Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Abberbury

by Splendidus - Jam Entry

* Play as a brave viking!
* Kill enemies using tactical methods.
* Depart from deadly traps.
* Use the lever to open the door.
* Loot the enemy's castle and take all the gold!

===CONTROLS===
WASD(ARROWS) - movement/view
Space - jump
Mouse0/LeftControl - hit
Mouse1/LeftAlt - block
E - use
ESC – exit
Also, you can set the input values on the start screen.

===Resources===
Flame from the internet
All audio from the internet

===Contacts===
Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/abberbury/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#244Graphics(Jam)3.97
#358Audio(Jam)3.13
#505Humor(Jam)2.40
#551Mood(Jam)3.11
#669Overall(Jam)3.03
#713Fun(Jam)2.71
#848Theme(Jam)2.38

Comments

Thijs Tak says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:11pm

Beutifull graphics, but very stiff controls.

Shivur says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Very beautiful game visually and musically.
The controls of alt and control on the left side are not practical. I'll put them on the mouse buttons. Also maybe the collision box seem a little too big wich makes fail some jumps because hiting the ceilling. But those are details, it's a really good game.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Oh wow I sure had a blast with this one. I love those viking men with their viking hair! :D A+

skorpyo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:58pm

It seemed to me, or enemys acting like a ninjas? :D
Nice graphics btw

OneManArmy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:11pm

The art style tries to make serious, but the animations makes it silly! I love it! x)
However the controls needs some work

Splendidus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:28pm

I apologize for the controls, not debugged before release.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:46pm

Pretty impressive presentation!
Animations, graphics, sound & sound FX.

Dagorlad says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Great art style, needs some work on the controls, but overall, a solid experience

siryakko says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:49am

A part from the controls, this entry is really good, love the graphics and the ambience

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Like everyone else has been saying, great visuals but really stiff, unresponsive and awkward controls.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:11pm

Cave,viking...in general art is very cool,liked it!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:55am

Rigged controls and animations, but the characters look so amazing. I jumped in blind and missed that I could block with alt :P

stepp says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:41pm

Good graphics, And I also liked the graphics. For me not that much fun though and also the combat animations did not really show who and when has been hit.

resty says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:04pm

The control is a bit strange. Make the battle part a bit hard.
Also, you shall add function keys on the right part of the keyboard if you would like to support WASD control.

And I meet a bug: being stuck at the wall:
https://i.imgsafe.org/2945bdb879.jpg

Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Nice Game. And thanks for your feedback. Ill redo the game and add more features so stay tuned and subscribe to my YouTube ( Acuadoy Studios ).

aemiliu5 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:26pm

graphics and music are just awesome! nice game!

Swordbrella says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:14pm

It definetely would be a much better game if the attacking and blocking weren't so slow. Also it felt like there wasn't much strategy on fighting, it was simply click click and click. Great graphics!

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:45pm

A lot of delay in the controls, fro me. I fond of the animation, however.

Maybe add a bit of feedback on hit ?

CIDeV says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:52pm

creative aesthetics!!!

desucrerer says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Cool Game. The delayed input is quite "challenging" but the animations are great but could be triggered better. The fast enemy behaviour and own movement is quite promising, with some more solid code this could feel really great! god job!

Ayxs says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Very nice looking game, controlls are very stiff and the game itself is a little glitchy. Music and art are very neat and nice! Good Job!

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Fun game, where we play a wiking ! (which is quite cool) However the character is slipping, and it's quite uneasy to control. Good work !

dobnarr says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:28pm

Very cool visuals. Difficult to play - the block was hard to execute. The enormous jump height was unexpected. It would be great if you could disable the ballistae somehow. Really good locking, though, with wonderful sprite animations - your art team is amazing.

Turrus says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Great! but could do with more responsive controls.

indrkl says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Nice graphics, one thing about gameplay, there was no reliable way to bait ballistas, so in certain situations it felt like there was no way around them.

ursagames says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:39pm

Despite the delayed controls, I had fun with the game! After figuring out that I can just block everything and lure enemies into ballista bolts... the game became a lot of manageable and entertaining! It was kind of hard to tell when I blocked a hit and when I was too late and took damage, flashing red / white or blood particles would have helped a lot there. I couldn't figure out what the red barrels were for though, I tried pushing them into fire, but it didn't seem to do anything.

Splendidus says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:54pm

@ursagames
Thanks for the feedback! Red barrels restores life. ) It's just that we did not have time to give the player to understand this. In the next versions we are, of course, is correct. )
While it would be funny to push the barrel into the fire. )))

Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Like everyone else said, the graphics are good and the controls need work. Mainly, the animations for the attack and the block need to be much faster. I appreciate, though, that you took the time to make the game have such a unique art style.

Meta-link says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:08am

The animations are amazing, but the controls and the UI make the game hard to play :/

Great job anyway :)

Logicon says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:47am

I really liked your graphic, it reminded me many valleys with no wind

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Those visuals are insane! Great work! Sound effects and choice of music were really good as well. I liked the melancholy atmosphere.

The controls were a bit wonky though. Jumping next to a platform didn't give the full jump height and hitting was delayed, which took a bit out of the fun for me.

I found out by accident that the yellow barrels contained gold and the red ones health, I guess this could have been communicated better. I thought the red ones would explode.

I managed to finish the game though and only afterwards I found out that you could block. All in all it was a nice challenge and I had a lot of fun, despite some frustrating moments. My favorite part was luring enemies into the ballistas.

Infin8 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:19pm

Great looking game! You can feel the character's movements. However the gameplay feels neither responsive in an actiony sort of way or has the feedback and buildup of tense action game like dark souls.

StaNov says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:33pm

You just saw me playing your game live. You can watch it again here: https://youtu.be/AAa6rb4l3oI

Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:06pm

Great work on the art! The controls however make the game lack quite a bit as it is quite hard to control and things feel clunky. I really enjoyed the theme though and everything in the art style! :D

srakowski says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 2:31am

Well put together graphics and audio. It felt very much like a certain SNES game I once played (can't remember the name). Solid entry, love the viking theme, well done!

Minato4th says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 11:16am

Very interesting concept, with incredible physics. But this physics make me feel like something go wrong, I don't know maybe it will be good to do it more smooth?

Tkachov says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 1:46pm

Graphics are pretty nice, all the other stuff is not. This is a basic platformer, and a pretty poorly done one. Enemies who stand on your character's head, strange jumping, etc. Btw I didn't like your idea to just colorize a sprite into red/yellow to make "another" type of barrel/enemy. That's cheap. If you managed to draw all of these, you could easily redraw some small parts of their outfit, so it would be clear that this is another type of object, yet it's similar.

blackoptics8 says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 9:29am

again great graphics and controls need some work. Would be nice to be able to do something with all that gold $$$$$$$.

DOXM says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 2:58pm

Nice game! Graphics and audio are amazing, and the controls are smooth.

carlotes247 says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 12:23am

Nice graphics and 2d animations! But is hard to notice when you hit and can get quite hard because of that.

ijzm says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:01am

This game is incredibly laggy and it takes so long for the controls to respond. When I hit the movement keys, I end up moving way farther than I want to go.

I laughed a lot at the fact that I could push the enemies and just attack relentlessly. Also one of the death sound effects sounds like unzipping pants. XD

Graphics are good but the gameplay does not seem to be performing well. Maybe it's an issue with my computer, as it seems the other reviewers haven't had much of an issue with the responsiveness of the controls.

~Random-storykeeper

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]