happening in one room, or is it teleportation? Anyway, comments are dithyrambic and this is well deserved.

Maybe you can make the jumps control less demanding by allowing the player to press the jump key a few frames before being standing on a platform.

Congrats & thanks for making this game.

By the way, how do you transform your lua into an executable?
(piwicode team member no2)

avalkyrie says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Cute game. To make it through the later gates, you need to start moving before the transition animation finishes.

bitslap says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Amazing game. As far as "One Room" mechanics go, you nailed it. The visuals are great and do well to convey the game play. I would prefer a chippy tune to match the lo-fi pixels . But the existing tune does a good job nontheless. Level design and platform puzzles were interesting and fun enough to see the game through. Great job!

Jacob Peltola says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:00am

Cats traveling through computers within one constantly changing room.. too real, Great game!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:14am

Super fun and challenging. Loved the art and level design :-)

rnlf says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:54am

This game *almost* drove me insane. Almost. But in the end, I WON.

I don't think I have to say anything about your art or audio style, top notch as usual. The game has some very clever ideas for puzzles.

In the beginning I was not sure about the theme, but when I realized that a small part of the level never changes when teleporting (? shifting the time-space-plane of the universe?), it suddenly makes a lot more sense.

For a while I thought that the lack of variable jump height was a problem, but the puzzles are all designed with that in mind and after a few retries, I managed all of them (except for one, where I used the non-standard method, as it seems).

Very cool entry!

ZQMony says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:09am

Great game. The art is amazing, the concept is really unique and the game plays very well.

batmagus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:20am

Great work, a beautiful, highly polished platformer!

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:47am

Wow the best game I've played until the moments in this ludum dare, many congratulations, all 5/5. I love the music, the controls and how the difficulty goes up, the graphics are beautiful, the transition effect. Everything I liked very good work. ♥

NotExplosive says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:15am

Very clever interpretation of the theme! Also excellent succinct tutorial.

Geti says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:43am

Lovely mood. Made it to the end eventually. Some of the timing was pretty close though. The fixed jump height was not my favourite. Lovely mood though.

doppelgunner says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:35am

Nice game. I can't finish the game though

Gumboot says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:30am

Very nice and fleshed out. Feels like you really put a lot of effort into every bit of this game and it is very addicting. Back tracking was a bit of a hassle when I couldn't get the timing exactly right but I like that it pushed me to try harder.

Leon Möhring says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:10am

Did it through, the time pressure was real tho, and so many levels! The simple pixelart looks very nice and the chill music creates a great mood! Now, I don't quite think it's just one room, but the game is great!

Awpteamoose says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:45am

A fun game doesn't have to be too complex, I suppose.

mkl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:58am

hard, but cool game

Maple says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:48am

This was hectic af. You did well. I'm scratching my head for criticism here...

I'd say that the time between death and re-spawn could have been shorter. Made me feel like I was waiting, a little. I also feel like a variable jump height could have benefited this game. Also, a little bit of polish in regards to the ending would be nice (Like, it doesn't do something final such as taking you back to the title -- you just sit there like "oh, this is it? Do I quit from here?" -- Even if walking off the right hand side of the screen reset the game, it would be much better).

The music was awesome btw. And, a few nice moments: It felt good the first time I used the door switch to make the door raise, for the purpose of using it as a jumping platform to get accross. That was rad. That was like some zelda shit. Also, that empty room with trees was awesome. It was a nice break, and then you in the same room introduced the new mechanic of room-shift by proximity to invisible trigger. That was rad, too.

Overall, good job. You did well.

P.S. I'm super curious as to how your itch.io pay-what-you-want thing is going. I've been trying to make a bigger game, but, at least for the moment, my skill seems to be with small games, so you've made me interested in doing something similar. If you're willing to share, get back to me somehow. :>

Thanks! See you around

buckle2000 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:10am

LÖVELY!!!

Mark Overmars says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:30am

Extremely solid entry. Music, graphics, and level design are all there in a big way and the difficulty is very appropriate. Making water fatal to the cat gets a few points in humor from me :) 5 stars overall.

Nanolotl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:43pm

Real nice. Real good colour pallette.

ema1ih says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:06pm

I was so excited to play your game when I saw two days ago your first gif you posted. I looove your game, it's so addictive. Great idea, nice graphics ^_^

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:08pm

Really clever level mechanic. The jumping felt a bit too floaty, making me miss what should be fairly short jumps, but going all the way to the end is incredibly rewarding! Great job!

2Bit says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Has a great feel and vibe to it.

lupusinsanus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Really good and stunning design!

