Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Quentin

by Mark Overmars - Compo Entry

Quentin: a game made for Ludum Jame 37 - "One Room".

Soundtrack: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CLNME3i_3I0

--- ABOUT ---
Play as zany filmmaker Quentin Tarantino trapped in a room which he can control with his mind. Can you escape?

An intimate story about a man on a journey.

--- CONTROLS ---
Position the digitus primus manus (thumb) of your left hand upon the space bar of your chosen Windows computing device. Rest the remaining fingers of said appendage upon the A to F keys. You shall be using the thumb to execute jump maneuvers, and non-thumbs to mind-alter your surroundings. Additionally, the right analogue of your left hand is used to control horizontal movement in a manner known as the "arrow keys".

One may execute a pause by striking the "escape" key.

--- SOURCE ---
Source can be found at https://github.com/marcin-swieczkowski/Quentin.

All graphics, music, sound effects, and levels were made within the 48-hour time period.
A base engine was used as allowed per the rules. Gameplay features were coded from scratch.

--- TOOLS ---
Game Maker Studio
Renoise
Paint.net
jfxr
Oblique Strategies

--- CONTACT ---
Questions? Comments? Hot chick?

www.overman-gaming.com
twitter.com/OvermanGaming

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Audio3.85
#87Overall3.80
#114Fun3.65
#143Innovation3.60
#176Mood3.40
#276Graphics3.25
#308Humor2.47
#577Theme2.60
#1037Coolness42%

Comments

Mieeh says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Music is really stunning, that said, a more intuitive pause menu/mute would be appreciated. I only found out you could pause the game because I exited the game and once in the pause menu I didn't understand that you had to use the arrow keys to toggle between the selections. Still can't seem to figure out how to mute it though since arrow keys or enter doesn't work.
Sound SFX are a bit too loud ex.jumping.

The intro screen is a bit hard to read because of the contrast between the green and blue.

It felt a bit unfair to not be able to see where the S platforms would spawn in (i think it was) the second level with the ladder and this problem was amplified in the third level.

The art is nice and quite coherent.

I think you would have benefitted from making fewer levels and polishing the ones you had :)

-Theihe

Mark Overmars says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Mieeh, the controls are explained on this page as well as in the readme.

The first few levels are just meant to introduce you to the mechanics. My girlfriend had no problem with them and she never plays videogames. Thanks for the review.

CMLSC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Definitely one of the better games in the Ludum Dare so far. It's actually really hard. :P

onyon says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:28pm

I love the music and sounds!
Also the graphics are really nice, great retro vibe.
Walking is sooo soo slow though, probably my biggest issue about this game.

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:49pm

Like the concept very much. The music is nice and the art is simple but I like it. Got to the third world before I couldn't get any longer. Nice game tough!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Interesting idea... tricky game-play.

Mieeh says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:10pm

@Mark
I didn't complain about your controls?
I just stated that the pause function was unintuitive and the mute option doesn't seem to be working.

There is no need to defend this comment and object to it, even though that might be the natural way to go.

I quite enjoyed your game, even though it really wasn't for me and I quit after three levels.

Happy to hear your girlfriend played it without issues, but for testing you really should get strangers to play your creations to see how they react to playing it with no prior knowledge.

Great work though, I hope you continue with your development! :)

-Theihe

Mark Overmars says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Mieeh, I was just clarifying for others as your review was quite inaccurate. I honestly have no idea where your confusion with the menu and first three (easy) levels stems from. Thanks again for the review though, I do appreciate it.

Avocadosan says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Whoa dude! This game is so epic! I really liked the concept and the difficulty! :D

ohmmus says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:31pm

My brain and fingers got so tangled up. I haven't seen a game this tough on LD in a while. Love it! great job!

icefallgames says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:04am

It's super hard for me, so I can't play enough of it to actually give ratings. But I will say it's pretty impressive from what I've seen! There's a lot of nice polish and it actually feels like a shipped game, not a compo game :-)

Mark Overmars says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:27am

icefallgames, I'm sorry that you and others find it too difficult. Have you tried the recommended way of positioning your fingers? I didn't think people would have so much trouble :(

tomdeal says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:05am

I really like the concept. It's simple but challenging, which is good :-) The only very minor thing I noticed was the slow movement of the character. This could be improved a bit.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:06am

Neat concept. Extremely difficult. Nice retro vibe!

DillonEA says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:09am

Oh boy was this creepy and challenging. The eerie music and the impact of the screen-shake when you switch between states really does build up a really neat mood. It also succeeded in making me feel like whenever I made a mistake, that it was my fault, rather than the games. Admittedly, I found the platforming controls lacked precision, but a lot of my errors came from my lack of self-control and care in regards to the switching mechanic. Good work!

Zeriver says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:46am

Whoaw, that's high quality game, really impressive work for only two days. I like the main mechanic, it makes platforming a lot more engaging. Graphics and audio really match and both give nice retro game vibe. You even made a lot of levels with decent level desigs.
Dobra robota : )

mitkus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:48am

This game made me really angry. Don't get me wrong that's great!

Presentation and sound is top notch, very juicy. Idea is very cool too and I just love that main character is Quentin Tarantino.

Though what made me angry is repeating the same goddamn sections 100 times until I get the jump right. That might have been intentional, but I think you really need to show both active and inactive platforms all the time.

Anyway, good job!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Made it to world 4. The core mechanic is pretty cool and level design is great, though this game stressed me quite a lot haha (I think audio is to blame for that).

It's super polished and it's has an amazing amount of content,super fun entry, congrats! :-D

By the way, loved using small exploits (like swaping into a place where there's a block to get on top of it) to complete levels faster.

Maple says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:00am

Wow, what a sassy game. I like how quick and witty it was.

The biggest downfall was the trial and error-ing your way through levels, where you couldn't guess where platforms would be. It's sad because It started to look like there was a bit of a story forming, but It stopped being fun a few levels in to world 2.

Next to that, I'd say it felt weird using A and S as primarys. A bit of nit-picking, but I would have started with F and D, and then branched left.

Music / sound was pretty rad. The vibe in general was pretty good. Subtle things like the quick camera movement and shake really is what gave this game life.

Keep it up. Stay cool.

Mark Overmars says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:52am

Maple, I wouldn't call it trial and error but experimentation. The trick sometimes is to find a safe place to do it in :) Thanks for the reviews everyone.

Remicy says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:35pm

Great game! The concept are super cool, and it's really potential.

vinipc says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Really nice game, though I found it pretty hard.
I was ocnfused as to why some platforms were "hidden" until you went into the right dimension and others were always visible even if they were inactive.

Dec 28, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Challenging, well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/zIfj54R5OyQ

Green Soda says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 3:35am

Really nice concept! It's interesting and challenging :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]