Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Bob & Bernard Against the Nazis

by arcadehero - Jam Entry

Hello everyone, it's our first Ludum Dare, and we're excited to present you our game "Bob&Bernard Against the Nazis"!

=====================
This is a game about kid Bob, who bought a whale on Ebay. And then Bob and his whale become the best friends ever. Somehow the Nazis managed to find out about this and decided to kill the whale at all costs...
And so the story begins. One whale, one room, many nazis, and a friendship that lasts forever!
=====================

Controls:
Arrows - Movement,Jump
Z - Shoot/interact
Shop - mouse

Press Z when near the sink to get water, then press and hold Z while standing on the whale to pour water on him. Repeat to heal your buddy!
Press Z near PC to buy weapons.

Numbers to change weapons
1-Pistol
2-AK47
3-Shotgun
4-Bazooka

*If you die, please refresh your page to restart.(sorry :c)

P.S. Unfortunately, our game isn't finished (yet). A lot of content is out of this build :c But we want to finish this game! So, you will be able to check an extended version very soon. Stay tuned!

===============

Credits:

Art/Animation:
3 Dudes Make Games - @3DudesMakeGames
Arcade Hero - @arcade_hero

Code:
DimLight - http://dimmedlight.newgrounds.com/

Sounds/Music:
FinalSketch - https://soundcloud.com/final-sketch
Ksenia Harris - https://www.facebook.com/ksenia.harris
Gink Freud - https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100011119968425
Artemy Makeev - https://www.facebook.com/makeev.artemy

UPD: Fixed a few bugs and added a windows build.
Thanks for your comments, dudes! <3

UPD: Added post-ludum version! Yay!
https://arcadehero.itch.io/babatn

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#52Graphics(Jam)4.49
#65Humor(Jam)3.84
#79Audio(Jam)3.91
#147Overall(Jam)3.81
#154Fun(Jam)3.67
#296Mood(Jam)3.54
#324Theme(Jam)3.79
#667Innovation(Jam)2.69
#1421Coolness26%

Comments

pLaw says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:05am

Gorgeous pixel art! I really like these characters. Audio is great, too!

lgbpaiva says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:29am

Really great art and music! Overall great game.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:11am

Wow! this game was a lot of fun and I hope you keep working on it. The pixel art was great, the music was fitting and the mechanics were spot on. The controls were a little hard to stretch from z to 1-4 in the heat of the action. The story/theme seemed a little weird. I like the kid and the whale, the nazis just seemed out of place. I played this until round 9, and if I could have paused I would have been playing longer!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:14am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:55am

That was fun! Good job coming up with such a great story to bring humor into the game. Loved the whale's hat!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:58am

Beautiful graphics, and great music too. Solid game, well done! :D

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:19am

Brilliant graphics. Gameplay is good and fun. Hard to find out what is happening.

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:31am

Great art and music! I really like the coin animations as well. If you made the game play/progression faster I would have played for much longer.

Great work :)

JoeYoshi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:51am

lol, there was a whale in the middle of the room! Did you guys notice?

aaaleee says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:48am

Good art, good fun.

Lord_404 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:07am

First game made in flash that i see not running at <30 fps really impresive, lot of care put onto the pixelart, quite fun to play

floetenmaul says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:30am

Holy! Progress is a little bit slow, but otherwise AWESOME!

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:00am

Awesome graphics and design! It had really nice feel to it. I love the idea of watering the whale.

The game could benefit from faster ramp up and to me the dubstep was a little out of place for the visuals.

Overall it's a really tight game.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:01am

Nice one. Reminds me of flash game Dude and Zombies which is a good thing.
With more levels could be a thing.

Phaix says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:09am

Great Game, was fun to play :)

Khud0 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:19am

That was a ton of fun! :)

It's really cool that you're invincible and have to protect something. I'd love to make it a bit more fast-paced regarding text, running speed and time given to buy stuff.

piwicode says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Artworks and sound design are awesome. Action is a bit repetitive but I definitely like phases interrupting gameplay (speeches / connecting to internet...). Music choice is aligned with the game spirit, offbeat. That's good !

smaganik says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Visuals are great!

KadaDev says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:58pm

Nice graphics <3 the whale

OWC says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:45pm

Looks pretty but gameplay is too simple. Try to add abilities.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Awesome graphics, great concept and humor. If finished this would be a nice little polished game.

It's nice that different weapons are better against different enemies, but the keys for switching weapons are inconvenient. I got a sudden "The end" at one point.

jusw85 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:28pm

I enjoyed it! Quite a unique concept, defending a whale from killer nazis.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:35pm

Good job! Sound and camera effects feel really satisfying, nice art too ^^

Don't get the thing about the nazis though (?)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Well done. A good team work. I had fun playing it. I like the pixel art aesthetic ++

FlashMonkey says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:00pm

Great Art, Great Gamedesign

martincohen says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:36pm

Main character remins a lot of the CaveStory's, but it fits quite well into the environment. Loved the art very much. Music would be a bit better without mandatory brostep, however it was very well done. Enjoyed this one a great deal! Keep it up!

