Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Jerodak's Ludum Dare Game

by Jerodak - Jam Entry

Well, I never actually planned to do this at first, but I just went ahead and did it! This is actually the first game I've created on my own which wasn't just a tutorial or part of a course! Anyway, the idea of this game is that you are a guy with a shield, and there are a bunch of baddies, and you want to bash them with your shield! You're able to swing the shield, block, and reflect projectiles. You have a stamina bar, and if it hits 0 then your shield may be taken from you, so be careful! However, if you do happen to drop your shield, simply run into it to pick it up.

There is no credit reel or anything, so I'd like to take this time to give a shout out to C3PU and Darg0nn for helping me out when I ended up getting stuck.

Instructions:

left click: Bash
Right click(hold): Block
Left click while blocking: Block thrust
Aim: cursor
Move: WASD

A few things to note.

You can swing at projectiles to "reflect" them, both the shield bash and the block thrust will work.

Stars will fly in the direction of your cursor.


Thank you so much for your time, and have fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#493Fun(Jam)3.06
#614Theme(Jam)3.25
#717Innovation(Jam)2.56
#752Overall(Jam)2.88
#785Graphics(Jam)2.50
#1224Coolness35%

Comments

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Great job) a bit cumbersome, but nice attitude)

Holofire says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:22am

I like how the gameplay is pretty self explanatory. Gets quite difficult when the screen starts filling up. Only lasted like 20 seconds on my first run. Great job dude :D

Iluvatar says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:12am

Nice game, little difficult, but great for those who like challenges. I don't know why but it reminds me those kinds of games you got on CD when you bought a PC/Game magazine back in 90s :)

sudojess says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:18am

Solid entry, basic but fun. Interesting mechanics, needs a score, because numbers are good and making numbers higher is better!

Rakart says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:24am

Nice little game here !
It was a bit rough to play on azerty keyboard but still manageable.

I really enjoyed the variety of ennemies and their different actions and the "shield drop" is a really clever idea.

The delay between click and attack is a bit unsettling and sometimes ennemies are shooting from outside the screen view.

Congratulations on the entry !

Jerodak says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:45am

I just wanted to take a moment to say thanks for all of the feedback, and for giving my game a try. It really means a great deal!

TeamScripta says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Great job for your first game! Glad you went ahead and just did it!

Jerodak says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Thank you, that makes two of us.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:24am

Good job very hard game to be good at, and it's fun.

dobnarr says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:41am

Cool first attempt. I liked the different enemies with different art and attacks. The game felt fluid. The attack move took a while to happen, and the direction it would attack wasn't always easy to figure out - it might be better to make that more clear and directed right at the mouse cursor. Some sounds would make it cooler, too, and maybe some score so you could tell how you did relative to others. I did like the combo moves - very satisfying. Nice job.

Jerodak says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:20am

@Dobnarr Thank you for trying the game! When you say the direction wasn't always easy to figure out are you talking about the main shield bash or one of the star attacks? Are you talking about the aiming or the animation? Sound was something I wanted to add, but I was unable to add it in time for the Ludum Dare. A score was something I wanted too, actually I intend for there to be a difficulty ramp based on how well the player is doing, but that was another thing that I wasn't able to add in time. I do fully intend to make a post Ludum Dare version of the game as well, so the feedback is appreciated.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 12:08pm

Basic but most importantly fun to play. Simple easy fun, nice little time waster, well done! :D

Rixud says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 7:51am

i really like different enemies, need some sort of score system, and i think a bit faster attack animation... Good job

Jerodak says ...
Jan 8, 2017 @ 6:54pm

This is really late, but I wanted to say thank you so much to everyone who took the time to play and review. Your feedback is very important and I'll keep everything I've learned here in mind going forward. Have fun, and take care.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]