Obvious_San says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Fantastic! Very creative gameplay that switched things up every time I was on the verge of getting bored of a mechanic. Difficult in parts, but not insurmountably so, you've just really got to get your route down tight. I adore the simplicity of the art. My only quibble is that the jump control could be a bit more forgiving when trying to jump immediately on landing. - randomhuman

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Really good game, perfect gameplay, nice way to fit to the theme. Graphics are also nice and difficulty is well brought. I liked what I've been playing to :D
Great job !

local minimum says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:51pm

I really enjoyed the game, though it got a bit too hard towards the end. I found some trees but got quite confused about what to do there. The style was fantastic and I loved the music that came with the game. It would have been really nice if one didn't have to enter the computer tile to trigger the ability to warp in the cases when one spawned right on the spot where one wanted to go. Just a very minor detail. I don't know if there was a way to drop through the platforms, but it felt like there should have been. Really great entry though!

Tijn says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:06pm

It's mind boggling this game was made in 48 hours. Truly superb, a fantastic effort.

I've played for about half an hour, but haven't managed to reach the end yet. I'm not very good at platformers to begin with and the puzzles quickly get quite hard. But with infinite retries, it never gets too frustrating. I'll try again later, I'm sure I can manage it in the end.

Congrats on this entry, it feels very solid and looks and sounds great. Well done!

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Hard as nails, but very creative, great use of the theme. Nice art, nice music. The mechanic is really clever, but some of those doors are just too quick man :)

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:16pm

This game is straightforward awesome, just loved playing it. The visuals are great, the controls super smooth, the level design super clever and somehow it had a cave story vibe to me. It can be rather on the hard side, but the quickness of trial and error makes it fun to keep trying. Seriously, top work here, incredibly polished for a Compo game. Congratulations!

Sean says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:37pm

Solid entry; simple, but elegant! Some of the visuals seemed a bit incoherent (why are computers transporting you in magic bubbles? why can't a cat fit under a door when the tip of its ear is ever so slightly above the threshold?), but overall it was cute.

One major complaint: the area which introduces the transitions based on position instead of the computers has nothing to indicate or force the player into moving forward to discover the new mechanic. As it stands, it relies on the player walking to the other side simply because they have nowhere else to go, and I imagine some people are just going to stop or get stuck there. I feel like this mechanic should be introduced by having it in the middle of an expected puzzle solution so that you can't accidentally miss it.

It'd be interesting to see if you can actually construct a single 3D "room" by layering the different areas based on transitions, or if this game exists in some weird impossible space!

NeithR says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:02pm

After teleporting using the computer (the title screen), the game graphics only showed title screen (animation also stopped).
However, I still can hear the gameplay like jumping and picking up the coin.
I am using Windows 7 32-bit.

Btw, love the art and the music.

MentaL13 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:14pm

The art is amazing. It always amazes me how people can do great art with low pixel counts. The controls are solid and challenges are well done. Great work!!!

vini60 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:25pm

The art and audio is on point !
Really good.

Ouro17 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:43pm

As pointed out by others, great game! I'm very, very impressed and will look at the source code for sure. Good job man. Also you gained a Twitter follower.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Clever concept, wonderfully executed. Good take on the theme!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:32pm

One of my favorites for this 37th LD session. All mechanics work very well. This is a good platformer game with a clever gameplay. Well done ++

Zarkith says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:03am

Finally got around to playing this! My only regret is not trying it sooner. :P

Kinda reminds me of Miegakure, but with one less dimension. Not sure if that's what the tangent effect is supposed to represent or not (moving in the 3rd dimension from the perspective of the 2nd dimension), but if so that's an excellent take on the theme.

RetroSpecter says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:47am

I did it! those last couple levels were really hard.
Overall a fantastic game, and I love how you incorporated the theme. One criticism I could give (though its a minor one) is that sometimes it feels like it is hard to control the jump or that the cat is moving to fast.

rayriver says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:04am

I love the pixel arts!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:34am

Lovely, my favorite so far. Cracking ending.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:27pm

I got stcuk between the two timed pillars :( You should add a suicide button !

Nice take on the theme and cool polished game, good job !

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:49pm

Impressive game! got me playing for quite a while. The music was spot on gameplay tight and it's a good play on the theme.

The difficulty ramp was nice unit I hit some point where it got frustrating. It's where you have to hit the button and traverse 2 screens to make it. first it was a bit confusing what which door activates when you hit the switch. some feedback for that would be nice. other thing was here that you had to do it perfectly. took me like 10 tries. after that the timing aspect became even tighter and at some point I just quit. it's where the door block the enemy and you have to jump on it tot reach the next activator.

I also got stuck for a bit on the open forest area. great art btw, but the mechanic there was a bit unclear and every time it switched it felt very random. some feedback, or line for that would've helped.

anyway I loved the puzzle aspect, timing not so much, but still a solid 4 stars

Split82 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:46pm

Almost perfect :) I loved it.

