Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Conștiență

by Uliana Galich - Jam Entry

In this game we tryed to make a narrative thing through aart. You should fill the emptyroom with her memories and to know her story :) If you did get to the end, you will got some answers. Or maybe you will get more questions, who knows.

This is our first project. We have used only our graphic content and tried to make it unique. We know the bugs and issues and we are working on it. Thank you for the feedback! :)

And yes, there is a final scene, but sometimes people can't get it because one of the objects do not react on the click, the restart of the game should help.

Fixed bugs:

-subtitles timing
-too fast finish scene popup
-coliders

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#186Graphics(Jam)4.10
#195Mood(Jam)3.70
#200Theme(Jam)3.97
#237Audio(Jam)3.47
#496Innovation(Jam)3.00
#532Overall(Jam)3.21
#589Humor(Jam)2.10
#814Fun(Jam)2.40

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:51am

Nice game! Cool atmosphere!

boddiul says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:02am

Awesome graphics and storytelling

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:33pm

Very nice!

nikitapash says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Great game for the first time!

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:56pm

good for your first game like the story as well

RttStudio says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Good small story telling game,
Really atmospherics.
May have been just me with my crappy mouse, but I had some difficulties with texts, disappearing instantly.
Really good first project.

Mark Ffrench says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Love the graphics and music. The text seemed to disappear really fast for me though, and sometimes I couldn't click again on an object to reread the description.

leewalkergm says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:07pm

Really good concept for story telling

I love the art style too

callym says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:08pm

The graphics look great! Had a problem where the text would disappear too quick for me to read

Hovester says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Great atmosphere :)
Great Graphics :)

And no i am a bit sad about the end; poor girl.

Hovester says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Great atmosphere :)
Great Graphics :)

And now i am a bit sad about the end; poor girl.

Kurakurt says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Nice game!

sfje-team says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:12pm

A nice pice of Art !!

tommarx69 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Nice !

BoneDaddy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Hmm I got stuck a few times I tried this game. Not really sure how to progress in this one.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:33pm

The room filling itself up is a lovely idea.

Unfortunately I got stuck around here https://gyazo.com/6909603820be26f663ee156c09e5b7a6

Also, the text disapearway too fast on my computer too!

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:37pm

Cool little game with a great atmosphere! very melancholy and a bit creepy. The ending comes a bit suddenly, but it's a great plot-twist! Keep up the good work!

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:42pm

Guys, thank you for the feedback! We know about the text issue and we will try to fix as soon as possible :)

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Really nice art, and good use of the theme. I found it hard to progress and wasn't really clear if I had finished or not at the end. I would have liked more of a puzzle, or more interactivity.

Shivur says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Good atmosphere.Just some bug. I was over the desk when it appeared so I was unable to move. Also the texts disappear too quickly we don't have time to read. These are just details, the game is very good.

misteak says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:56pm

I love the style and atmosphere in this. The sound is pretty well done, too.

I'd love to know more about what happened to her. She seems like a pretty intriguing character...

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:57pm

She's got into coma, guys :)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Great Atmosphere you created! Well done!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:46pm

The art and storytelling where really well done. I wish the text would stay on the screen a little longer. I'm also not sure if I saw everything but couldn't see to get any more story. I wish it would have fleshed out a more full story. But overall really nice work. I quite enjoyed it.

LDP says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Nice graphics and athmosphere

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:19pm

Great art and music. I like how the story is told to the player at a slow pace, giving time to catch with the surreal experience. I hope you can get rid of those bugs so more people could get to the end of the story. Great work.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Good game with very interesting graphics solution! Amazing job!

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:14pm

I love the art style of the game- very cool. It works well- I got stuck because the bed loaded in under me.
Your descriptions were good and the ending was unexpected. I like the usage of the them "One Room" -the hospital room or the room of memories in her mind :) Nice work! Keep up the good work!

Gamechoy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:17pm

The atmosphere in this is great, thanks to the music and visuals. I did try to play this multiple times because some glitch or bug stopped things from happening, however I couldn't figure out what to do when I hit a certain point.

vrojman says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Really nice art!

ThatGuyMiniB says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Really loved the art of the game.

ccglp says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Very very moody, and the graphics and narrative are very compact, so good work :D

Ouro17 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Hi, as pointed out by others, you should at least explain what is going on in the game, because the text disappear very fast. The good side is that you made good graphics and atmophere. Keep working on it!

