Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Strexter

by Ryusui - Jam Entry

Are you feeling relaxed? Good...in just a few short moments, you won't feel anything of the sort.

Welcome to the STREXTER Stress Test pre-alpha early access program! STREXTER Inc. thanks you for your participation and sacrifice. The STREXTER Stress Test is designed to determine your readiness for [ERROR; DATA CLASSIFIED] by testing your memory, reflexes, intuition, and determination under highly adverse conditions. We can assure you that no humans have died so far in the making of this test, although several proctors have received severe injuries from subjects driven to extreme agitation by test conditions. Fortunately, we have determined from your psych profile that there is a 95.37% chance you will complete the test with only minimal injury to STREXTER personnel, so emergency response teams have been instructed to stand down.

We at STREXTER Inc. hope you will enjoy having your patience and endurance tested to their absolute limit!

Keyboard and gamepad controls supported. WASD/arrow keys/D-pad/analog stick to move.

Developed with ZeroBrane Studio.
Graphics created with Aseprite.
SFX created with Bfxr and Audacity.
Music created with FL Studio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#60Fun(Jam)3.96
#135Theme(Jam)4.09
#185Overall(Jam)3.74
#247Innovation(Jam)3.48
#265Audio(Jam)3.39
#276Mood(Jam)3.57
#427Humor(Jam)2.63
#449Graphics(Jam)3.48

Comments

jack-lance says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:26am

Really awesome!
The music, timer growing, and flashy lights all make you really stressed!
Was able to win (just barely) on my third try.

pkenney says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:56am

NOT RELAXED NOW!!

Nice game, the sense of urgency is totally there. You've got a strong simple graphical styling that really works, and the audio is a mood-setter.

I would definitely have even played more if the restart didn't take me back to the beginning.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:00am

I really liked this! Cool to make it timer-based instead of just "touch this tile and you die." I think it would have been nice if the timer didn't start until you started moving. The room transitions were also really cool. Great work!

swellbastion says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:03am

This is really good. It would be cool to see the source code for this but I guess it's not available. But yeah really fun. The transition animation is cool

yumaikas says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:20am

The game is really nifty and has a neat continuous game progression, and it's been juiced pretty well. My only complaint was that it wasn't quite clear that the orange stuff just slowed you down.

Karai17 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:54am

Fun game! The audio was a bit grating though.

saucygames says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:21am

This is really well done! I love the introduction to obstacles and how you kept it seamless for one room! Especially when you lose! I nerdgasmed! You should work on this more

Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:33am

Great idea! Very easy to understand how to play and what need to do. Please add more gameplay events and improved graphics solution!

leondryaso says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 7:07pm

The concept is brilliant! I like your entry very much, well done :)

aeveis says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 5:37am

Pretty fun! I beat it my 2nd try. I liked the block switch effect and how you could have some time off knowing what path would spawn. You could probably capitalize on the transition too with other levels (for example a sequence of silver ones and fake out paths). Anyway great job!

MrErdalUral says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:39am

Very intense game! I loved the transitions between the checkpoints.

Interface says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 5:21am

Simple but addictive and fun.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 5:00am

Nice concept, would love to see more! It was cool how the next level appeared and the player stayed in the same place. You could really play with that to make the game even cooler. Nice clean graphics too, well done! :D

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 4:36pm

This is such a simple concept yet surprisingly fun. I did much better once I realized that the fire blocks (or whatever they are) werent gonna kill me but just would slow me down. Until then I was scared as hell of them. By the by it took me 4 tries to beat.

Pros:
-Elegantly simple without being boring
- Good length for judging purposes; just enough to be challenging w/o overstaying its welcome. Many games during ludum dare I find myself commenting "needs checkpoints!" but this one doesnt its fine just like it is if this is an example of, like, a level

Cons:
-Unless you add power ups of enemies or something (which im unsure would benefit this concept) alof of it becomes about memorization of the optimal path

Suggestions:
Maybe a button that lets you speed up (a dash?) but has some drawback like if you touch a wall you get stunned. I'm unsure of this though. I do know this tho: if you decide to persue this idea further you need something to either make it less about memorizing the opitmal path OR embrace that that games about the optimal path an add risk/reward mechanics (like the dash) for speed runner types.

Great job!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Also, thank you for allowing me to use WASD and the arrows because after my third try using WASD my forearm muscles wer burnin'-- I thought: man I wish I could use my other hand and then was delighted to find the arrow keys worked too :)

Ryusui says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 5:41am

Yeah, my plans for this were a lot more ambitious in terms of content. I definitely have plans to go back and add more sometime - along with new gimmicks to contend with!

Checkpoints were very much something I had in mind. I'm also thinking a better introduction to the red "slowdown" tiles might be to force the player to cross them in order to proceed. A dash mechanic would be fun, now that you mention it, but I think I might implement it in the form of directional "launch" tiles (which could both help and hinder!)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]