Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Alchemist Slave

by Enrymion - Compo Entry

Game about a alchemist locked in a room and tasked with creating a potion of immortality and a deadly poison.


If you prefer you can use space to toggle grab items instead of having to hold mouse button down to move things.
Pressing A while mousing over a ingredient or potion adds it to the cauldron.
Clicking the drain in bottom left empties the cauldron and dragging a potion over it does the same, pressing E over a item also works.
Pressing B over a bottle is same as dragging a potion over the cauldron.


Goal of the game that I managed to implement is to create a 2 potions, one with over 1000 on heal and magic and less than 5% poison while also having at least 5% in all elements, the other potion requires 70% poison, less than 2% magic and 8% in all elements.

Test potion button does nothing until you have 1 of the 2 potions and put it over the table near the button. I was thinking of having bunch of simpler potions that you could make and sell but without that testing potions is kind of pointless.

Edit:Added a option to halve or not the amount of different ingredients.

Also as far as I can tell firefox doesn't like the embedded version but it should work with the web link

Edit2:Fixed a bug with recipe detection and changed UI slightly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#200Audio3.17
#253Innovation3.31
#297Theme3.62
#336Mood3.05
#494Overall2.93
#538Fun2.47
#1114Coolness40%

Comments

slimabob says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:30am

Love the concept, really cool take on the theme! Maybe a few too many ingredients but aside from that, great job!

laylow says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:37am

One room but an insane number of possibilities. Neat.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:39am

In the console I get

Refused to display 'https://maukka.itch.io/alchemist-slave' in a frame because an ancestor violates the following Content Security Policy directive: "frame-ancestors 'self' https://itch.io".

Anyone know if this is an issue with one of my plugins?

ModernMan says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:51am

Enjoyed the game quite a bit! There was a bit too much ingredients, however.

Tauka says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:18am

Good game, need to work on clarity of mechanics

eerongal says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:19am

interesting concept, but there's way too many ingredients!

TechXSoftware says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:51am

Nice art style

mdzimmer says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:12am

Interesting objective and simple setup. Fewer ingredients and aspects for the potions would make the game more approachable.

menip says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:44am

Awesome Music! Idea is also good, but too many possibilities. Maybe list the different types of elements, instead of just having percentages? Nice Work!

tomaisthorpe says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:30am

Cool concept, and lots of combinations!

Enrymion says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:11am

The number of ingredients is rather high to make it very unlikely none of the ingredients affect some stat. I was planning have less ingredients and use a seed for generating the ingredients and then use only seeds that I've confirmed as good but I didn't get to doing that before time ran out.

Jurgler says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:34am

Nice concept, but it felt like i always got the poison potion. Tried out some things but nothing changed for me.

gene-z says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:28am

Nice concept

Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:32am

Interesting take on the theme, but the mechanics lack clarity. Too many ingredients and low feedback for the player. Good entry overall, great work.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:41am

The concept and execution are great, but as the others have stated, there are too many ingredients.

Exspirz says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Nice game, didn't play long enough to get the right combination though, maybe I'll try again later

nycolas says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:00pm

Nice concept, I like the idea.

laluis1 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:03pm

Cool game, Nice music, fun, lots of options to test, each with their own description of the world's properties, I like it.

Gulyasarni66 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Awesome work!

Move127 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:23pm

I like the complexity that comes with trying to figure out what combination of ingredients to use. It doesn't seem to use the theme in a very creative way, though. I thought the music helped the mood.

Neonian says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:27pm

Pretty cool

stefvanschie says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Pretty fun idea. I'm not great with these type of games, but it was very fun. Perhaps lower the amount of ingredients? The list was quite overwhelming.

Cosine says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:27pm

This game is not for people with ADHD like me! It would be more fun, I think, if I didn't have to go slowly through all the ingredients. If they had images that hinted at their power, or names, or they were sorted in some way, that would make it more fun (I'm sure you could balance the difficulty some other way, but at this point it's frustrating difficult instead of fun).
Also it'd be nice if I could mouse over names.
Also, if I want to buy more of something, it would be really, really nice if I could find out a plant's name by, say, mousing over it.
Great take on the theme though!

meg says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:45pm

I managed to make the potion of immortality but I don't think I had the right recipe, the heal was only 69% or so? It was hard for me to play after I tested the first potion because the message doesn't seem to disappear and I couldn't see the shop UI very well after. It was fun though! I actually think the number of ingredients would be OK, but it needs a better UI to differentiate them. E.g. it's great that the main element is "plant", but I don't know what the element percentage of "plant" is in my current potion because I don't know the order of the elements. And if I know I need to find an "earth" element the only way to do that is to go through typing all the letters.

Iluvatar says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:15pm

I really liked it. I appreciate you created a lot of special ingredients to make it more interesting, yet it may be too much for this kind of a short game. Overall, very nice.

szahn says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Cool idea.

rburema says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:45pm

I like dragging and dropping, makes you think you're doing something physical.

Might help if the elements had icons, now there's just a list and you've to memorize the location. Now I see that the poster above me suggested something similar...

rplnt says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Nice idea, though I got quite lost, maybe too many ingredients. Icons in the shop would help (maybe some even near the elements). I didn't manage to get either of those two potions :)

barning says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Wow, this too much stuff. But nice Idea.

Darenn says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Very good idea that fits well with the theme. I like the fact that we have only one room, but a great amount of possible potions ! However there are too many ingredients I think, it discourage me at start. Keep creating games !

rogual says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:28pm

Great concept, hurt by difficult UI.

It would really have helped to have the objective remain on the screen instead of disappearing and making me remember it. When you explain stuff at the start of the game, players haven't played the game yet so the concepts you refer to (such as "magic" & "poison") don't really have anything to attach to yet in the player's head, which makes it hard to remember, even though as the developer it might seem obvious to you what's what.

Also it would have been nice to be able to control the game using only the mouse, without typing anything in.

It's got lots of potential, though. There's a great game in there trying to get out.

ambi says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:39pm

The alchemy theme was interesting, but the potion crafting part where you have to buy the ingredients was confusing and a lot of reading and trial & error. Maybe less ingredients with a little bit easier interface next time?

DerpyDev says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:56pm

I feel like this game is pretty good, but it could use a few more labels. When I hover the mouse over a potion, it doesn't say what elements are what, and I would like to see the effects of the items that I am buying. Also, I feel like we should be able to regain points somehow, but I might have just missed something. Anyway, epic game dude! Love the music, has to be my favorite part xD

datMarv says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:39am

Whew, that one really surprised me as soon as the list appeared. That's one way to spent the developement time. :)

Awesome!

Capt Nemo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:12am

Nice, I really liked the massive amount of items. A game like this really needs the space to experiment.

Aun says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:36am

Funny game but I think there are too many ingredients. Also, instead of explaining commands in the description, you should write them in the game. A simple bubble this the key to press and a small drawing to explain would make the game clearer

Dene says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:03pm

Nice idea, but there are so much ingredients :D That scared me a lot.

Gulyasarni66 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:38pm

.

harusame says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Cool concept, a bit strange but I like it :)

Too many ingredients ^^ But it's cool.

Graphics are basic and not very neat. But they are effective.

Good job in compo :)

stuffedgravy says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:38pm

The main challenge in this game is grappling with the way information is displayed.. Which is not ideal for a game that requires the player to learn/memorize a lot of information to succeed. For this game to succeed, you would need an easier way to get information, and then create some sort of constraint that keeps the game interesting (and avoid you being able to figure out the formula to win). It's definitely an interesting idea though! Haven't played anything like it for LD yet.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]