Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Cloud Chaser

by handoharken - Jam Entry

Increase your score by delivering various cargo throughout the land.
Do this until you are able to retrieve the Golden skull relic and return it home.


Controls:
W/S controls left balloon
UP/DOWN controls right balloon
SPACE jumps
E to enter/exit
This game requires the latest version of java installed to run.


Created by
Programming/se: Hando Space Biscuits [@handobiscuits]
Art/Graphics/bgm: Harken [@Harken_W]
All assets were created in the 72 hour limit for the Ludum Jam

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#87Innovation(Jam)3.91
#235Audio(Jam)3.48
#337Mood(Jam)3.48
#337Graphics(Jam)3.74
#389Overall(Jam)3.41
#478Fun(Jam)3.09
#563Humor(Jam)2.21
#778Theme(Jam)2.79

Comments

Skosnowich says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 7:29pm

I like the idea of how to steer the airship very much. The music and the graphic style are very appealing. :)

SUNFURY says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:24pm

woah, spent on it much more time then I planned ^-^''
one of the most original games I've played so far!

Dec 21, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Very meditative and relaxing experience. Controls are quite satisfying once you get the hang of it. I felt a bit disoriented at the beginning, but was able to figure out the whole mail dropping business. A small guide would be nice.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 9:30pm

This has such a lovely mood and the world you created is really original. The music matched the experience in a really good way to make it relaxing. I have to admit I like the idea of the controls but in practice found it infuriating and would have preferred if it was easier to get around. The idea of going from inside the ship to outside kind of blows my mind a bit great innovation. -RS

radmars says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:01am

Pretty cool experience, the controls of course took some getting used to but it was pretty fun once I figured out a good way of controlling the ship. The game was pretty impenetrable without the instructions, some more clearer directions in-game would probably help a lot. Obviously I understand if there was stuff you wanted to implement but ran out of time to :) Would love to see this with some more structure. (Also it seems like there's lots of gameplay potential with manipulating the ship in order to move objects around on the bridge) Graphics & music created an awesome vibe too. Nice work!

Tezra says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 2:20am

I like the idea of a delivery airship. The steering controls are difficult to get used to at first but overtime it can be fun. It took me a really long time to figure out what to do in the game but the mysterious feeling kept me in the game (I think it must be because of that weird green ball). I don't know where or how to drop off the mails I picked up however. More hints will help.

phoenix1987 says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 2:26am

I really like the ship controls - although it did take me a while to get use to it. The game has a nice feel to it. Music and sound effects were good. Definitely hope oyu keep up the great work on this. A lot of potential for different puzzles. Great job

fafastudio says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 2:50am

Damn, this was so cool !
Pixel art is amazing, music is perfectly in the mood : relaxing, and the concept is as neat as innovative.
Nice take on the theme furthermore !
I simply loved it ! :)

Vadim Ivshin says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 9:13am

Interesting game but I didn't understand where I should deliver goods.

hlavik211 says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 2:09pm

Pretty good idea and nice graphic.

oyoh says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 2:56pm

Excellent game, i like how you used the theme, the concept is awesome, so are the music and the graphics. But the second zone is way too big, i got a hard time figuring where were the pick up. But anyway, one of the best game around !

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 4:34pm

A little more tutorial would probably help - even though it would take some away from the mysterious atmosphere. Ah, a balance must be found.
Otherwise, I am always a fan of new control schemes and boy, is this a treat!

murilo says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 7:02pm

Great mechanics and mood! Innovative in a game for me! Had some fun with it but couldn't figure out how to beat it if that's possible. Nice entry!!

jramell says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 7:52pm

I liked sound and mechanics, but I didn't really understand ... anything. What was my objective? What was I supposed to be doing? What is this mail? What is that head-like thing I picked up? What does the "2000" over a skull at the start mean? ... Also, the game does nothing to teach you how you play it.

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Interesting mechanics with two balloon. Really unusual control. Looks like a helicopter. The game is not enough of tips - where to go, what to interact with.Calm music and peaceful landscape. It was a surprise to realize that my room is skyship!

TCD says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 12:42pm

One of the best entries i played so far

btwj_ says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 12:59pm

Everything about this game made it very relaxing. The control scheme was hard initially but works after a while. Great graphics too. Good job :)

josemorval says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Very good! I loved it! It has been a great surprise finding ship controls worked really well and they make this entry fun to play. Love the graphics, the principal character is very well-made (its design is a nod to bird-people messengers of Wind Waker? :D). Ambient sound is nice and sounds give a good feedback of what is happening. Having two screens to show what is happening inside and outside the airship is cool, but I'd like to hide in some moments.

Cons: There is no clue where you have to go and what you have to do. Finally, it can be guessed but not the game's end goal. An introductory text or tutorial could have solve this. Also, the level is too big, it would be helpful to have a map.

Nevertheless, good game! Congratulations!

Wumbo says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 11:40pm

I like the steering, and I got through a lot of the game, though I didn't really understand what the green goblin was or why he was killing me... great physics and rendering for doing it in java though!

ZYXer says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 4:29pm

Wow, really love the game mechanic! Mood and graphics are great!

I like how you can create a Zero-G environment by flying up and then flying down quickly :D

However, I somehow got my airship to flip over, after which it got stuck and I couldn't get unstuck again.

Overall, a very good game. Played it way longer than I wanted to, not delivering cargo, just flying around for fun :D

Capt Nemo says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 11:51pm

Really good simple concept.. Implemented well. with very good art for the time constraints. Great job!

Jan 1, 2017 @ 11:58pm

Nice graphics, great concept, but really poor level design. The space was too wide to ever get a clue of where you were or where to go, and that felt a bit frustrating. Also, sometimes objects would fall from your ship even if you didn't collide with anything, just because they are so loose inside the ship, which was quite frustrating too.
Has the potential to be a really interesting game though, if the idea is iterated.

fabsy says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 3:12am

Very interesting and weird concept! I agree the game could be a bit more intuitive regarding the objectives, but it would certainly help if the map were smaller or if we were able to see all the elements and how they relate with each other.

I loved the ship physics and PIP view when travelling. Really adds to the immersion, as well as the music, of course.

Great work overall.

Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:42am

I really love the mood, the aesthetics and the sound.
Once you get the controls, it's pretty fun to move around, but you should exlpain how to pick up and deliver things because that's not obvious at all :)

Jan 28, 2017 @ 3:08pm

Very interesting game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/pmGwBmW3Ksk

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]