Patacorow says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Oh man, just love every LD entry from you. Cute pixels and very nice mechanic.
At fist the use of the theme was good but not felt perfect until the ending that was very clever.
Really liked it, good job <3

Simple Ghost says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:14pm

Beautiful art! I really enjoyed this :)

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:08pm

This is amazing. Simple yet clean art, good ambient music and a really fleshed out concept. One of the top entries in the compo for sure.

skorpyo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:48pm

I like the graphics. Really cool game.

pixzleone says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Wow. The controls felt nice, the puzzles were well designed, and especially the music seemed to always fit. The way you had almost no sapre time made the "puzzles" feel very satisfying. This was really good.
Well done! :D

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:28am

Fall into water... explode! Did not expect that.

Also, how did you even come up with this concept, it's so confusing! But overall it's a solid puzzle platformer.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:44am

A really amazingly well polished game, the visuals and audio together are absolutely stellar. While the platforming isn't really that innovative, the way you switch worlds using the consoles was cool. I found that jumping was a tad annoying as I would often try to jump right after landing, but was not allowed to as there seems to be a slight delay before you are allowed to jump again.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:48am

Oh, forgot to mention this, but I found it really confusing at first when you start moving between parallel dimensions without the consoles, it seemed to break the rules the game had established for itself.

Pixtopher says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:00am

Such a strong entry and i wanted to play till the end. I had to stop though as one of the puzzles was a little unforgiving in its timeframe.

ijzm says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:12am

REALLY GOOD! I feel like this would have been an entry for Nitrome's Pixel Love if it was a browser game (and if they were still doing that...sigh).

But yeah, this game was totally up my alley. Pixelised graphics that were super cute, a clever idea, fading out rooms here and there and having them tie into one another. A mix of puzzles and fast reflexes. I got frustrated at times, but it was the good kind of frustration that kept me playing until the very end.

And the music...ohhhhh the music. Synths and chip blips work excellently with this. I can't believe this was done in 48 hours.

~Random-storykeeper

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:29pm

One of the strongest entries I crossed by now. The execution is almost perfect, the mood is really nice, and the idea is just killing it :)

Well done, sir!

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Super-adorable, if emotionally difficult whenever kitty dies.

pythong says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:57pm

Good job! loved that you made a gif, or elsewise I would never had noticed your entry ;)

qristofer says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:51pm

One of the best I've played so far. Graphics, music, puzzles. Everything is very impressive for a compo entry.

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:09pm

love it. very frustrating..

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Nicely polished game, the music was chill and the graphics minimalistic (perhaps too much so), but at least it was obvious what was going on. Well, [SPOILER] except for the first bit where the player was supposed to guess that the room would change when they walked a bit further. But the controls were spot on, the gameplay felt good.

dietzribi says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:27am

Amazing. Graphics and audio were brilliant, I really dig the music. But obviously the best part was the gameplay. That was really good level design, the controls were super tight. Some parts were really hard and it seems like the timing was impossible at first, but when you finally manage to do it woohoo! Easily one of the best entries. BTW I hope there isn't anything after the "you win" text because I wasn't 100% sure :D

Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:27am

Wow top notch. Love the gamefeel you give to your platformers. They're pretty unique and inspiring. I especially loved the super smooth transitions and FXs. The concept fits the theme well and is super well executed through the level design 5/5

Ulydev says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:15pm

AMAZING. 5/5 for the music, I love that slow beat :)

AthelGS says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:05pm

I enjoyed this one a bit. Controls felt a bit "buttery" first, but the feeling was only for a short time. After I got used to it, it was a fun experience that had me playing this for a while. I'm not 100% a fan of those timed door parts, but otherwise, a nice approach to a one room theme.

managore says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:56am

Ugh, stop making things so dang BEAUTIFUL! I always love how much you can do with so little. <3

pLaw says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Great game. Definitely one of my favourites in this LD. Very good music!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:39pm

It's a solid entry for sure. I got a bit too frustrated with the sudden need of perfect jump timing at the end, but I eventually beat it. Nice job.

hiki911 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:52pm

the most attractive game on this LD so far! It's magnificent!

GFM says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:09am

I've played/beaten this game a while ago and still haven't been able to come up with anything to say...

This game was simply amazing. The graphics are beautiful and the sounds matched perfectly.
After seeing the development GIFs I thought the main mechanic was going to be interesting, but... wow... I still am at a loss of words to explain how awesome it felt (specially that last section).

Congratulations and amazing job!

studdert249 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:09am

Platforming controls felt tight and the difficulty curve was well thought through.

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:41am

Awesome game overall. I came here via your timelapse posting which I found very impressive. The game itself is no less.
It was challenging with a very good ramp up and kept me motivated throughout the more tricky passages.

