Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Sorcerer's Room

by hugofock - Jam Entry

Welcome to Sorcerer's Room! This is a two players strategy fighting game. Each player control a sorcerer and take turn to strategies their movement/attack before executing their fight.

Game Rules:

1) Step 1 (1st Player Input): While 1st Player Input, 2nd Player shouldn't look at what 1st player has input.

2) Step 2 (2nd Player Input): While 2nd Player Input, 1st Player shouldn't look at what 1st player has input.

3) Step 3 (Execute The Fight): The 1st & 2nd Player Input will be executed together at this moment of time.

4) Repeat over the steps until whichever player's HP equal to 0 (player has defeated)

5) Right Hand Corner Steps Indicator - (1st round) allow 1 step, (2nd round) allow 2 steps, (3 round and above) allow 3 steps. (Green Indicator - step been input by player, Blue Indicator - awaiting for player input.)

6) Movement - (1)Left, (2)Right, (3)Float

7) CoolDown - (4)Light Ball - no cool down, (5)Fire Ball - ready after 2 turns, (6)Frozen Ball - ready after 1 turn

8) Damage - (Light Ball) minus 10HP, (Fire Ball) minus 30HP, (Frozen Ball) minus 20HP

Hope you enjoy the game with your friend.

Due to limited time for development, there is no LAN versus feature. If there are good feedback and demand on this feature, we'll consider for further development of this feature.

Cheers,

Kevin Yap & Hugo Fock

Credits

Background Music: http://www.soundjay.com/

Sound Effect: http://www.soundjay.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#186Innovation(Jam)3.63
#482Audio(Jam)2.73
#565Graphics(Jam)3.21
#626Humor(Jam)1.94
#659Overall(Jam)3.04
#717Fun(Jam)2.70
#719Mood(Jam)2.75
#725Theme(Jam)2.96

Comments

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:28am

Hey good job on the game mechanics.

I found it to be fun with a friend however the spells didn't act as I expected them too.

Great job on finishing your game for the jam :)

Paradoxa42 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:16am

Good game, aiming mecanics are pretty strange however

BathPirate says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:39am

Not bad! Interesting idea but something need to be better/ May be controls/

Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:05am

A very interesting and unique concept!

Lipedal says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:16am

Ooohhh, good concept! Turn-based fighting game. Took me some time to understand it, but I liked the way it works. Mindgames :)

Lipedal says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:24am

By the way, mine is here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-37/?action=preview&uid=29565

Fuad says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:40am

I really like it. It's like a simple (and magic) version of Atlas Reactor that I so fond of now.

Good job! :)

asyzruffz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:16pm

The lack of visual cue to differentiate the different phase of turn really confuses me at first.

Sun-Wukong says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:03pm

I don't quite understand why the spells fired in opposite direction from what you pointed.
Too bad I have no one to play it with right now.

hugofock says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:14pm

@Sun-Wukong - It's more like a slingshot aiming when you click and drag to the opposite direction of where you intend to aim. The more you pull the more force it has.

Thanks everyone for the comments. The controls and phase indicator definitely need improvements :)

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:39am

It is a good concept, which I think I sought for a long time without any result. I am always interested in multi players games but not the normal ones. Nice try!

Sean says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Interesting idea, but the aiming controls being opposite the actual was kind of weird. My guess is that it's meant to represent winding up and releasing, but it feels out of place with casting magic spells.

There are also 3 different fullscreen buttons (one on Ludum Dare's site, one on the itch.io embed, and one in the Unity webgl export). You should probably try to set it up so that you only need one.

Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:27pm

An interesting concept, but needs some polishing. The non-discrete moves (as in, can aim in any direction rather than tile based) felt too overpowered and somewhat unpredictable by the other player. The aiming mechanic was also very confusing, with the spell preview not usually following the aim direction.

Still, it is very much a a complete game and a solid submission.

SleepyStudios says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Cool idea but a bit too slow for my liking. Could also do with a button to cancel an aiming action.

Qui says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Nice game and intersting concept. Reminds me of Toribash

hexachrome says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Nice game but too bad I couldn't play with someone. Well done though!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:11pm

Great idea, nice graphics but aim controls are problematic. Overall is a nice game, congrats.

Jan 1, 2017 @ 1:51pm

Nice idea, but controls need a fix. Good job! ^-^

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]