Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Smallest Dungeon

by Reuno - Jam Entry

Smallest Dungeon is an automated, fast paced dungeon crawler, with only a single room, but tons of enemies. Lead a group of four adventurers as endless monster waves spawn in the Room of Doom.

Your characters will attack and move automatically, all you have to do is trigger their special powers, heal them, and most importantly, choose their loot to create your own build and hope to exit that doomed room!

Each game is different. There are 30 loot items to collect, 10 enemies to defeat, 4 songs to listen to, and some hidden stuff too!

Controls :
- Keyboard : 1,2,3,4 : hero powers and loot choices, 5 : potions
- XBox gamepad : A,B,X,Y : hero powers and loot choices, RT : potions
- Mouse : click on the hero powers and potions to use them, click on the loot cards to pick them.

Credits :
All code, visuals and illustrations done in 72 hours by Renaud Forestié.
Music by my band, Uniform Motion.

Special thanks to Andy and Olivier, I probably would have given up without you guys.​ And thanks to the nice people at Motion Twin for having me for the weekend.​

PS : the web version only has one song to keep download times low, check out the Win/Mac versions if you want more variety!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#4Audio(Jam)4.57
#34Overall(Jam)4.15
#56Graphics(Jam)4.48
#89Mood(Jam)3.95
#105Fun(Jam)3.78
#115Humor(Jam)3.62
#196Theme(Jam)3.99
#320Innovation(Jam)3.33

Comments

HawkSandwich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Very nicely done, I really like the feel, the graphics, and of course the music is brilliant.

pcmxms says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:21pm

Nice game. A little more control of the chars would be great (like setting their position before fight). If there is this option, it wasn't clear enough.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:22pm

Just when I thought I've already found my top pick, I see this game. Exceptional art and music. Gameplay is simple but nice. Great entry!

nycolas says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Great game and well polished. I just LOVE the music. Only one thing: it tooks me a while to understand characters have an ultimate. Btw it's really good, gg!

ISG says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Polished, fun, nice music, great idea. I'm surprised, it's definitely good game!

SoKette says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:25pm

This is amazing. Wouldnt mind a little bit more control though :P

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:30pm

This game is so lovely, i wanna marry it !
So much juice, so much cuteness, so much colors !
I was afraid that the gameplay was gonna be repetitive but the battle are small enought not to get boring. Great Balance too !

And most importantly, FANTASTIC SOUNDTRACK !

Reuno says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:31pm

Thanks a lot for your feedbacks!

@pcmxms > no, you can't choose position (for now!), but that's a great idea and would give the player something to do before the next fight. Added to the todo list!

Overall if I keep working on it I'll definitely add more control and options.

Mouch says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Oh no, the corgi died. Fantastic music and graphics.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Really fun game to play, loved the humor. A little bit more control would make this perfect, but still a great entry.
Graphics and music are top-notch.

lonesurvivor says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Great game! Music is obviously excellent (can sadly only play the web version being on Linux), Graphics are great. Game looks polished. Good job!

mutuware says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:46pm

A proper song for a ludumdare game, great stuff!

awoojr says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Wow, this game is pretty good. Nice artwork and animations, sound and music is great, and I like the upgrade system. I don't like the lack of control however and I feel the potions don't do enough. I'm not sure if it was intended but I found that if I just wait in the looting screen, my characters will regenerate their health. Overall though, a very neat game which could be expanded to be something very nice.

TheMightyTeam says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Graphics and gameplay are really nice. I think music deserve 5-star ratings. Superb!

vrojman says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:46pm

Really nice art and music. Sometimes I think the enemies just die alone.

kraftkar says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:49pm

Impressive! Beautiful game :)

piwicode says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:53pm

Nice song, lovely graphics. This is fine art!
I didn't know really how to pick wisely the items.
I will play it again because it's fun.
Congrats to the team!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:59pm

amazing!
rip corgi :(

tylerraz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:04pm

Great all around, the music fits the game so well. Art and animations are great. A little more control would be nice, as the mage seems to get in a lot of trouble fast

cxsquared says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Really well done overall. Everything about this is a lot of fun. Awesome work!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:39pm

I only mashed buttons, so it wasn't really what I usually look for in games. But the experience, with visuals and audio, were really quite amazingly nice, especially considering the tiny amount of actual gameplay.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Also, I think an enemy got stuck outside of the boundaries from my super crazy knockback, so the game got into a softlock (web version).

Doomdad says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:45pm

This is one of my favorite LD37 games so far. Complete package art/sound/gameplay/challenge wise.

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:10am

Beautiful! Very well done, professional, and polished. Catchy tune- I really enjoyed it.

Was hard to know what upgrades to choose from, which was better etc. And I dont like having such little control of the battle, who goes where who attacks who, who gets potion etc. You dont like wasting a potion when one guy is full and another guy is low health- but hey what am I complaining about- this is really an amazing entry for a game jam! Bravo!

dunin says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:23am

Having a band for a jam is amazing!
Graphics are cool, upgrading stuff is cool, but I don't really (have the time to) understand the speciality of each charactere and don't have the time to take real logical decision...

Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:39am

Absolutely Amazing Best Game So Far Good Graphics Good Audio 5/5 Game.
Its A Pity The Download Doesn't work :(

mirta000 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:42am

loved the soundtrack! What a nice little game!

zzapp says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:53am

Really awesome game, loved the character and enemy sprites they were super cute and audio was great. Super solid entry overall

xbcw says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:26am

Most played LD37 game so far. Great job.

Marta Viader says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:49am

Wow, with a bit of balancing you have already a super cool game to launch :D! I encorage you to keep working on it!

wowa_u says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:02pm

Very well done!!

Reuno says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Wow, thanks a lot for all that great feedback!
It motivates me a lot to push that game further.
@Inventivum Games > Could you tell me what's wrong with the download so I can fix it?

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Great! now.. how do i get that catchy tune out of my head?

Ryuko13 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Amazing entry!

Firellon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Great game.
Indirect control is making my efforts a little bit useless, as I can not choose where to go and where to start
And 1 defeated hero = game over, actually =( They can not be resurrected

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:36pm

special music for this game?Real good job. Ave Ceasar

TitoMakaniJr says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:18pm

Music and art are both just fantastic!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Uau, this is one of the top game of this Jam. Love the music, art, gameplay and all!
You should go and publish this game for mobile platform,it is amazing.

pyokoanarogue says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:52pm

loved everything but the game design ( but most probably because i wanted to get to the meat of the game very quickly and the game didn't seem to guide me to it . why did i die? how to look at what happens in the game and the gauges at the same time ? and other things like that ) still for the time frame it's an amazing game. ( how cool is it that you get to do the music with your band ? really cool !)

Michalidis says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:54pm

Alright I have FINALLY managed to find a bug - when you have too high knockback, an enemy might spawn/knock behind the walls and so you can never kill it :D

Other than that the graphics, music and sound are so amazing I would not even believe it was done during Ludum Dare :D Great job guys :)

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:57pm

Great! This is tons of fun and fast paced. I'm not sure that I'm doing it right, but I do OK.

Love the speedy feel and casual graphics style.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:01pm

I wanted to try it but I got this error message when launching the .exe of the win version :

There should be 'SmallestDungeon_Data'
folder next to the executable

JayProg says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Great game overall!

I really enjoyed the speed, polish and music made for exciting gameplay but the trade off is that it became more of a button mashing game for me as it was hard for me to keep up.

Probably just the kind of thing that iterating on the UI and playtesting over time could help improve. I really hope you guys continue exploring this one.

Reuno says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:18pm

@Yami no tenshi > So sorry about that! I've uploaded a new version that should fix the problem. Thanks a lot for reporting this!

@Michalidis > That's right! Knockback should be capped!

@everyone > Thanks again for all the great feedback. I completely agree with it all, the game definitely needs more playtesting (to be honest it didn't get much during these 3 days, apart from me). Your comments are super useful to me, thank you!

Aaranos says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:28pm

Recognized you immediately from the last entry. Really love the polish you can put on a weekend made game.

The game's a bit random but I think it's a good play. Some more control over characters would be nice or an explanation of their skill. I kind of just mashed all the buttons.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:45am

Really cool music and graph ! Liked the game à lot. It even worked on my phone! Cool and polished, good job!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:05am

The music is amazing but it's brought up even more by a solid game! Great feel :)

t4u says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:39am

Amazing graphic and sounds (want to download songs). Funny jokes under upgrades. Shame I can't control characters and all my interaction comes down to trigger all specials as fast as you can (since you don't know what they do). Even potion heals everyone so there is no strategy there.

I could easily see this game on sposored web game page.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:58am

Super clean and polished! Great game, my only complaint would be that it is hard to see the outcome of my choices.

ashtheevil says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:37am

Battles are too short to realise what's going on. But it's a great game at all!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:37am

I expect to see this game place pretty high. If you could more convey abilities that relate to an idle game you might squash the complaints about non-controls.

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:35am

Reunard, you're my hero!
How can a single man create such fine piece of art in only 72 hours?
Mind==blown.
Anyway, great game and thank you for your work :)

Saiodin says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:43am

Extremely polished, art and music nicely harmonizing. Easy to control and satisfying to play.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:17am

Nice game. Gameplay is simple but fun.

Kurakurt says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:27am

5/5! Amazing game! One of the best games of this contest!

Infin8 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:15pm

Game is fun and love the music. :D

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:49pm

Really nice graphics and music! The only complain is that the battle happens so fast that you don't have time to understand what's happening, I was spamming all the abilities when they were available. Overall, one of the best games I've tried so far.

Lukeryn says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Very polished! Great work! It would be cool to be able to give them potions individually instead of all at once.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Thank you for the windows download correction.

I tried the game and I like the concept of upgrading the team members. Graphics are also really really nice, good job ! It was a pleasant game.

I'm not very fond of the musics selection though, not fitting the game really well imo.