The level of detail in the graphics adds a lot to the atmosphere of the game and the music was fitting to set the mood.

I especially liked the subtle separation from the one room mechanic at the end as sort of a release from the confines of the game.

My only point of criticism would be missing controller support, which is fairly easy to set up in Game Maker, and my personal (subjective) preference of switching x and c for interaction and jumping.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:49am

I really like the music! Well done, very polished game.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:59pm

Nicely designed puzzles with limited number of mechanics. They might be a little predictable but I can imagine how it could look in a fully developed game with a few more mechanics. Music is nice, graphics are alright, very good job.

Rixud says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:23pm

this was one of the most complete games i had played on this LudumDare, nice difficulty curve, nice mechanics... i really like it

yumaikas says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:50pm

Great game overall. It's very well polished and fun to work with.

Farelle says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:54am

haha I got stuck between 2 of those retractable pillars :P this was really fun to play :)

qualia says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Really brilliant entry, particularly the appearance and music!

My only complaint is that on some tricky levels where you're jumping from a descending barrier, the descent of the barrier can prevent your jump presses from registering (this was the point I gave up).

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 11:37pm

Great use of the theme. Wish controls were a bit tighter though. It's really difficult to pull off some of the speed platforming parts when the jump height is fixed.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 2:02am

Amazing mood and music! I also really enjoyed the minimal animations and the simplicity of it all. Great puzzle designs! One small comment, I got stuck between the two descending doors. Maybe adding a reset button for these cases would be useful. Overall, a solid entry!

euske says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:33pm

I was slightly annoyed that you had to move away from a terminal/button to activate it again. Other than that, it's a very moody entry as usual.

Dec 21, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Okay, that's the best game I've played.
Simple mechanics, great level design and kishoten ketsu.

The mood and music are amazing, it reminds me of Fez.

Congratulations!

ChatPion says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Amazing entry ! The pixel art is simple yet effective, the music gives a great mood and the level design is great !

Ellian says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 9:37pm

I won! Hooray!
Fantasticly done, it plays absolutely great. The last puzzle was too tight to be fun but everything else was so, so enjoyable! All the congrats, it plays absolutely awesome aaah I loved it

g12345 says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 11:11pm

I like the game too. Simple mechanics but a lot of fun.

I was just playing pta's game and told him he missed some level design, and this one gives that.

I haven't completed the game, the timing at some level is too tight for me, but still, well done!

giordanno92 says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 12:49am

Awesome game! Loved how everything just flowed and I was able to just sort of mindlessly run through this great and intuitive level design. The sound design was great, the music was awesome and the graphics were very consistent and charming! A couple of critiques would be to respawn faster, fixed jump height could almost ruin the game if it was longer or relied a lot on platforming precision and the character slided too much horizontally. Sort of feels like nitpicking, it does not bring your game down, but these small things could certainly improve the whole experience. One of the best entries I've played. Good luck!

MrErdalUral says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 9:30am

Character speeds up too fast and slows down very slowly. It causes controls to be a little clumsy. In my opinion in this kind of games controls shouldn't add up to the challenge.

Aside from that the game is amazing, especially the level design.

Dec 22, 2016 @ 4:34pm

I love everything about this game! The graphics, the audio, the puzzles,... Definitely one of the best entries I've played so far! Well done :)

dollarone says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 2:33pm

Excellent game and great take on the theme. Puzzles were good - one went from "that's not possible" to done within 3 tries :) Music and sound really good and makes a good atmosphere. Controls good and visuals great. Overall great game!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 3:30am

Pretty good. wOW.

mortus says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Awesome! So smooth that I almost couldn't believe the puzzles with spontaneously changing rooms didn't cause any frustration, only fun and joy!

kawaiineko says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 2:27am

Lovely and cute idea. Very interesting concept, well executed! That was a new experience, very fun. Creative way to work the theme.

jusw85 says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Simple and fun entry. The effects added a lot to the polished feel, from the butterflies fluttering in the background to the dust when you hit the ground.

The aspect I like most was the level design; The levels and platforming felt really tight, and I feel that's probably the aspect lacking in most Ludum Dare entries. Most focus on finishing the game before working on good level design IMO.

Dec 27, 2016 @ 6:10pm

super great game. i like it a lot, just wish the controls were a little tighter for the platforming.

rojo says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 2:17am

Great idea! The game played well mechanically, the simple aesthetic was nice, and the audio was decent. Good amount of content as well. Nice work!

Feb 7, 2017 @ 7:30pm

Pssst - you have been featured on Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bAstSDhVeLE

gordebak says ...
Feb 8, 2017 @ 7:00pm

Nice idea! If you have one room, make it more rooms. I like it.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]