Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Slumber Room

by JackTheOgre - Jam Entry

Slumber room.
Made with libGDX.

This is a story about a boy who suddenly woke up from sleepwalking in a very strange place. Weirdly enough he has an ability to change some things as if he was asleep but two evil glowing eyes that watch him from the pitch darkness of the room seem a bit too real for a dream.

In order to win you need to survive 20 seconds running from the monster. By default lights are turned off, but you have some energy to change that for a moment to see where the enemy is, so use it wisely. The monster's speed and amount of teleports available depends on a level.

Controls:
-WASD/Arrow keys or mouse to navigate your character.
-Space to turn on the lights (keep an eye on your energy bar on the left though). Before you start running away from ghost you can place teleports anywhere you want (cool, huh?)!
And don't forget to set up some teleports. You can think your plan through before level.. or you can figure it out on the way, yolo.

Thank you for checking out our very first game! Sadly, it's not finished yet and the whole thing is very raw but we still hope you will enjoy it maybe for a couple of minutes and evaluate our main idea. The game (hopefully) will have some music and sound, replay system(so you can watch where the enemy really was when the lights were off) and multiplayer for two (one player will play as the boy and another as the ghost).

We know the game has uncomfortable controls and no sound. There's a lot of work to do. Any suggestions and reviews are welcome!

Anyways, feel free to leave your feedback!
Welp, have a wonderful day everyone! c:

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#165Innovation(Jam)3.68
#272Fun(Jam)3.45
#339Humor(Jam)2.88
#340Graphics(Jam)3.73
#412Theme(Jam)3.64
#425Overall(Jam)3.36
#488Mood(Jam)3.20
#826Coolness48%

Comments

KerelOlivier says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Can't download the files. apparently the files were deleted due to an unexpected error while uploading

naivehawk says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Download link is dead for windows

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Yep, dead link for windows(

JackTheOgre says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Sorry, guys. Fixed it!

JayProg says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Cool concept. Would like to see it taken much further. More Levels, Sound, Monsters etc.

I would make the menu buttons more obvious as it took me a little while to orient myself to the first screen (which I kind of was) but I like the idea of showing the level structure to the player before hand. (Will help with strategy on more difficult levels.)

JackTheOgre says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Thanks :) Yeah, we will make tutorials and add a lot more content to the game. More levels, traps (not only teleports), music, probably new monsters.

Dyn says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:21pm

Hello back from D3C0D3)

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:27am

Cute graphics and your resource management system with the light adds a good amount of suspense to the game. I found myself getting stuck on corners pretty frequently, but everything else seemed to work fine. I could see this being a truly addicting little action puzzler with a bit more polish.

hlavik211 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Nice Game, I really love the controls and the gameplay.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Nice idea!
I like the art style and the gameplay is smooth! Well Done!

samt2510 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Nice pixel art and simple gameplay good job

KerelOlivier says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:15pm

I liked the game. It's a very good concept and I would love to see more of it. I like the idea of using portals to make shortcuts. I had a bit of trouble with the 1 tile wide paths though.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:08pm

Nice entry. Well done. I really love the controls and the gameplay ++

Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:52am

There is some potential here. I think there is a lot of things you could develop furher. The concept is fun to play

alfadur says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:11pm

Very cool idea! As others have mentioned, it would be nice if the character could automatically negotiate the corners when it's a bit off from a tile center. Otherwise, figuring out an escape path and trying to follow it was quite fun. Good graphics, too!
Maybe stun traps that stop character/monster momentarily when stepped on could be a nice addition to teleports. :)

JackTheOgre says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Thanks, everyone. Your reviews really give us power to continue working on this game!

alfadur, yes, we'll certainly implement more comfortable controls. And yeah, we were planning to implement traps for the enemy during the jam, but ran out of time :d We will add them definetely. Thanks!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:03am

Nice little game. I actually had a really tough time since I was getting caught on the corners a lot. Besides that it was pretty solid!

Ednei says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:31am

Good game and concept.
A bit difficult too! eheh!

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:48am

Really nice start of a game! Wish there was more levels! A bit difficult to understand at first what was going on tho..

Gipzo says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Interesting concept, it was quite thrilling to play :)
Visual style is great too.

edve98 says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Art is nice but I think the game is a bit too hard

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]