Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Roach Escape

by Ithildin - Compo Entry

YOUR GOAL:
===========================
Help Roachie (sh*tty name I just made up as I'm writing) reach the flashing goal and escape the room. It broke an antenna, so its sense of direction is a bit off: when it finds a wall, it simply turns right, being an easy prey for missing tiles, infinite loops of wall-bumping and the ghosts of enemies that didn't make it into the game in time.

To assist it you need to place special tiles on the floor. Roachie will follow whatever direction is stated on them.

Watch out for gaps!

CONTROLS
===========
The game is controlled with the mouse.

While you're in editing mode, click on a tool to select/deselect it, and click on the board to place tiles.
Click on an already placed special tile to return it to your hand.

Once you're satisfied with the layout, click "Go!" and watch Roachie move. If it gets stuck you'll have to go back to editing mode manually. Unfortunately, I didn't have time to add any kind of limit (a countdown, some energy,...).

Please don't hesitate to leave any feedback! I'm aware that the game is quite incomplete and I already have a massive list of features for a potential post-compo version, but any constructive criticism is appreciated.

DEV TOOLS
==========
* Flash Develop + Haxeflixel
* Photoshop.
* Jfxr/Audacity for whatever audio you get to hear.
* Tiled for level editing.

Postmortem coming soon...

EDITS:
13/12/2016 - Since several people have reported issues getting the hang of the game at the beginning, I've added link to a gameplay video showing how to fail and beat the first level. I hope that helps until I can fix that on a post-compo version.
16/01/2017 - Replaced link to the original compo version and a new post-compo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#156Fun3.54
#314Overall3.27
#317Humor2.43
#418Mood2.82
#441Innovation2.76
#452Graphics2.69
#558Theme2.77

Comments

gironC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:03am

Interesting concept, nice game! :D

neontropics says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Great difficulty curve, in the beginning you have a lot of options and it's easy, but later on it gets harder.

It is very similar to the late great Chu Chu Rocket - if you haven't played that then that has a bunch of cool stuff to take inspiration from (main thing for me would be the ability to speed up Roachie with a button when trying different solutions).

timgarbos says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Tile programming games are nothing new, but I like the levels and ideas.

At first I didn't notice the extra black walls on the red tile. You could definitely make them a little more visible.

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Cute little game. Interesting sfx. A little more art work and its good to go. Keep it up it has potential.

Dagorlad says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Pretty cool concept. Level 3 hit me really hard tho. Concatenating the sounds feels really good, I would put more instructions somewhere tho. Good job!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Really clever puzzle game with an interesting concept. I had fun playing it. The gameplay is easy to understand. Well done ++

Zener says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Solid mechanics and very fun game to play! It has very good level design, I hope you can add some more graphics and levels to it. Congrats!

rplnt says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:17pm

Nice game, definitely something I can see myself playing on a phone or something.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:45am

Thanks all for your comments! Some of you have mentioned features I was already keeping on the backlog to add to a potential post-compo version, and your feedback in terms of user experience is invaluable.

For example, I need to make obvious the distinction between the edit and playback modes, and the walls definitely need to pop out more.

@neontropics Yes, Chu Chu Rocket was an obvious source of inspiration. When I came with the idea I was thinking of Lemmings, but I knew I had also played something like that years ago that I couldn't fully remember. A few hours into development I recalled Chu Chu Rocket, and the compo version is pretty much a simplistic, one-character-only take on their puzzle game mode. During development I tried to add a "fast forward" option to help me debug that would make it into the game if it worked. Unfortunately, it broke the collision logic and refactoring it to work the right way would have taken a lot of time, so I decided to remove it.

amigo155 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:50am

Cool Game!

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:14am

Great to see a puzzle game... always fun to play. I do agree with some of the comments that the walls need to be thicker (more visible). Good job!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:21am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Mennalus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:15am

Liked the puzzles, not a fan of the high pitched noises.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:34am

It was fun, but for the first level I didn't realize that I had a "move right" piece because it looked grayed out.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:45am

It took me some time to understand how it moves. The black lines are hard to notice.

mipo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:11am

Fun game with great level design. I think the art and instructions could be clearer. I'm not really sure what the pause button's purpose is I would always hit it and then try to edit. I think this game would really benefit from more levels but there is only so much time to make them.

LDP says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:44am

Simple concept, but good to play

Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:26pm

Simple but fun :)

MTolkien says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Nice job! I really enjoyed!

Jungle says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Well done! It's a very nice puzzle game, but I don't think it fits the theme "One room".

zzapp says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:22pm

Really fun puzzle game. Simple mechanics and good level design, level 3 was by far the toughest level, it was a breeze after that.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:16pm

I love these games!