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Really nice game. Dialogues are so cool! Awesome!

fauche_j says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Really really nice, i had a lot fun playing it

c4m says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:22pm

the gameplay feels so smooth and fun, also those dialogs are amazing, really good game, congrats!

TeamAxolotl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:31pm

Awesome audio and graphics. In my opinion, the game is too repetitive (I only played the first three waves). You could have added another mechanic to boost the dynamic of the game (like shielded enemies, or two different starting weapons with different abilities and you have to switch between them etc.). Really nice game!

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Amazing!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:52pm

i wanted to save the whale...it died. I is sad. Good game though :(

ahmedmohi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Awesome game great work , the sounds, sfx and polishing is really outstanding

Ithildin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:19pm

Brilliant art and sound/music. I really cared for the whale, so I was frustrated that I couldn't heal her back during the 5th to 6th break. I don't know if there was a bug or something, but I couldn't get to fill the watering can, and by the sixth enemy wave we couldn't hold on any longer :_(

As for gameplay, it was also very solid, but the waves lasted for quite a bit, which felt a bit slow and repetitive (specially as you had to keep walking back and forth). Perhaps you could improve the pacing by making more frequent, shorter waves and touching a bit the movement speed.

Apart from this, I've really enjoyed this entry, congrats!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Very fun, good looking and tight controls. Simple, but simple and good beats complicated and sloppy :) I would have liked longer breaks to heal up and buy guns, but that's my subjective taste, I suppose. Other than that, solid product

Donar says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:18pm

OK, I'm really pissed about one thing: Just when I hit 250 coins for the Bazooka, the game yelled "The End" at me, so I would need to replay to test that weapon.

Graphics and Audio are great, but the Gameplay could be a bit more challenging for me.

Also, as a German, I am really offended. Not because the Nazi killing, that's fun, but because on our Keyboard the Z and Y keys are swapped ...

DevForPizza says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:36pm

really nice graphics,but I must to reload the webpage for playing again ?

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Very good art and story but it's very repetitive. It felt to me like one of those mobile games where upgrades are infinite and you grind to get to the next weapon. I personally don't like that kind of games but if you do this for mobile I'm sure you'll have an audience.

Moonlace says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:02pm

Love the art and how the game is first introduced to the player.
The whale is genius

Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:08pm

this was hilarious. Had lots of fun. Great art and very enjoyable gameplay - even though it's a bit on the grindy side for me - I wished I could have been able to buy a gun earlier.
Great game, keep it up!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Very nice pixel art, sounds were a bit annoying overtime. After wave 3 it suddenly got very hard with the snipers and I never got to buy the new weapon :( Overall a lot of fun. I dont really understand why you named your game that way? It didnt look like nazis.

VeryBadBunny says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:26pm

I killed my whale. 10/10

homeworld says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Amazing art and humor! Your art team is incredibly talented! Unfortunately the game itself felt too repetitive, and i could not afford to buy anything after multiple rounds, and i couldn't heal the whale no matter what(bug maybe?), so i ended up repeatedly dying before trying out any of the other weapons; But i will definitely try out your art team's project, Undergrave!

Jungle says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Graphs are amazing. 5/5 fun!! Fits theme very well. Great entry

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:01pm

Safe villy))) fun

Michalidis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:32pm

poor Bernard! Why, Nazis, why?! :( :(
Very addictive game, good humor, nice graphics, hilarious sound effects during the dialogs - I can't appreciate it enough - thank you for the game ! :)

hyteck9 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:43am

This was a great example of good clean basic gaming. I really enjoyed it. The humor is a nice touch to an already established set of assets.

nick.bota says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:09am

Amazing art, fun mechanics, a good upgrade system. You've made a great game which definitely can be expanded into a full-fledged and i would play it for sure!

Vertigon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Great looking game, classic Newgrounds style going on here. The action was snappy and the audio was really good. Liked the humor too. I would have played beyond Wave 6 but the progression was soooooooo slow, the pistol was really hard to endure for 3 waves until I could afford the AK. Triple the gold drop and it could have stayed fun for much longer. Badass though.

misaghDroid says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:16am

Very nice pixel art and I really like the idea!
It surprised me :D Music fit perfectly too. I had little hard times with controls, but all in all it was fun :)

dv49 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Like the pixel and the main characters!
Difficulty progression and gameplay was toooo slow for me. Also, swapping inputs (keyboard/mouse) in arcade like this is a bad practice.

HappySaila says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:15pm

I played for so long and had 234 coins of something. And then the game just ended :(

Greek85 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:58am

oh! Nice! And it's also online! Amazingn pixel art! Can I find it on indiexpo? I'm making videos about the games of this Jam, but only about the games hosted also on indiexpo! Tell me if you will add it, so I can include it in my next video ;)

donvermo says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:44am

Loved the game, the ending was a bit sudden and I found the difficulty to be a little too easy. Maybe having a bit stronger ramping in the difficulty will make the game more engaging? Graphics were superb and the story was funny.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:16am

everything about this game was great. a real gem.

jimmynoshoes says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 11:03pm

That was great, love the pixel art!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]