Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

72 Hours

by shnitzhell - Jam Entry

So 24 hours before the end of the LDJAM37 my cousin gave me call to ask me about making a game.
He is the Programmer and Developer, and I am the Game Design and Sound Producer.
We did not have so much time although we did the best we could!
This is our first game/concept we ever made together

72 Hours

The game is "simulating" a 72 hours of a man who want to have a chance and enter the LDJAM contest, but hes being disrupted constantly by random events, though he has to keep his mind and efforts on developing the game to make it on time!
The game should have a humorous feel and overall a big pile of funny scenarios.
We liked the idea, and we're looking forward to keep develop it even further.

Thank you for your time and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#111Humor(Jam)3.63
#233Theme(Jam)3.90
#390Audio(Jam)3.07
#423Innovation(Jam)3.14
#437Mood(Jam)3.29
#532Overall(Jam)3.21
#565Graphics(Jam)3.21
#730Fun(Jam)2.66

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:10am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

siryakko says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:39am

ahah nice take on theme. A game inside a game. Nice entry

badabooom63 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Wow, nice "meta" idea, I loved it!
The one thing - the fast voice from phone (or something else, I didn't understand) is toooo ennoying. But it is small thing in great game, overall.

shnitzhell says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:07am

Thank you @siryakko and @badabooom63 for the kind words!
we are aware of that. this is going to be fixed at some point soon.
we are very satisfied with the idea as well, and it's just the tip of the iceberg!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:23am

Nice game with some good audio

quiv says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:26am

I broke up with my girlfriend, my room stinks because I never let my dog outside, and I'm certain I'm going to get food poisoning from all the old crap I'm eating from the fridge.

But hey, I finished my Ludum Dare game in 4 hours, so I got that going for me, which is nice

Kowhow5 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:29am

the whole idea is just brilliant! i wish there were more activities/pop ups and all kinds of crazy missions. awesome job!

Jonathan50 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:31am

I was able to run this under wine but text would not display. I couldn't figure out how to play. The graphics looks great.

Jonathan50 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:34am

Actually I looked at the screenshot and compared stuff, and saw what clicking on the options did, and did get to play a bit. :-)

Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:47am

Pretty funny game! I like the concept a lot, and the little room (and your little dog) was pretty cool.

I wish the game would tell you why you "died", for example I ate the Thai leftovers and the game ended? Then I was at about 95% completion and I didn't help my grandma and I "died"?

Also, it seemed like a pretty OK strategy was just to drink energy drinks and eat cake. Not a great real-life LD plan :)

shnitzhell says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:57am

@TheSambassador
thank you! yes, the game should have more explanations for each decision you make and how it affects your character's measures. at this point the game is flooded with bugs, but we still wanted to convey an idea.

eyeofeion says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:29am

I could feel where you were trying to reach with the concept. you are absolutely on the way there..i loved it.
i really want to try this once its done! lol!! the dog scene is priceless xDxD

Holofire says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:51am

Maybe not the most original idea, but you pulled it off pretty well considering the time limit. Good luck on continuing development. Good work :D

ijzm says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:59am

A bit of a side note, it might be best to change the name of the link from "Web" to "Download", as the former implies that the game can be played on a browser. Unless you could, by chance, make it a browser build (which would be even better).

I'm afraid I don't really understand how "losing" works in this game. Like when I start off the game by choosing a food other than an energy drink, I automatically lose even though I have plenty of time left. But why; did yesterday's Thai leftovers kill me or something?

You did a good job with the music and the humour. The jazz feel kind of helps to make the mood comical, but also give the sense that you need to keep working because you have to submit that game in 72 hours! The sound effects are also just as good. I enjoyed what I played.

~Random-storykeeper

conradte3 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:07am

Neat and fun little game, the time it takes to do certain things is a bit wacky but just adds to the humor. Also apparently I need to stock up on chocolate cake and energy drinks next LD

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:46am

is it voxel? we made our game with voxels too, but we traansfered it to isometric sprites :)

VeryBadBunny says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:17am

Hello darkness my old friend .... This game sums up my LD 37. =( Congratulations!

cpro90 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:23am

I like it :) it's similar to our submission - the "Game Jam Simulator" :)

Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:24am

So meta!

Awesome idea, and fun vibe. I can't wait to play a more developed version :)

andyman404 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:32am

Lol! Funny reflective experience. My sim developer submitted the game with 65 hours left. I wish I had a fridge full of grandma's chocholate cake and energy drink in real life. All my sim did was to just keep on eating/drinking those. Nice work!

bigpan says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:52am

I liked the metaphorical idea of the game. Well done!

kamranwali says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:29pm

This is a nice game. I love the concept. A game were you help the developer to make game! Developerception? The game play is actually fun. It does reminds me of my time while making game can relate. The audio went well with the game and was very humorous. Overall a nice game to play. Keep it up!

Swordbrella says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Nice game! Oh but I would love to always have grandma's famous chocolate cake on my fridge. I wished things in this game happened faster, but overall great work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:32pm

Interesting game. It seemed pretty random, but I still liked it. Nice job.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 5:22pm

real life)))nice

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]