Cosmic-Hawke says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Nice graphics and an interesting way to explore a room. I didn't really get stuck, I just kept clicking

grena says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Great atmosphere. I love the music.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Impressive aesthetic and strange mood. A really good project, but I struggle hard because I have no clue about what I am supposed to do. A weird experience. Well done ++

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:29pm

looks amazing, great voxel style artwork

nwestninja says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:35pm

Love the art and the story, good job!

Kalkatos says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:16am

Besides the bugs, really liked the mood of the game. I like these storytelling games very much.

Doomdad says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:09am

Sound and art are quite something. Had bit of a problem too fast texts and bit too ambiguous about how to proceed.

andyman404 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:18am

I enjoyed the aesthetics and colors of the game. Nice work!

HotByteDog says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:32am

Colouring and audio build a sweet harmony.
In the web version I did not figure out how to interact.
Will try win tomorrow.

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:59am

Great work with the graphics and story telling :)!

ashtheevil says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:46am

Nice game! Like art style.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:44am

Nice art style, and atmosphere. Like some other users, I experienced problems getting the text to stay visible though.

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:02am

Really, the music and the atmosphere, it gets you into the game. The voxels graphics I loved, I wish they had more time to see what else they could tell us. Very good game, excellent work.

Congratulations on your first game, I hope it is the first of many. ♥

Dagorlad says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:04am

The storytelling was indeed really interesting. Amazing graphics too

2Bit says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:14am

It was pretty much random clicking for me but I got there in the end. The subtitle timing could be fixed with just adding a click to close thing instead of timing them.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:12am

Nice game.I like the graphics and the sound.

nibo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:29pm

Hi! This looks interesting, nice-nice-nice art and sound =)

KadaDev says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:37pm

Awesome art here, seems like personal game here?

aemiliu5 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:10pm

Interesting graphics, sound and overall mood, kind of weird story and ending, though :O

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:10pm

That ending was unexpected...oh boy! xD It was tricky to click the fornitures to see the text, also it disappeard too fas to read it sometimes. Good story and concept to tell that story, please continue developing this. Good job!

Firellon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Good atmosphere and graphic, also liked the narrative... But where is the gameplay?
Still a good work.

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:18pm

Story in the game reminded me of Black Mirrors San Junipero episode.
Top tier aesthetic. Ambient music just make your perfect artwork more vibrant and deep.
This kind of games are new type of art.

indrkl says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:19pm

I like the graphics, really nice, also the sound and atmosphere, and the storytelling mechanics is quite interesting, but I feel like it is lacking something, maybe some other mechanic that interacts with the story telling. Anyways, nice job.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:29pm

Great art, classic point and click formula. Dont need more

akai_0okami says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Nice game and really cool concept! The graphics were good. The subtitles timing issue was kinda annoying. Nice twist at the end though.

TeamAxolotl says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:15pm

The ending gave me chills. Great game bro!

saurterrs says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:44pm

That's a good start. Very nice graphics and sound.
But hard to get to the end (or I was misfortuned).
I also managed to get her out of the room :)

ezolotko says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Cool and simple storytelling through things

Vadim Ivshin says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:25pm

Neat graphics and music, but i haven't finished the game, because stuck twice.

GoofStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:44pm

This was a very interesting game to say the least. It's visually impressive and I enjoyed the storytelling atmosphere the music gave. Good job!

Casevse says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Great atmosphere. Nice work!

skorpyo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:40pm

I like the atmosphere and graphics. A good storytelling.

Mieeh says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Probably the best looking game I've seen on here so far!
The gameplay was somewhat lacking(from what I played) After trying to click on the doormat I got stuck in the door and nothing happends.

alfadur says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Nice way to present a story, and a great graphics. Would be cool to see a whole adventure in this style.
I must say the table doesn't look like in need of cleaning, even later in the game :)

erdiizgi says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:47pm

I found it nice and calming. It is a good exploration.

Diplodino says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Wow. Great. We made a story driven poitn n click ourselves so we can really appreciate your work, and it is good !

SbstnC says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Really good looking game, I loved the way, the object appeared, it made much more sense, in the end.

tinyworlds says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:26pm

Great atmosphere!
The ending seemed a bit forced, but otherwise the storytelling was great. Like the idea of what the things a person surrounds themself with can say about them.

automatonvx says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:34pm

very atmospheric

awesomerex says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:35am

Really great art! I wish the view was bigger so I could see it in more detail. I didn't really understand how the gameplay was supposed to work, though.

nicruo says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:13am

Oh man, I will not spoil it, but the flicker, oh flicker... I trembled of a second there... Deep. Would like more like this. Good job and thank you for your game.

murilo says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:57am

I really like the graphics and atmosphere! the narrative was nice. I think I beat it? haha

bigpan says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:58am

That ending tho. Really, congratulations!

keravcin says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:17am

Very moody and quick, with a feels at the end. Lovely aesthetics good stuff

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:12am

I tend to avoid story games but you made very digestible pieces of text and the mystery feel was intriguing enough to keep me going.

oab says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:51am

Nice graphics and music.

