Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Walking Ghost

by masoud.pezeshkzade - Jam Entry

1954
Down the 8th avenue , a light flickers over a window.
Red eyes , drops of sweat on forehead and lifeless hands and feet, all signs of father's high fever . Poor little girl was suffering too and tonight may be the last with father.
The ambulance hasn't arrived yet, little girl goes to the window every minute and runs back to father , crying.
The knocking sound gives strength to her heart .
Who's this ?" little girl asked. "
This is the doctor" the voice answered."
How can I help you ?" little girl said."
Unfortunately your father is not well and should be transported to the "
hospital" the doctor said.
The ruins of the town's hospital which has been closed for illegal activities.
Unauthorized experiments on human body

Authors:
Amirreza Anvari
Masoud Pezeshkzade
Masoud Sistani
Hamid Rastghalam
Amin Babadi
Shamim Sanisales
Mohammad Tajerian
Abolfazl Sherafat
Zahra Saffari

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#132Mood(Jam)3.85
#181Graphics(Jam)4.11
#273Overall(Jam)3.58
#418Innovation(Jam)3.15
#611Humor(Jam)2.00
#700Fun(Jam)2.73
#866Theme(Jam)2.19

Comments

Nexus64 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:10pm

A really good game. The music and artwork are amazing, the gameplay mechanic of the ghost is intelligent and can lead to interesting puzzles and the story is intriguing.

The only problems are caused by the small working time (minor control glitches and a painfully slow character)

Norman says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:51am

WoooW!
So Cool
I like this
Good game , Good Music and Good art.

T.Dean.isf says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:27am

Wow.I love it/now game can better than and grow over and over.i like it at all^_^

Jeneral says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:53am

So nice?

T.Dean.isf says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:27am

yeah

pirisok says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:05am

wow ! amazing , i love to play this game as a serious game , with a lot of levels :)

ahmedmohi says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:17am

Awesome work , the feel and atmosphere are great (Y)

ursagames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:31am

That was pleasant to play through! I spent quite awhile trying to figure out what to do after pushing the block of people into the hole until realizing I needed to restart the game to complete that puzzle. I had thought that the block of ice had cause the floor to become solid because I didn't notice what the switch did. Hope you keep working on the project, the mechanics could lead to some great puzzles!

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:08pm

Nice! Everything comes together to set a very heavy mood. A few things were a little unclear but not frustratingly so, and perhaps that made me feel just that bit more accomplished once I figured something out! c: Would have been good to spell out what the buttons actually do tho.

Bumped into two game-breaking bugs (character got stuck between two rooms once, and one time the block with people in it fell through the hole and disappeared and made progress impossible even tho I'd activated the switch) but that's LD for you~

The mechanic of having to redo everything after getting "wasted" is a bit frustrating considering how slow the character is, but the chapter was short enough that it didn't bother me too much after all. Just something to bear in mind if you keep adding chapters with longer levels, in which case you might want to add some checkpoints along the way.

My only big complaint is that I don't see at all how this follows the theme of "one room", which unfortunately brings down my overall score, which would have been higher otherwise. :c

Good job!

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:14pm

uuughh...mystery.Well Done.
I like the quality

pcmxms says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:29pm

Web version didn't work here (Firefox, Gnome Ubuntu 16.04)

Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Woow!
Nice;)
I Love It

TeamScripta says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:59pm

For some reason the unity web player would not load in chrome.

kleinzach says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:03pm

Great entry! I loved the graphics and sound and mood of the whole thing. The game play felt a little clunky however. I never knew if I couldn't interact with something or if I was in the wrong place, or it was glitched at some points. Regardless, i loved it.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:03pm

i liked what the game suggested, I wasnt sure how it fit into the theme directly, but i liked your take on it. Controls seemed abit wobbly for me

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Really nice overall atmosphere and polish! I had some trouble figuring out what to do at first but eventually I got the hang of it. It was a bit annoying to have to play a level from the start when I accidentally died later on tho. I think the movement could have been a bit faster to make replaying a level less tedious, or have it so you restart from the last entered scene. Overall really nice work tho!

Skruffye says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Nice mood and atmosphere.

Found the walking animation to be particularly janky and there was also the occasional visual artefact at the bottom of the ghost's sprite. The idle animation was nice and smooth though. The world was nicely drawn and well stylised, but bad animations can really detract from the player's ability to appreciate the art, in my opinion.

I personally didn't find the gameplay to be particularly interesting and I'm afraid that I ended up getting stuck in a hole alongside a transparent person. However, judging by the other reviews that you've received, I'd say that perhaps this sort of game just doesn't appeal to me personally.

Well done, and keep making games. :)

Fuad says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Very nice puzzle game. Possessed mechanics are nice and moody and open a lot of possibilities to advance the mechanics, like bodies with different abilities for example.

Pepejson says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Very good game. Very nice mood. You should write key controls

Uruca Games says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:49am

I really like the idea of ​​the game. The gameplay can be explored with huge puzzles! Due to the time the game has some bugs, but nothing that detracts from the experience. Congratulations!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:33am

Struggled with the controls a little, bit enjoyed the experience none the less. Excellent atmosphere and style :)

ijona says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 11:38am

Start button doesn't work on the Windows version. But other buttons are working.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]