Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Portal Hotel

by ezolotko - Jam Entry

This is a little game with procedurally generated level geometry and textures. It can be completed (I hope), so you might want to try.

Music by Winterbound.

Tools used: SabreCSG, Libnoise, ProBuilder, Unity3D, Blender, Paint.NET, Audacity, Visual Studio

For full credits, see in the CREDITS file.

@yezolotko

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#177Mood(Jam)3.74
#555Fun(Jam)2.96
#583Humor(Jam)2.14
#616Overall(Jam)3.11
#712Graphics(Jam)2.78
#717Innovation(Jam)2.56
#884Theme(Jam)1.96

Comments

Rixud says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:16am

fun, nice music, i dindt finish it... only "critique" not is only "one room" :D...

gdcvdqpl says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:31pm

That's very hard !
Nicely done tho. The aesthetic reminds me a bit of doom. The sound design is great, you should have add that one to your ratings !

Broken Matrix says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Resets if you die, not cool

Alex says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Lol this is probably the complete opposite of "one room", but still cool. I loved the creepy mood, and the music/sfx really helped sell that. I died a few times before giving up, so I'm not sure if there's an ending or not. But if you want to continue working on this, I think you should try to add some clear goal so the player knows they're not running around endlessly.

Zee says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Worst hotel service ever!

Onto the review, I dug the atmosphere, gave me Silent Hill vibes. The first time I saw the enemies, I got hit in the back, turned around, and made me jump a bit! The music helped fit the mood. Great ending though :P

My main complaints are the randomization of the rooms sometimes had me spawning on top of enemies, or turrets spawning next to the portal, which forced me to take a hit going through it, since it takes a second to go to the next level. Not being able to see your health made the above two complaints worse, since I never knew how far away from death I was. Also, the gun should of had some sort of cool down.

Overall, it didn't quite fit the theme, but was an enjoyable entry nonetheless.

rogual says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:05pm

I liked this. You created a real sense of place, even with the simple graphics. It's got a great lo-fi creepy vibe to it. It wasn't clear to me how the theme fits in though.

Oh, also, great sound. I'm a sucker for a good ambient soundtrack.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Wow...those potato thingies freaked me out. Guess it's the same principle as with slenderman...the sounds! I really liked it :)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:15pm

nice feel, I only didn't understand what that gun did.

Iluvatar says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:06am

More checkpoints would be cool. Anyway very atmospheric, awesome music (too bad you didn't allow us to vote for music). And overall nice game

rilifon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:03pm

The ominous atmsophere ir really sinister and intriguing. Too bad the game is a bit short

saucygames says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:07am

This is one way to be scared of potatoes!, The droning sound made it more immersive! Dig the shatter effect, it felt like an accomplishment killin the tatters

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:04pm

The atmosphere is deliciously ominous and the main mechanics are robust, even if quite simple.

The weapon is a bit weird though. It looks like a gun, but seems to work as a close range weapon. It also clips through objects in the world, which can be fixed by drawing it on a separate camera.

Good work.

youngbrothers says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 10:46am

The eerie soundtrack made the environment, and kept me interested for a few playthroughs. If this was something you made yourself, you should definitely put it in ranking, since it is the strongest point of your entry!

Zemmi says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 12:17am

This is one of my favourite entries, really dig the aesthetic and that stun rod was so satisfying. It was nerve-wracking to wait for the ghost to crawl in close before I could shatter them. I would have preferred if the levels weren't procedural though, the fields of turrets that could get generated were a tad annoying.

ezolotko says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 10:41am

Thanks for all the comments, guys! Now I will try to expand this game a bit given the feedback from all of you.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Weird and clever. Strange mood. Great entry ++

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 9:30am

Mood is pretty good.
Killing the enemies felt a bit awkward though.
Overall a solid entry.

ezolotko says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 3:14pm

Hi guys, added the post-compo build.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]