Aster0id2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:12am

Pretty short but interesting. Kinda sad too!
Good job!

Zambini says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:33am

Amazing atmosphere. I suspected something wasn't going to turn out happy in the end by the way some of those descriptions felt. Great job driving the narrative through interaction. I played it without reading your description so it was extra intriguing!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:33am

An interactive story. The atmosphere is very nice.

youngbrothers says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:22am

Nice work guys. I only got the complete ending the second time I played. The atmosphere is really good and the idea of decorating the room with memories original.
I found the walking a bit clunky, and it did not add anything to the gameplay. In my opinion, you could completely remove the character and let the player focus even more on the story, which is your strong point.
Anyway, I enjoyed it!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:28am

Great first game!

NuSan says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Great mood. I like the voxel based arts, it works well. I had some trouble with finding the last element, and my character was stuck. It's a bit short and without much to do. But story elements are great and the progressive appearance of furniture in the room goes well with the story. Keep up the good work !

MrErdalUral says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:58pm

It was hard to both read and keep the track of which object has popped up in the room so I ended up not reading the text at all. What was the game about? I really liked the graphics.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Cool! Great atmosphere (and fantastic music). I like that it's a kind of sophisticated "spot the difference" game. I felt the ending was a bit abrupt (and possibly a little heavy-handed), but I really enjoyed the experience!

Sean says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:35pm

This game was kind of a let-down to be honest. The mechanic of having new objects appear based on what you examine is an interesting way to present a narrative, but instead of using this to its full effect, the player only gets the barest hint of a story before having it all taken away for a ham-fisted twist ending. Sorry if this sounds a bit harsh, but this is about as emotionally effective as saying "Imagine a sad thing happening to a person. Isn't that tragic?"

On the technical side:
-I ran into a bug immediately on my first attempt: if you walk over to the poster and then examine it, the table appears on top of you and you can't move (I assumed this was game-breaking since I hadn't really seen what the game was going to be and restarted because of it)
-There are 2 different fullscreen buttons (one on the itch.io embed, and one in the Unity webgl export). You should probably try to set it up so that you only need one.

nilead says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:37pm

Nice art. I liked the little story it tells but it felt kind of rush at the end. Really good for a first time ;)

smaganik says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Nice idea!

Swingularity says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Great audio which lends perfectly to the mood. The theme was well executed as well.

dv49 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Спасибо! :) У вас тоже интересно, жалко только обрывается так скоро и резко.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:23pm

Great atmosphere and graphics. Ending was super cliche.

parias001 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:36am

Graphics are great and also the music! I loved the narrative element and all but I think that the storytelling felt too short and I think that with more time you can tell that same story in a more cohesive way.

Asghardian says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Awesome graphics, and great poetry in game form haha, like the background music, couldn't read the last scene, but i liked the game in general.

I just had to add, i would love the character to walk in the room and interacting with objects (:

Nice work, btw

seizeTheDia says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:22pm

Really nice music and art. There are many misspelled words, I would run your text through a spellchecker. I have a similar mechanic in my game, discovering items as you go, but I think you guys managed to tell your story better. Some bugs with walking on top of walls and off the floor.

littleball says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:45pm

The game has a nice feel to it. It's a shame I could not get to the end.

Green Soda says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:13pm

I like the feeling that I get closer and connected to that character as the game goes by... I had fun interesting time reading the monologues on every object :)
It's like exploring something new and it got me curiouser and curiouser...
I got stuck and took a long time somewhere so I had to restart...
That aside, Nice take on the theme, Good job!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Impressive moody game, story-telling is well designed and the artstyle is unique and eye-candy. And audio is top notch too.

trodrigues says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Very interesting.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:42pm

Neat storytelling... Good job on trying out the narrative idea.

Tharky says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Yes! This was what I was aiming to achieve. This emotional, narrative story-telling is absolutely beautiful. I loved the art, the sounds and everything about this game. It's good, it's made in 72 hours and it's amazing. Great work everyone, hope to see more from you!

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:35am

The idea behind the game is really interesting, it's a shame that it bugged out on me (each time I tried to play, an object became unclickable).

DoubtfulGames says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:50am

Pretty! Really neat storytelling.

Alexbrainbox says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:44pm

Very interesting entry. Nice use of colour too!

