Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Feng Shui Deathmatch VR

by Alex - Compo Entry

Arrange furniture to launch attacks! Be the last room standing! Be the...ONE ROOM!

For Steam VR, requires SteamVR-compatible virtual reality headset and motion controllers. (tested on HTC Vive)


Controls:
- Left Menu button: open buy menu
- Left DPAD up/down: change item category
- Left DPAD left/right: change item

- Grab items with GRIP buttons
- Grab items from buy menu to buy them
- Grab doorknob to end turn early


The goal is to build up your "Bagua Power" before each turn by arranging furniture in your room to maximize certain traits (symmetry, harmony, and two other secret ones!). At the end of the turn, each side will launch a projectile at the other with a certain power level, which determines the amount of damage done.


The best way to play is to experiment with different furniture arrangements to try to discover how the values are calculated!


Before this compo, I didn't know anything about Feng Shui. After, I still don't know anything.


UPDATE:
Youtube video and better screenshots!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6pnAV80H7sQ

UPDATE 2: Fixed screenshots

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#145Audio3.33
#181Innovation3.50
#192Humor2.92
#246Theme3.73
#248Mood3.23
#331Overall3.25
#339Graphics3.03
#443Fun2.86

Comments

Alex says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:04am

Ugh, just noticed I uploaded a glitched build where the victory logic is broken. Not going to get past the first round, but at least the gameplay still works!

neon says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Fun times were had, decorating a room. With a dresser that goes haywire when you try to put the wrong things on it. The music is really fun and good light background music for decorating a room. I did get to the "you win" screen, but the opponent didn't put up much of a fight ^^

@Alex If you uploaded the game with a game breaking bug (which it seems like, according to your comment) you can fix it post-compo, according to the rules. At least there was such a rule before, can't seem to find it now. I'd say just fix the bug, if the game has been made but players can't access it because of a bug, it's better for everyone if you fix it. After all, you still did the work during the compo. <3

gdcvdqpl says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Awwgh, apparently my PC won't run the game properly due to incompatibility with my graphic card :(
I won't rate you then, but I had at least to say that the music I listened to while my screen was glitching out was good :)

makhovykh says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Not working :(

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Wasnt the best, but it was fun

gene-z says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Nice, nice

Alex says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Aww sucks to hear some of you can't run it. If anyone else has that problem, can you let me know why that is? Like your GPU and OS version (ex: GTX970/Win10 64bit), error(s) you get, etc.


ALSO, added a youtube video + better screenshots for those of you who can't play but are still curious ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6pnAV80H7sQ

xanderhd says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:34pm

itch.io link?

Wevel says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Nice to see a VR game, took a while to figure out what was going on. Got some interesting mechanics

Tifu says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:14pm

Fun idea. No idea what I'm doing and I lost though! :D
Can you sell items? I think I ran out of money.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Couldn't play, but I saw the video, looks great man! Great work

GuiGs says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:39pm

Don't work here

Hempuli says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Couldn't get it to work! The graphics seem to bug. I'm running Windows 8.1 with GeForce 820M.

Alex says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:52pm

You need to have a virtual reality headset to play it, like the HTC Vive and maybe the Oculus Rift. If you have an 820M, then I'm assuming you don't have one since that's a mobile GPU which doesn't support VR, unfortunately.

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 5:29am

Nice game fits the theme well.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 6:34pm

I've never played anything like this... I really like how the projectiles break into chunks that mess up our rooms. With a bit of iteration there might be a really cool gem in here somewhere.

The graphics were super charming, even if some parts of the level felt a little incomplete. It would have been nice if, when you were teleported to the viewing platform, the camera would be spun to face the world. That way I wouldn't have to spin around looking for the rooms. Also an audible beeping for the last few seconds so I know I have to place whatever I'm holding. I loved the music, it was pleasant and fit the game really well. A Way to sell items and/or a way to get more money would have really helped with gameplay after the first projectile launch. Good thinking with the door knob to end the round early (since there was not a lot to do once you sent your money). At first I didn't realize you could use left and right to move within a category. Something like a tutorial level could require the player to place specific items, and insure that they understand how to navigate the menu (I did figure it out eventually though).

There we some bugs I found (you probably know them all):
- Items could be carried past walls and then dropped out of the world
- Some overly energetic physics collisions when dropping an item on another item
- The counter stops counting after the first volley (I think it still might be running though... and the doorknob works)
- You can use the DPad to navigate the menu even when it's not open

This would be a great Jam entry... the fact that you made it alone in 48 hours is incredible. Good job, and thank you for making this!

Jan 1, 2017 @ 9:10pm

I started dancing to the music and getting my Animal Crossing on in VR and it felt amazing! I loved the music, but I sadly didn't understand what you were meant to do.

But I spent the entire time trying to make a really pretty room until I ran out of cash and it's still one of my favourite LD37 games! Please release an infinite money sandbox mode. ♥

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]