Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

One Womb

by StoneMonkeyStudios - Jam Entry

You are but one of millions seeking a place to call your own. However, just like the Highlander, there can be only one... Unless multiple get in or something, but we aren't covering edge cases here.

Hop and wall jump, evade STDs, and make your way to the promised land: the ONE WOMB.

Controls (keyboard/controller-- CONTROLLER STRONGLY RECOMMENDED):
Space/A - Jump (Wall Jump when against wall)
WASD or arrow keys/Left Joystick - Move

KNOWN BUGS
Keyboard input is bad. USE A CONTROLLER!. Seriously. It's awful, hopefully you have a controller. We will try to make it less bad. But please don't rate us on the badness of keyboard play, at least without trying a controller first. Thanks!

Playthrough:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ze_64g4iFBs


The team:

Programming:
Ryan Nohr

Art:
Kyle Olson
Jon Rasmussen

Music/SFX:
Tim Brandl

... wait, did you say the theme was One Room? Well... shit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#44Humor(Jam)3.95
#285Innovation(Jam)3.40
#294Audio(Jam)3.32
#443Fun(Jam)3.15
#460Graphics(Jam)3.45
#510Overall(Jam)3.25
#546Mood(Jam)3.12
#634Theme(Jam)3.21

Comments

Ogniok says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:03am

Heh... I gave 5/5 Innovation althought people are doin it for centuries :D

Moritz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Really slimy wall jumping game. Very nice graphics that have a lot of humour on them. Controls not very polished, which makes especially the start really difficult.

Not sure if this should be marked NSFW :D

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:22pm

OMG xDDD
Idea is just NO comment
Good job developers

Cole Chittim says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:24pm

The title alone made me laugh out loud! Hilarious take on the theme! The only improvement I could suggest would be to the gameplay, the controls are a bit under polished making the sperm a little tough to control

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:44pm

To the people having issues with control, may I ask if you're using Keyboard or Joystick? The controls are most polished with a 360 controller.

OneManArmy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Haha.. The title *facepalm* x)

awesomerex says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:58am

ehh... couldn't decide whether to give 1 or 5 stars.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:28am

Wow! When I sat down to play some LD games tonight, I did not expect this. Awesome use of the theme and a great presentation/execution to go with it! Well done!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:39am

Cute game. Controls were a bit rough (keyboard) at first, but was a little easier when I dedicated my right hand to the spacebar. Love the meat textures you used on the walls. Pretty fun overall.

Ganon says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:47am

Ridiculous game. Wasn't expecting to see anything like this for this theme! Too good, tip of the beanie to ya!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Ahah! *Pull out* to quit. Really nice game, unfortunately i felt like the controls are not very polished, i died a lot, but it's ok since the guy's well loaded. :)
Pretty accurate sound design !

Ayxs says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:10pm

good effort controls on keyboard werent that bad loved the art and the humor

Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:30pm

Weird? Gross? Extremely sensitive keyboard controls? If you want those things, this is the game for you.

It's pretty hard but I kind of like it.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:51pm

LMAO. I think you might want to check the "not safe for children" option, but this was pretty hilarious. The controls took a little getting used to, but overall it was a fantastic entry.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:52pm

Yeah man, we build it for gamepad, and it plays great there. We just really hope people aren't rating four fun on keyboard play :/.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:53pm

Also, the kids have to learn sometime, why not now?! :)

Ednei says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:00am

ahahaha, great idea and application!

brisk says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:25am

Gross.

Player controller could use some work in my opinion (yes I'm using a controller, Logitech Dual Action), but it still came out as a genuinely fun platformer.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:24am

Haha, thank you for at least specifying that you did play with controller! Glad you enjoyed it, also glad you were disgusted :p

Kerr says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:02am

As my wife says "you're a fuckin' sperm!" We made it to the area with 4 ball-ish bacteria of doom and 4 coil-ish bacteria of doom a few times before being frustrated that there were no checkpoints and having to Pull Out. Fun game! The soundtrack was catchy and the art was appropriately Fun ;) Just wish there were checkpoints so we could've Finished :)

Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:11am

We did consider checkpoints right away on Friday, but decided not to put them in, because it's damn hard to be that one sperm to win ;). Keep at it, maybe you'all get it :p. Or maybe we'll add checkpoints for the full release ;)

PolygonTeam says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:30am

Funny cool 2D! i like it! interesting graphics!!!

Shivur says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:55pm

Original but almost impossible to control if you have a keyboard.

fufi says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:16pm

Excellent entry! The use of the theme is funny and it has a great mood! The game is quiet hard, I had trouble going further than the spot at 0:59 in the video, even with a controller. Anyway, great job ! ;)

SandBloom says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:28pm

I think the game has very nice graphics and the thematic is very funny but the controls could be more accurate. With a good control would be a very fun game.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Funny game.

Palarus says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 10:23am

Very funny! Great controls and nice platforming. Kind of difficult at the end though. 5/5 on innovation.

SUNFURY says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 3:54pm

Whaw, well done!
didn't have a controller and my keyboard was too sensitive as you said, so I watched the youtube video, it seemed extremely difficult!
other than that... you are pro, in all specs

ijzm says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 6:23am

Very hard game. ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
I really got into it. ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
I came to the convolution this is a fun game ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

tylerraz says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 7:47pm

Hard but fun and its hilarious. I think the early jumps were a little too hard, i.e. ramp the difficulty up a little slower.

Naca says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 5:06am

Our game is the sequel to yours :D Great use of the theme!

Feb 3, 2017 @ 7:27pm

Interesting game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/7yEaPmt36yU

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]