And the game itself wasn't really hard, just upgrading the strength and regen was enough to go through the levels. I got a bug that stopped me at the end of level 4 with a kind of infinite animation on the wall (apparently the ice animation of the blue team member) and the level not ending.

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Great graphics and amazing soundtrack! Gameplay is simple but fun. Very good entry!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Total chaos. I clicked to do some special attacks but I'm not sure I helped my poor heroes much in the end. The presentation, art and music are top-notch.

Potato Dog says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:34am

Really nice game, and looks amazing too. It runs so smooth considering the timeframe, will be cool to see where it goes! Great job

Ednei says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:58am

Great experience!
Love the áudio and graphics! Nice job!

Stylo21 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:34am

Awesome music, lovely.
Very cool art style too.

siryakko says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:31am

Love the cuteness, the use of the theme, the gameplay, the feeling LOVE THE GAME

Greek85 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:03am

oh! Nice! And it's also online! Can I find it on indiexpo? I'm making videos about the games of this Jam, but only about the games hosted also on indiexpo! Tell me if you will add it, so I can include it in my next video ;)

Simple Ghost says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:24am

Very well made :) Great audio!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:23pm

By level 5 I was singing along. Lovely. 5*'s all round!

arzi says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Great art style and probably the music in this LD.

terryg says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:36pm

it is very fun but i wish that when you died it would automatically give you the option to restart as apposed to having to click the pause button

Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Very cute and polished, I really loved the music, congratulations. I did find it a little bit confusing at a start though, it would be nice to have a little more control on the characters.

SleepyStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:17pm

Extremely nicely polished (especially with the music!) however I feel like there's so little control in the game leading to a weird mess of explosions.

DoubtfulGames says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Such a sweet song. Gameplay is a little difficult to figure out, but all in all a pretty solid submission! Nicely done.

madmarcel says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:44am

Wow. So good. Really impressed with this entry. Love the graphics, the music and the kooky enemies. My archer got stuck attacking the wall on level 17 or so :P

Mieeh says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:33pm

Nice feel overall, stumbled upon some bugs, for examlpe, the green arrows just kept raining doing no damage which led me to die because I couldn't cast it.
Other than those small little bugs the game was great!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:54pm

Amazing work for only 1 guy in 3 days :o The only downside is that we don't really know what is happening once the battle begins, but other than that it's really polished, the art is incredible and the music is gorgeous.
One of the best entries no doubt!

Yamzho says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Yep. That was good. Very good. Amazing in fact ! Well done !

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:53pm

Really impressive game!

hiki911 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:22pm

Well done! Have a lot of fun during a few sessions

onixowl says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:21am

It's waaay bigger then high quality! Good job

PolygonTeam says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 10:53pm

very very cool art style! music very nice! great game, guys!

indrkl says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 10:56am

Really fun game, loved the song, would just play for that :)

iossif says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 12:28pm

lovely! i had no idea what was going on at the start but pressing the buttons and looking at the nice effects was already a great feeling :D

i also really enjoyed the loot menu. very polished. good work!

Arowx says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Great work for solo 72 hours.

SUNFURY says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 2:04pm

dude the graphics! graphics is top! and the music! ohh!
didn't really understand what I'm doing but I managed to complete 12 levels
Thank you for this!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 3:02am

Best sound so far! The song was super catchy, it reminded me of The Dandy Warhols, and I was instantly sold :D
Visuals were super polished, and gameplay was solid as well, but felt a bit confusing due to the frantic speed: it was hard to tell what was happening.

Despite this, this was a brilliant entry. Awesome!!

Minato4th says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 10:08am

This is increribal! Like, like!
Please dont stop and bring the game to release

Dec 29, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Really polished, the visual style is amazing and the idea interesting.
I dont find the music particulary fitting the game but that's my opinion :)
A nice and fun game, congratulations from an other Renaud :D

Dec 30, 2016 @ 10:58pm

I love the visuals and the presentation is fantastic, the gameplay seems like it would work really well for mobile and I could easily see this on the app/play store. My only suggestion would be to make it clearer when and why you should use abilities, it felt a little like I was watching more than playing. All in all it feels super polished though, especially considering its made in 72 hours. Great job!

ring says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 6:47pm

Artwork is great so as music! Game is very fast and I felt that I haven't got enough control over my heroes.

raaaahman says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 7:15pm

Awesome music and graphics. But the choices, I don't really understand how to evaluate their effects, so I picked randomly... great job though!

yuigoto says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 9:02pm

Whoa, this one's REALLY GREAT! Lots of fun playing it! It looks cute, really well-polished and wrapped up! :D

The graphics are just cute, and so well-done, and you did so much stuff! Sound and soundtrack, specially, made the game really feel great! :3 Just brilliant!

Controls are simple, but that's what makes it fun and accessible! Great work there!

ijzm says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:50pm

The effort put into this game really shines through- the art and lyrical music are great and the game feels very polished overall. My only criticism would be that the gameplay can feel repetitive with not much player input, but that's not a huge problem with the added health boosts and upgrades.

-TinyCastleGuy

Reuno says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 6:46pm

Thanks a lot for all your nice comments! I can't wait until the next LD now!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]