Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Post Mail Package Mail Room Office

by mrhill - Jam Entry

Have you ever looked at a postman and though "Man, that looks like fun. I wanna be a postman when I grow up". And everybody was laughing and laughing at you. Well, your time to shine has come with the introduction of PostMailPackageMailRoomOffice, everyones favorite post office simuluator this Christmas.

Made by Me: Oskar Olausson, programming art, design, sound
and Fredrik Johansson, programming, some art, design, interface

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#43Fun(Jam)4.00
#43Overall(Jam)4.06
#131Innovation(Jam)3.75
#257Theme(Jam)3.88
#400Mood(Jam)3.34
#405Humor(Jam)2.71
#406Audio(Jam)3.03
#559Graphics(Jam)3.22

Comments

stadoblech says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:15am

surprisingly well made and fun! Please keep working on it! I want to see more! :)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:56am

Nice! A lot of fun

Paradoxa42 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:58am

Well made 20/20

buckle2000 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:38am

Very hard.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:45am

I just finished the game, and my solution ended taking up most of the screen (there were only 14 tiles left unused). This game is absolutely wonderful! I personally found it really fun and enjoyable. The difficulty was there, but it wasn't frustrating, and modifying my solution to fit the new inputs never took more than a minute or so. The difficulty never got to the point where I felt the need to resort to trial-and-error. I have a lot of experience with this style of game (I own a large collection of programming puzzle games on steam) and have made similar games (both in miniLD #69 and this Ludum Dare), and yet this game still has some really interesting mechanics that I have never seen in a game of this style. The puzzle remaining the same but getting more complicated each time was extremely clever and innovative, and modifying my old routes to sort out the new inputs was really fun. I also thought the jumper and the way it sorts inputs was really interesting and unique. My only complaint is that the controls are a bit sensitive and hard to get used to, but I probably only feel that way because I'm more used to the control scheme in my game. Overall, this game is easily 5 stars in my book. Fantastic work!

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:09am

I didn't do very well and it could of used a little more tutorial, but it was well put together.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:23am

Funny, works fine, have difficult. I enjoyed the game. Good work for all :D

caranha says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:23am

Wow, this was fun! By the way, the first time I played this, I did not realize that you could build before the level started, so I was building at the same time as the mail was filling up the room!

Honestly, that should be the standard way to play the game!

Placing the tiles in the right direction was a bit tricky sometimes. Maybe we could use the right button to rotate the tiles? Also, a sound when a tile is placed or destroyed would be great.

Finally, I found the rules pretty clever: The color based splitter, and the fact that big packages don't jump, while smaller ones do.

Thank you very much for the game!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Woah this is actually great
I wish there was a way to pause the game but on the other hand, the chaos is part of the fun, and since there is no game over...
A really good take on chu chu rocket

(oh, and the audio works GREAT!)

Pierrec says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:39pm

Wait...I can build IN ADVANCE?
That changes a lot of things! Better than a pause button

Pierrec says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:39pm

Ok there's actually a pause button.
Good thing I've read the comments. I guess I'm gonna play again ^^

Pierrec says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Ok, sorry for the multiple comments but now I feel I just played a totally other game which is as great. You managed to make something that is great TWICE! Congrats!

mrhill says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:44pm

HAHAHA, thank you pierrec. Very warming to hear

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Wow this looks like the game my buddy made, great job! A+

Splendidus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:03pm

I like games like this.

rainssong says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Like thoses games in 1990s, simple and hard, good job

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:12pm

wow! This is a really good Idea! It remembers me the pipes game, with the water flowing.
Well done!

kraftkar says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Surprisingly difficult. Really nice entry.

Shivur says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:47pm

I absolutely loved it!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:49am

As a fan of Zachtronics games I loved this. And I also haven't noticed pause button till the end, so I experienced that sweet chaos. I really enjoyed the fact that it started with "That's it? Game gonna be probably dull..." to "Oh! Now I must to rethink everything!". Plus, I didn't understand at first how Jumper works and that it behaves differently with different package. WELL DONE!

Firellon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Nice idea

Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:30pm

Hey, I liked your game it was actually fun.
You can improve the audio and the graphics at some point but overall not bad!
And please go and try out my game!

pkenney says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Very cool puzzle game with a lot to dig into! Great work.

Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:50pm

Great entry, the idea is pretty funny and super fun to play. The mechanics are well designed and interesting. You also did a great job on difficulty curve for puzzles

Nexus64 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:31pm

It's interesting and looks like it has very well designed mechanics, but is hard to understand what is going on.
Try to invest in a better tutorials

Obvious_San says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 11:18am

Solid puzzle design with a perfect difficulty curve. There's a bit of trial and error involved in determining what works, but the art does communicate the concepts well in retrospect. My only criticism is that getting the tiles pointing the way you want can be a bit fiddly sometimes, and sometimes tiles seemed to flip direction without me going near them (or so I thought). It's a great game overall anyway.

- randomhuman

Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:00am

That's a great little game but there are 2 things that bother me:
- I can't seem to understand the rule to make the arrows go in the direction I want. It looks totally random and I have to click a bunch of time to make it looked the way I want
- the sound is horrid!!! Please change it, unless you actually want the player to experience the postal syndrome :D

Apart form that, cool puzzle game!

Jan 20, 2017 @ 4:51pm

Very well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/hB0a6F4gCIk

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]