Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Planetary Tycoon

by Nikteddy92 - Jam Entry

----------There's only war in the grim future of humanity.

Except it's about dogs? I guess it's doganity? caninity?
Not to mentions while there certainly is war there's also a bunch of industrial espionage,state of the art Megacorps, crazy space lasers.....

All in all it was a rather badly worded intro.Plus it clearly was a ripp-of of some other intellectual property.We apologize as, at this point, we have ran out of budget (a.k.a. cofee).------

---What is this game?------
All jokes asides, Planetary Tycoon is a resource management game.
We "took inspiration" from the likes of Reigns and Sort the Court, simple but fun little games.
It's all text based with simple "Yes" or "No" prompts and you must keep your 4 main Assets balanced or lose.

---Notes from the developers----
My friend has been partecipating to Ludums for some time now, but this is my first (joint) project, as such we apologize for all examples of bad coding and various bugs (that's mostly my fault).

P.S. : But if you find some cringy or engrish text that's his fault (since my writing is obviously brilliant).And since I'm the one writing this I can say wathever I want.Feelsgood.

P.S.S.:Thanks for cheking this out.You rock!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#101Humor(Jam)3.67
#341Audio(Jam)3.20
#469Overall(Jam)3.30
#488Mood(Jam)3.20
#559Graphics(Jam)3.22
#574Innovation(Jam)2.89
#583Theme(Jam)3.33
#585Fun(Jam)2.91

Comments

Onarru says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Even though the concept is pretty close to Reigns the execution is very good. Found myself playing longer than I had intended to :P Also, love the graphics, neat style.

topatisen says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Very simple concept well executed. Fun and funny. Well done!

avalkyrie says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:30pm

I kept dying of singularities so I didn't beat it but it was pretty fun. I liked the dogs.

qzqxq says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:57pm

The graphics are really nice, and the writing is great. I laughed a bunch of times at the scenarios, like the "people think experimenting on life forms is immoral, but good thing Hums don't have any rights" or whatever that one was.

I played it three times, making it to day 4 my third try. I might suggest having "checkpoints" throughout the game so you don't have to restart from the beginning if you want to see the whole thing (I do want to see the ending if there is one, but I don't want to have to go through all of the scenarios again to get there). Alternatively you could have some sort of procedural generation but I assume there's not enough time for that.

Also, in some of the scenarios, I wasn't entirely sure which action corresponded to "Approve" and which corresponded to "Reject", so some more indication of that would have been nice. And I wasn't really sure why a barking sound seemingly randomly played at times.

I do want to make clear that I had a lot of fun playing, and it also looks super polished, so great job!

FinGamer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:11pm

Writing and graphics are awesome. This was a fun piece. Nice job!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:12pm

nice game but not my type of game sorry. The overall mood of the game was good tho.

OneManArmy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Love the concept. 10/10 music, really fits the game. Very nicely done!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Look at all of those doggos!

Nice concept and graphics!

-Art Cat

bplane2 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:01am

Good execution. I didn't notice any significant bugs, and the logic of the choices made sense for the most part. Occasionally the wording made it difficult to understand what you were accepting or rejecting. The dog theme was cute, and the single room theme was done well.

I think the overall concept wasn't terribly exciting as presented, maybe starting with fewer resources and adding more would have helped? It just felt a little too linear given that it was supposed to be a strategic balance. Overall it was a solid build with decent theming and strong character, but with some design limitations that could be improved given more than 48/72 hours.

mirta000 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:09am

king of reminds me of Reigns. Found the doggos funny.

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Woof Woof (good work)!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Concept is nice, the music choice is perfect; i played it until getting victory in the three final paths i have found. The art inspiration is nice.
It reveals itself as a straightforward game once you get how it works (i wont make spoilers, go ahead and play it by yourself and try to reach the Victory ;D ) but for being a mere backup plan it came out well imho.
If this is the backup, i wonder how cool could had been the main project *_*

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Played this for quite a while, had a pretty good time

TeamScripta says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:04pm

So Funny! I like the part about the alien cats totally made me laugh!

Devastus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:15pm

My gripe with this is that it was so linear. And some choices actually added the same resource no matter whether you chose Approve or Reject, which kinda breaks the idea and only makes the player confused.

That being said, I found the mechanic actually pretty fun, and the setting funny. There was a lot to like in this game, so kudos!

Meta-link says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Great game !
The main text is a little bit hard to read, but the game is really fun, I laughed a lot while playing it :)

Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:29pm

This is a great idea. And I loved the dog theme (it made me nostalgic for the ending of "Silent Hill 2").

I keep getting embargoed, though.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:34pm

I wish to thank all of you for your feedback!
My and my pal are sorry for the many issues you guys pointed out.We were definitely NOT adequatly prepared fot the LD , lel.
I unfortunately realized half-way through the Yes-No model would be confusing at best and many of the events were rushed out in the last 2 hours of the third day by yours truly.Once again, not very clean.
My friend is working to iron out the minor issues and as soon as we get together again we'll work on the bigger ones.

Archimagus says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:14am

I like the concept, and it was certainly interesting and humorous. But I did find it hard to guess weather accept or reject was going to help me.

MrErdalUral says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:07pm

This was one of the better games I played this LD. Thank you for the game!

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:15pm

The music sounds good. I personally found the text quite hard to read. It could help if it was bolder. However the game was interesting and looked decent. It froze on the first load, however I reloaded it and it was fine. Overall I'd say that it was entertaining.

Maple says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:54am

Hey, your link seems to be broken, or something.

I'm getting this error: bit.ly’s server DNS address could not be found.

I'll check back later.

JackTheOgre says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Died on that description, thats a 5 star humor right there xD The writing was actually pretty good but there were some minor issues. The use of the theme is somewhat questionable but meh, overall it's a pretty solid Entry. Although the procedural generation could definitely improve the experience a lot as the same scenario over and over again got pretty tiring in the end :c

DOG POWER

SandBloom says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:05am

Wow wow wow! Wowowowowow! Wow wow!

WOW!

(Strange but funny)

grena says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:59am

"Reigns like" game, but the font is barely readable in my opinion, that's sad for a "read" game :(
I really loved the music <3

Dialogs are fun :)

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:24pm

Game is blocked at my school. It would be cool if you could upload it somewhere else too.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 7:06pm

It was pretty good, lots of reading needed kinda slows it down in my opinion. Doge makes it much wow

Maple says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 8:43am

Pretty solid entry!

Good music, setting a good vibe. Sometimes it didn't make so much sense why I would get game over, and sometimes it seemed like I missed an option (by skipping text too much between days), but I was interested enough to keep playing a few rounds. Unfortunately I never got to see the end, though. I was initially determined, but it took a bit too much trial and error, vs making logical decisions. (If it was a logical route to seeing the real ending, my apologies for being silly!)

Anyway, you did well. Congrats on your first (joint) LD!

Dec 22, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Not my type of game but still well made :)

ijzm says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:45am

haha I love the ending pic I got. My employees starved or something and I got an embargo. Good times.

I found the font rather hard to read, so it was tough to understand what was going on and focus on making the decisions. I did like the use of the dogs; it added an edge of humour that was interesting.

I thought the only in-game track I heard was okay, but if the rest of these tracks you've included in the OST link appear in the game based on different fates, you do have some pretty solid audio to go around. The text seems like the biggest issue I have - both with its aesthetic and the proofreading.

~Random-storykeeper

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]