Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Defend One Room

by Fib - Compo Entry

Defend One Room

Your base is under attack. There is only one room remaining. Build up towers to defend it at all costs.

- Try to survive 20 waves of attacks.
- Control the game with the mouse.
- Made in 20 hours for Ludum Dare 37 game jam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#267Fun3.26
#469Graphics2.65
#470Mood2.65
#474Overall2.96
#542Theme2.83
#567Innovation2.17
#826Coolness48%

Comments

kidando says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:28am

I suck at this. But I love tower defense games. Congrats on submitting your entry.

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:07am

I like the graphics and colour scheme. :)

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:04am

Got to wave 8 until my 1 room became 0 rooms. I liked the ring around the tower placement - definitely helped to figure out where I could maximize the impact. I also really appreciate the simplicity of adding new towers rather than upgrading other towers - it avoids the problem of the ideal way of winning is sitting down and doing some DPS calcuations.

Fib says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:31pm

@JoeProgram Thanks for playing. My goal was to put the focus on optimal tower placement rather than the type of tower of when to upgrade. I don't think it's engaging enough as it stands so I think I will try to add more elements to it for more depth.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:50am

Nice game. I like how you get to place more towers as you progress (and can move towers around) without having to worry about a resource cost. Seems fairly balanced, even if it is hard. I think it would be cool to add some variety somewhere -- different enemies, towers, or terrain. But for a compo entry, it's well done.

Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:03am

I understand the no gold mechanic, and it's quite unique. But only one tower with no upgrades? I'd expect more from a Tower Defense.

The enemies are almost not varied at all. I like their pathing, though.

Hamsternator says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 8:07pm

I really enjoyed that there wasn't any standard economy but instead limited amount of cannons. I sucked pretty bad at it though and lost at wave 8 =(

Wouldn't mind seeing this grow a little bit ^^

FisherG says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 2:27am

I'd improve a bit on the backgrounds. They're quite boring and static at the moment.

NIGIC says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 2:49am

Attempt 1: Bad tower placement, resetting...
Attempt 2: Softlocked at wave 3 (1/18 remaining)
Attempt 3: Died on wave 7. Between the low amount of towers, high number (and density) of enemies, inability to remove a tower during a wave, short distance from spawn to base and high number of potential routes, it's just way too many variables. Playing on a touchpad doesn't help with quick decisions either...
Attempt 4: Oh, I can trade off HP for extra turrets, huh. But softlocked at wave 7... (1/38 remaining)

It's a nice take on the genre, but strangely enough I think it's doing too much with too little. Too much information to take in a short time, with not enough control to react properly to said information. Some tweaks like fully mobile towers (or maybe cooldown-based) or some information on the upcoming waves would make this a lot more interesting.

Still fun. Visually simple but clean and effective.

+1 for stray hits still hitting stuff behind the intended target. That's always nice.

Good job!

Fib says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 7:07pm

@NIGIC Thank you for playing my tower defense. I am continuing to tweak and balance the game so your feedback is invaluable.

If the game does softlock... (i.e. 1/18 remaining without any enemies remaining), you can hit the "x" key to continue without re-starting. That's a bug I need to fix.

erik says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 10:21pm

That was pretty fun! After a few playthroughs I found I was consistently dying at wave 7 or 8, and it's not obvious to me what I should be doing to get better results. It starts to feel a bit frustrating when new waves don't give additional towers.

manax says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Seems pretty well tuned difficulty. Only removing towers between levels made things difficult, which was fine. Nice work.

ijzm says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 11:23pm

Really fun game. Also really tricky. Would be great if there was more than one tower type, or could upgrade turrets.

Fib says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 2:44pm

@erik the game does need more balancing because you are right, wave 8 is about the maximum that people get to. I agree that it is too difficult. Thank you for playing! Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

nassi says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Got to wave 10 on my first try, but upon retrying only managed to make it to wave 6, perhaps due to being too aggressive with the amount of turrets and thus losing a lot of health.

Somewhat barebones as far as tower defense games go, but still decently fun. The graphics are a bit of a mismatch, but they get the job done. The transitions between scenes could've been a bit shorter in my opinion. Perhaps the most frustrating thing about this was the multitude of paths and the uncertainty that followed it.

Fib says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 7:09pm

@nassi Hello! Thanks for playing. Can you expand your comment, "The graphics are a bit of a mismatch, but they get the job done"?

I would love to know in what way the graphics are a mismatch. It will help me greatly as I expand upon this game. Your feedback is appreciated.

nassi says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 11:49am

@Fib Sorry for the delayed reply! My main problem was with the pixel sizes being inconsistent between the player structures and everything else. Sure it makes them easier to tell apart even if they are of similar color, but it just doesn't feel right to me.

Best of luck to you!

Fib says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 3:19pm

@nassi Ok now I understand. Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]