Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Room of Chaos and Creation

by fivecyclops - Jam Entry

Maybe there's nothing special in this room or maybe not...

A interdimensionnal maze in only one room. Find the exhibition and the finished statue... and maybe others secrets.

Information :
You can just move, there is no "use" button.
Explore and watch to find secrets.

PS :
Sorry, the first version has some glitches... no sound played, some trigger don't work and it's very slow.

Created by Five Cyclops with Unreal Engine 4

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#274Theme(Jam)3.86
#359Innovation(Jam)3.28
#368Graphics(Jam)3.65
#445Mood(Jam)3.27
#477Audio(Jam)2.74
#572Humor(Jam)2.19
#607Overall(Jam)3.12
#763Fun(Jam)2.59

Comments

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:01am

Pretty confusing, I really had no sense of what would trigger what, also I would implement some way of turning down the graphical quality, because I got a solid 15 fps. Not everyone is going to be running a beast.

fivecyclops says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Perfs bug fixed.
You are right, it's really need some optimisation.
Update was uploaded.

Gord10 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:28pm

I liked the idea of spawning objects. But even the optimized version of the game worked bad in my computer (which can run many other games with high FPS).

raconteurnick says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:24pm

Great graphics from what I can see! Like other reviewers mentioned, I'm getting some pretty heavy performance hits - I'm not on a gaming machine but it's still enough to slow down the experience for me. Really impressive setup for such a short jam, though!

nikitapash says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:35pm

Great graphics, reminds me of SUPERhot and Firewatch

unit684 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Confusing game, as others have said. The models are quite nice and I like the minimalist graphical style. I also like the idea of figuring things out but maybe highlight objects to show you can interact with them or play a sound when things happen just for a bit of feedback.

Some idea of what the controls are would help too. I was spamming keys trying to figure out if I was using the wrong key or the item wasn't interactible. The performance wasn't terrible but my PC is pretty good and I noticed a few little graphical glitches (lighting related?).

kd7uiy says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:05pm

It's really confusing which link is the pre and which post ludum dare. You might consider naming them a bit clearer.

NumNumDude says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:38pm

The engine is so slowwwwwww.

Pepejson says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Very intresting game. Reminds me Antichamber :D Good lookin graphics

Vadim Ivshin says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Nice graphics, but game is very slow. Actually I don't know why, I guess polycount is quite low. Have you baked the lighting?

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:42am

Nice game thanks for the fun updated version.

JK5000 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:42am

Very interesting game.

Devastus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:41pm

Played the post-jam version. It was a pretty fun little exploration game, although I kinda was stumped at the fact that I had no way of knowing whether I got to "the end" or not, which may or may not be what you intended in the first place. Fitting graphics, good job!

kamranwali says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:05pm

The game is nice. I like the concept of the game. Exposing new content after looking somewhere which is nice. I got to a point where there is a huge square black thing after which I wasn't sure what to do. A little hint as to what's is going on there would have helped with the story. Keep it up!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:09am

Not sure If I saw all the content. Is there a sort of conclusion or ending to let you know? I do enjoy games like these, and this one wasn't half bad.

fivecyclops says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:40pm

There is not really ending, but 3 versions of the room can be a sort of conclusion : The finished statue, the exhibition and the crazy end of world room...

LoHii says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:53pm

I have mixed feelings about this one. The atmosphere is nice, and the game looks quite good, although there really isn't a special artstyle to distuingish it from other Unreal submissions.

The music fit, but I would've wished for more little simple sounds: footsteps and maybe some eerie sound for the room transforms.

I found myself intrigued about what the story was gonna be. The actual gameplay and the way you went about weren't so hot on the other hand. The walkspeed was a little sluggish, especially compared to the turnrate of the camera, some of the look triggers were surprisingly strict, and my biggest peeve was that you could sort of go back to an earlier state. With a game like this, I really would've wished for a truly linear experience.

pfirsich says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:28pm

A shame that the jam version is a little buggy (no sounds for me). I don't even want to say what this game reminded me of to not spoil anyone yet to play it, but it's really nice! Could have been super nice, if you managed your time to fix some bugs before the deadline :D

Logicon says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:23am

Game was really pretty, and had a cool concept, well done.

mooncalf says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:31am

Heh, fun figuring my way out around the room. If anything maybe the hints could be a bit less cryptic. I looked at things that I felt should have triggered, but didn't - in fact sometimes reset the process. But as is, I was pleasantly surprised to not be eaten by Slenderman, rather to find myself surrounded by works in progress.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:44pm

Too much engine for a compo game I think, but well done anyways.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Excellent little experience. I did find myself wondering how much of it I'd seen and whether the diagrams and notes scattered around the place actually led anywhere or not, but I found it superb none the less.

The dead ends I found were in the Dimension room, the room with the freshly carved obelisk, the blank canvases, and the gallery with the obelisk and statuette. From there there only seemed to be ways back, but if there are actually ways forward, I'd be interested in giving it another try.

A wonderfully atmospheric showing!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Very interesting game, played it to discover what was changing in the room.

8Bit says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:47am

Great game, hope to see more of it developed!

PlugRobots says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Very very laggy on my old PC. Have about 5 FPS.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:18pm

The way the room changes when you aren't looking is creepy it really added to the mood. Love the idea! Cheers -RS

Olowynd says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Hello, this comment may content spoilers and it's more notes than a constructed review but let's go:

> The modelisation is really good for a Ludum Dare and the lighting was really nice (it seems frequent for games made on Unreal Engine, but I notice nonetheless).
> Also, cool little camera movement.
> For the beginning especially (but a little too during the whole game, notably during the tentacles room or the dark room), I got difficulty to active the trigger for make the room progress, I don't really know how it's managed. I think the game need either to facilitate the progression to the next state or (better but longer to implement) has some interactions to keep the player busy and interested and getting him more in the mood in the waiting for the next state to appear.
> The ambients sounds bring really a lot.
> Love the atmosphere, the beginning was very calm but I got a great fear with the black rock screamer, and the next events get me in a totally different attitude in comparison with the start of the game, that was cool.
> Got stuck in the dark room for a really long time.
> After getting out of this room, i was stuck in a loop of rooms and I don't found the exit, that was a little unsatisfying cause I wasn't able to got a end.

So I think it lack of interactions and dialogs/text lines, some feedbacks (foostep sounds, visual clue for the triggers,...) and especially: easier triggers to activate.
Good job tho, I appreciate the ambient, music and graphics.

bigpan says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:04pm

I think you did a great job in the assets, great graphics, but maybe this is what is causing the performance issues(23 - 30fps here). Still, good job on completing the game.

Palarus says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 10:39pm

Kind of hard for me.... Great graphics but no idea how to pass the level without being hit, also if I get near to a side the most probable think is that you get killed. Keep going!

Doomdad says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 7:09am

Fun experience. Very vague and cryptic in a good way! Sounds would've added alot!

Minato4th says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Idea looks fresj, new and mestirious. Here is no any goal the implementation of which leads to win. And its great, sometimes this ii work better way)

I tried Post Jam version, becouse thing that in many cases you have good Idea but you just havent time to realize it.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 1:08pm

Weird experience which I liked - confusing, but well done. There is here a certain potential ++

Illutax says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 11:56am

Great game! It was a little laggy on my Laptop, but still interesting.

Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:40am

Nice graphics!

Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:30pm

Very pretty, and a unique take on Escape the Room type games

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]