Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Toy Box Metropolis

by SecondDimension - Jam Entry

Here is our Ludum Dare 37 entry, Toy Box Metropolis. It's a miniature city-building game, set on the floor of a kid's bedroom. All gameplay, art and music was created over the 72 hour event by a 3-man team.

We ran out of time for a proper tutorial, so for anyone who is struggling the main controls are:
* Left Mouse to Select and Place a Block
* Middle Mouse to Cancel what you're Doing
* Hold Right Mouse to Drag and Scroll
* P is for Pause Menu, where you can go Fullscreen, Mute etc

Top tip: the number keys 1-4 are shortcuts for the build buttons

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#32Graphics(Jam)4.58
#69Audio(Jam)3.94
#125Overall(Jam)3.86
#248Mood(Jam)3.61
#449Fun(Jam)3.13
#540Innovation(Jam)2.94
#610Humor(Jam)2.02
#656Theme(Jam)3.17

Comments

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:09am

Awesome game! Beautiful artwork, so clean. The game functioned well, fairly solid. This is a very polished entry!

I loved the use of the theme "One Room" - the whole thing setup as toys in the center of a childs room. Clever. The music fits the gameplay perfectly. Hard to believe you built this in just a couple of days! Very impressive.

I think the game would play better with smaller objectives with less turns to teach you the gameplay and how to build in easy quickly achievable scenarios. Maybe with limited build area so you know you have to upgrade the buildings- I actually went a quarter of the way through without upgrading anything (didnt know you could... didnt read the whole tutorial page :S)

Very nice

geometrix says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:27pm

Super impressive for a jam game! You managed to get a lot of content in, and plenty of real gameplay. Awesome aesthetics as well, super clean - very well done :)

wujood says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:24pm

This is awesome! This was really nice!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:28pm

cools lovely and a nice relaxing game to play, well done

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:37pm

I love the polish on this game. The soundtrack is great. My only complaint is gameplay. 10 turns is a lot and you have really big area to work with. After a few turns it just feels like you're placing buildings over and over. I would suggest making the turns a bit smaller to shorten the game up a bit. That way every building really counts. And also it would be great to be able to see the stats of buildings before you place them.

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:57am

Really like the game, especially the aesthetic, and the amazing music! I went through most of the game without realizing that you can upgrade the building.

torcado says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:12am

Really nice graphics, and really cool idea. it was pretty boring though, and kinda tedious just placing buildings. it would have been nice to be able to see your objectives and current scores as you were playing

Kyrv19 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Awesome game, making roads is a little bit tedious, but I think you should do some cool stuff with this game in the future

Reflextions says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:23am

Really enjoyed this! I agree there could be smaller objectives and thought some of the game play was too much of min/maxing without consequences but overall it was really great.

madmarcel says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:49am

Lovely game, lovely graphics. Very impressed.

Thirsty says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Really fun game and very impressive for 72 hours. The graphics, audio and use of the theme were great.

Pajama-Llama says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Pretty cool, you got a lot of stuff in there for a gamejam.
Graphics are nice and simple yet readable. Loved the upgrading.

Not sure how it really fits the theme, gameplay wise it doesn't matter much.
It could also be more challenging if building a certain building would affect the buildings around it. Sort of like Sim City where a factory degrades the value of a house next to it. Right now it felt a bit too easy.

stefenism says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Wow I'm thoroughly impressed. This is a beautiful game! I'm so glad I got the chance to play it. Everything was spot on. The only thing I had to dock you on was Humor....because there was nothing funny about this. Just.Serious.Fun

Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:55am

Awesome work, especially for a weekend. A small bit of the usual post-jam polish/porting (touch controls, etc.) and this would be ready for mobile app stores. Seems like a fun little game to play while waiting around, especially if you could keep building further and further. Nearly everything felt super clean and precise, including design. Obviously not your first rodeo.

Greek85 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:17am

oh! Nice! And it's also online! I love the html5 games! Can I find it on indiexpo? I'm making videos about the games of this Jam, but only about the games hosted also on indiexpo! Tell me if you will add it, so I can include it in my next video ;)

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:22am

I lost by 7 appearance points!! (My secret operative internet fixed..). Extremely well-polished. Music helps set the kid-room mood. I love the colours. Nicely done!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:07am

Very nice visual, it was a bit daunting the game just drops you in without much guidance and I had to figure out myself. Otherwise a very solid entry! Well done!

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:59am

Super meditative game. And very well done. Love the colors and style. Didn't get what the point of roads tho

David Cookie says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Fantastic entry! Place the settings in a child room is a clever idea and the graph and audio are top notch! It just lacks some short term objectives and stats to really know what we're doing, some interactions between the buildings and a real importance for the roads.. but hey, it's already a huge work you put in there! Well done :)

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Love the art, and the variety of buildings is really cool. It seems like there are a lot of turns, so there's a lot of building and I'm not sure how important all the little choices are, but it's fun just to populate a city slowly with all the nice looking buildings.

Iak says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 9:56am

Really well polished. Nice game with lots of stuff to do. A description on the stats of stuff before buying would've been handy, but there was enough room for experimentation.

jsmars says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 7:19pm

Very nice presentation and polish!

Karai17 says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 9:36am

Very nice entry! Very cool to see a classic Sim City 2k feel in a game jam game. I feel like a lot of the art didn't have enough contrast, so I had troubles seeing things. Regardless, solid entry!

~josefnpat

Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:58pm

This is really good. I like the style and mood of the game. I will say I felt a little directionless, and was making a city to make one, not really to hit my objective. not that it wasn't fun to do, but if you want more focus on completing objectives, maybe include progress reports at the end of each turn to help focus the player

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 2:32am

We really enjoyed your game! The art and graphics are very pretty and fit really well with the soothing and relaxing music. We especially liked the robot on the corner.

It took us 5 turns to figure out that buildings could be stacked, but when we found that out, we really loved the animations.

The roads didn't seem to contribute to reaching the goal. If they did, we couldn't figure it out.

Maybe consider changing the typeface used when selecting buildings. Currently it is too thin and small, and it is hard to read.

Also, perhaps the goal screen and your current score can be combined into one screen (such as, INFRASTRUCTURE: XX/XX).

raaaahman says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 3:18pm

Pretty game with charming graphics and audio. Maybe lacking a bit of ergonomy.

ema1ih says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Very enjoyable game :D

Dec 28, 2016 @ 8:55pm

Love the style, I must confess I didn't complete all 10 turns so my only complaint would be to add like a speed mode or quick challenge

Kroute says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 9:40pm

Beautiful graphics and nice music !

Flaterectomy says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 6:52pm

Wow, well done, this is a very polished game. I wish there was a cancel option when placing a building. More than once did I drop something in a spot where I didn't mean to. I Couldn't figure out if the location of building placement affected the stats. The theme feels a little tacked-on, but technically this is all inside one room. ;)

The graphics are outstanding. Beautiful pastel colours, very nice design for the environment and the buildings. No way to criticize you on anything there. The music suited the game well and the sound effects were clear.

Great entry!

zoopei says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 3:45am

5/5 five stars! Amazing! The graphics are really nice, you guys chose a great color pallet, they're clean with the nice vector art. The music is great and the sound effects are nice. The theme could have fit better, but it still fit nicely. By this, I mean anything could be in one room. But something that had to happen in a room would fit the theme better. The game was really fun too. This is the best entry I have rated so far!

axoona says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 8:40pm

nice variant of city simulation game. I liked the music!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]