Anyonebacon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Pretty neat game, nice work :)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:28pm

I couldn't get it to work at first :( I think a tutorial would be useful

Ithildin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Thanks again!

@sacredseedstudio Yeah, I need to fix that and make the Edit and Playback modes clearer. In the meantime, I've uploaded a video showing how to beat the first level.

https://youtu.be/i7K4-X-WIJQ

Ludipe says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Quite fun puzzle game. Had a hard time at the beginning because I couldn't spot the black lines that make you turn (they're a little bit too thin).

The rest was easy to understand. I think I didn't use most "arrows" in every level, it'd be nice if I knew how many I need for the optimal solution. That way players would keep trying to find the best solution.

It was a really nice entry with enough content, congrats on finishing it! :-)

bplane2 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:50pm

Not too shabby, I've seen the game before in a number of contexts, but making it work so quickly and with no noticeable bugs is still a feat. Didn't really have anything to do with the theme though.

The color scheme was also pretty rough on the eyes, and it was a little hard to tell where the walls were. The high-pitched squeak was also a little grating. Overall nice work.

dunin says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:13am

Simple but nice little puzzle.
You should just give to the player the minimum of arrow, the game would be more challenging. We can't really juge the level design when we have extra possibilities...

Megalink says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:38am

I like the concept, good job.

GFM says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:07am

Nice idea. :)

I don't have much to add from what has already been said, though:

- The walls are somewhat hard to see.
- I accidentally clicked on the menu button after falling into a gap and lost all my progress.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:19pm

I watched the video, I see now you have to click on the grid to place a piece :P

Good job overall, thanks for the update!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Very nice entry, as a big fan of chuchu rocket and puzzle games in general I enjoyed this one a lot! Sounds are cute, graphics are nice and mouse controls work just as expected. If feels really polished for a compo entry and the amount of levels designed is a huge plus. Since not all arrows have to be used to find the solution, a cool feature would be to have some kind of score based on time and amount of tiles used. Congratulations on this, it was really enjoyable!

Vadim Ivshin says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Thanks for your feedback. I also like mechanics of your game too, it's quite different from mine. Maybe you should make walls more obvious, they are not so readable in this version. Anyway, I would like to see a full post-compo version.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:46pm

Put some polkadots on it and it's a ladybug (ladyroach?) Cute little game, like Chu Chu Rocket without the Chu Chus. This needs some music love and some nice sound effects.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:07am

Cool idea, I like it a lot. Some of the puzzles were a bit too much for me, but that might be because I got four hours of sleep. Anyway, I like the design, simple yet fun. The difficulty ramps up in a good way. And yeah. Good job!

wowa_u says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Simple and funny puzzle game!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Simple, well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/xWdPMmlW1Hs

BoltKey says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:28pm

I like the concept, but it ways way too easy for a puzzle game. There was always excess of tools. I would like this much better if there was always a unique solution and some optimization would have to take place in order to solve the puzzles.

Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Fun idea and smoothly implementated but at least initially lacking in difficulty. At some point (after 7 levels or so) I clicked a wrong button and was returned to the main menu, so I haven't seen the later levels.

mrhill says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Nice concept, could have been harder. The walls are really hard to see. But I hade fun playing it :D

velvetlobster says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Simple but nice entry. I really like this type of game. This fits perfect as a mobile game. Great work.

MrTroy says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:43am

I love this game. Had a good time playing once I figured out the black walls. I really liked the fact that you were given unnecessary pieces, that forced me to have to figure out it out instead of brute forcing the levels.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:53am

For a compo game it's very well done and it's actually very solid. While it's nothing new the puzzles were extremely well thought out and done and it had a lovely freeware charm to it which I loved. Overall very solid and great entry! :D

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:14pm

The scavenger! I like watching the roach move through the level, even when it doesn't reach the goal. It's fun to see it unfold. Some timing based puzzles with moving obstacles might make that part of the game dynamic.

Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:49pm

Quite a fun puzzle game! Reminded me of Chu Chu Rocket ;) Well done.

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Good game, I had to spend some minutes trying to figure out how did it work acutally, but was worth. I love the little black thing smaily face :P

rjhelms says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 4:11am

Cool puzzle game! I could have played this for a lot longer - the length was good for an LD entry, but I was hooked and didn't want it to end.

The sound & graphics could have used a bit more polish, I think - they're fine, but I think a bit more time spent getting them better would have gone a long way.

There was some nice emergent complexity around how the roach turned on its own, the layout of the levels, and the instructions I gave it. Good fun!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]