Couple of spelling issues but they didn't really affect anything.

panurge says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Nicely chosen objects/descriptions and good pacing make for an especially poignant ending. There seemed to be a few slight bugs in the object selection but the gorgeous aesthetics more than made up for them. Loved it!

freyby says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Atmosphere is nice, storytelling is very good and grapchis looks original, but there's no actual gameplay.

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:58pm

It's definitely unique, short and sweet. It looks pretty, the music sounds nice. It could have had more content but what was there was polished. It wasn't much of a game. Yet me saying that is scraping the bottom of the barrel. Good luck in you're future games.

MementoGames says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:59pm

Beautiful game and very intriguing!
Congrats on your first project!

Split82 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:24pm

Very good job for the first project. The graphics are unique and interesting. I couldn't reach the end, but I really liked the mood. Good job!

faceless71 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:50pm

Great sound and atmosphere!

neontropics says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:34pm

Great sound and graphics! I like how things gradually started to take shape. Always fun with some skating story

sollinxp says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:26pm

great art style, I liked

tjmolinski says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:54pm

Art style was awesome!

StaNov says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:31pm

You just saw me playing your game live. You can watch it again here: https://youtu.be/AAa6rb4l3oI

You can also remove the information about stability from the game description, if the web version is now stable too :)

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Really coll art style!

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Awesome game, the music and the graphics really sucked me in. I liked the twist in the end as well.

NORRIMO says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:34pm

I love the art style really much.
And at first I thought 'how can I escape the room' and than came this sad story about her dad and the tragical ending.
I like it! :)

Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:35pm

I was rate nr. 200.
Hey, I liked your game it was actually fun.
You can improve the audio and the graphics at some point but overall not bad!
And please go and try out my game!

onixowl says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:39am

Short with (kinda)obvious ending, but the whole atmosphere, art style with sound design and narrative makes it really interesting experience

SandBloom says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:09am

Nice art and nice atmosphere. It's a strange idea that maybe we didn't understand, but good job anyway!

Stending says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Very nice entry, graphics are awesome, the text are great, and the concept is effective, great work !

Linus123xbb says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Really neat game, I like the atmosphere and the art + the music gave a really unique experience.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:43am

Wow, the ending was a shocker! Very nice atmosphere, music and graphics were lovely.

Nice job!

Kyrv19 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Got stuck on a bed, no idea what to do, overall good graphics, gameplay is nonexistant

cgd11 says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 11:42am

Great job! Love the art, music and story. Congrats!

PolygonTeam says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 10:49pm

i like the graphics! so minimalis. interesting story and sound!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 4:59am

Very cool way of storytelling. The music fit the mood really well, too.

I'd love to see this idea taken further!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 1:52am

The gameplay concept was a bit confusing at first but the storytelling was top notch plus I loved how the audio contributes to the overall atmosphere (Also I was totally not prepared for that ending).

Dec 25, 2016 @ 8:36pm

First project! Damn awesome job, loved the art style and always respect tackling narrative in a game jam. I look forward to seeing more from you guys, keep up the good work :)

Coauctor says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 10:26pm

I didn't get to the final scene but enjoyed the atmosphere anyway. Great art style and color palette!

Dec 27, 2016 @ 3:12am

good art and atmosphere. didnt see an ending, so im thinking maybe a bug? good job though

kawaiineko says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 3:54pm

Such a beautiful story telling ♥ with cute graphics. This is a nice piece of Art!!! Big congrats! This is a very good entry :D

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 8:02pm

Ooh, i like this, the graphics are absolutely gorgeous.

I really liked the overall mood of revealing the room object by object, and especially the twist of the final scene, though unfortunately it cut off the description of the final item i clicked and i couldn't read it.

This feels like a really nice start for an adventure game engine, i'd like to see it put to further use. And that this is your first project is really impressive! Great work!

abcdef65g says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 11:59pm

It is absolutely stunning to hear this is your first entry. It is simply gorgeous, it is truly artistic. You caught the concept of art beautifully and the storytelling itself is awesome. To be frank I can't wait to hear more from you in the next LDs!

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 9:09am

Great story. Well filed.

Dec 31, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Really pretty graphics and great atmospheric music. I like how you embraced the one room theme but also built up a world in the storytelling.

Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:27am

Interesting unique experience, liked the way you told a story through the objects. Was an interesting narrative.

Jan 2, 2017 @ 10:28am

Nice little narrative game. I guess you could improve the colliders and some objects that are highlighted and don't trigger anything (the chair) but apart from that, great game. And that's your first time, congratulations!

Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:42pm

High marks on graphics and mood especially! Loved the storytelling :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]