Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Executioner

by Fuad - Jam Entry

Intro:
You are the Royal Executioner. Your job is to render justice and justify the crown's cruelty, while keeping the mob at bay.
Unfortunately you're not numb enough to kill and torture people in cold blood, and your sanity cracks with every life taken.
However should you abandon your grim duty the crowd will go berserk and drown the city in blood.

Team:
Gamedesign and coding - Fuad "Funt" Kuliev
Original Texts - Elena "Leks" Sivakova
Translation - Emil "Bone" Heydarov, Tamara "Solarom" Persikova
Music - Jorsitska

Tutorial:
0) This is very minimalistic game withous graphics, but as I hope your imagination will replace it.
1) The PC has Sanity that recovers very slowly. Once it's depleted you'll go mad.
2) You need to get answers to the main objectives out of your victims in order to justify the sentence.
3) If the crowd is displeased with you or with the Crown, the level of Chaos will grow and bring your demise closer.
4) If you want to leave your post someday and uncover the secrets of this world, you need to grow your Information Rating by obtaining answers to secondary questions.
5) Each answer is unlocked by getting your victim to a certain condition. For example, you can get the answer that will lead to an execution only from a victim who sees no other choice.
6) Each victim recovers mentally and physically at appropriate times: if you torture the victim mentally but leave the body alone it will recover, and vice versa.
7) Each trauma you inflict lowers the overall level of the victim's endurance by a 25%, never allowing complete recovery.

Example:

Sorry guys, since a tight deadline didn't allow us to create a tutorial, here's an example of solving one of the main objectives.

1) The victim has a 100 physical and 100 mental hit point.
2) Each type of hits will "go red" when this number gets below 33.
3) If the victim confesses to treason, she condemns herself to a horrible death (she will probably die anyway, but one can hope). So she won't confess unless her conditions are both in the red.
4) This means your goal is to get both conditions in the red and then ask your question, or get the physical condition in the red and the mental one in the yellow and then intimidate the victim (this will temporarily bring the mental condition down one category).
5) Basicaly any victim will answer on any question if both conditions are red, but it can be dangerous (victim can die) or cost too much time/sanity/stamina
6) Safer questions (for victim) will require yellow or even green condition to be answered.

P.S.
Share number of days that you can survive, your information rating and type of death. Mine is Day 13, Rating 26, gone mad.

After Jam fix
Based on comments I lower the difficulty. Now you have 24 time (twice as many as before) and this time is reduced per each next victim until stabilized on 12.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#237Innovation(Jam)3.50
#291Mood(Jam)3.55
#348Audio(Jam)3.18
#566Overall(Jam)3.17
#585Fun(Jam)2.91
#621Humor(Jam)1.96
#682Theme(Jam)3.09
#838Graphics(Jam)1.96

Comments

stefvanschie says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:29am

Well, this surely is a quite interesting game. I had a hard time figuring out what the right thing is to do with each individual victim and how it would help me. I think it would be easier if you made the goal clearer and started with people who are a little easier.

FinGamer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:30am

The task was a little confusing. It was really interesting game though!

erikiene says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:40am

I can see how a lot of time probably went in to the underlying mechanics and the complex system which is probably amazing to experience but is a little undermined by the difficult to understand way of achieving the goal. Maybe something a little more graphic and less choicy? Obviously, this will fit just right for the right crowd.

Great entry nonetheless!

Fuad says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:03pm

Sorry guys, since a tight deadline didn't allow us to create a tutorial, here's an example of solving one of the main objectives.

Example:

1) The victim has a 100 physical and 100 mental hit point.
2) Each type of hits will "go red" when this number gets below 33.
3) If the victim confesses to treason, she condemns herself to a horrible death (she will probably die anyway, but one can hope). So she won't confess unless her conditions are both in the red.
4) This means your goal is to get both conditions in the red and then ask your question, or get the physical condition in the red and the mental one in the yellow and then intimidate the victim (this will temporarily bring the mental condition down one category).
5) Basicaly any victim will answer on any question if both conditions are red, but it can be dangerous (victim can die) or cost too much time/sanity/stamina

freyby says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Holy cow, I was looking SO LONG for this type of game where you have to tortute people, you won't believe how happy i'm right now. Btw the music is very depressing and fit very nice with the theme of the game.

callym says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:58pm

This was fun, really confusing and I only managed to get one person to confess, but I had fun while killing the others

Stylo21 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Holy shit this game, it was simply amazing. Very good idea, with an awesome delivery, really confusing at first though. What an incompetent assistant, killing my victims most of the time...

Thanks for making this.

panu says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:52am

It's a bit too hard straight from the beginning but fine tuned game balance can't be expected in this kind of an event. The thing that was most frustrating to me was the fact that you can not always get back from submenus and had to do something that just wasted a lot of valuable resources.

With a little tuning i think it would be a great game.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:55am

Interesting game, with a great potential. The interface was confusing but after some time I worked my way through. I think if you streamlined your approach to this and made the game a bit faster between interactions it would excel. The mood the audio set was awesome, this could further be increased with some design and color palette! Good work!

mirta000 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:02am

a very interesting game. Was surprised by how good it was. Good job!

Fuad says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:08pm

Thank you for responses. I fix problem with ability to go back from submenus. I'll hope it make interface a little bit more streamlined.

panu -

t4u says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:55pm

I think better GUI is needed. I felt I was missing my best choices - while in torture menu maybe atrocity would be a better choice in current situation but I'm in torture menu so I can't see all of my possible actions.

Too hard - managed only to get one confession in 2 tries. Maybe assistant role could have been bigger, something to let me take rest while he would do his job (with some risk of unexpected reuslts).

I would probably play longer if I saw there was a chance of me winning. I see potential in the idea and would really like to play ver 2.0.

When I think of it I really like the theme the "one room that noone wants to go to" :)

Audio was trying to be moody but was tiring as well.

Ps. How do I rate humor in a game about mutulation?

Fuad says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:01am

Thank you for the feedback! I lower the difficulty. Now you have 24 time (twice as many as before) and this time is reduced per each next victim until stabilized on 12.

P.S.
We already working on ver 2.0, with story between executions that make them whole.

TeamScripta says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Great writing! Very creative!

dodormeur says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:58pm

The game is a good idea, but the interface and the UI are really bad, it kind of destroy the whole thing :/

Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Grim stuff! Even though this is text-based, it's quite a gruesome trip (perhaps maybe its BECAUSE it leaves everything up to my imagination). Of course I think that's what you're going for!

I think your idea of introducing a tutorial level will help a lot.

Dia6lo says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Oh, man if only I wasn't scared of tortures :c
This game has very good (I mean grim) atmosphere, great diaries, great music - it was really great experience. It would be great to see more tortures, though. Great job!

cjke.7777 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:04am

The music is stunning, how did you make it?
The game was interesting concept, but others have mentioned, a little less complex or choicey might make it easier to get into? With a graphical layer on top, this could be a really cool game

Linear says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Wow. This was definitely a very innovative game. I got to about Day 10 before I finally ended my life. This game is WONDERFULLY depressing and really evokes a fantastic mood. Bravo.

Dec 21, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Interesting game. I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/OCZRRN3xYEY

MrErdalUral says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 12:23pm

I really liked the text. At first sight I though this was another one of these interactive books but I noticed its quite different. Thank you for the game!

Obvious_San says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 12:25pm

The gameplay is a tough balancing act, but I think that just adds to the tension, which is impressive. The writing is really excellent. I only managed to get a full confession out of one person, and my incompetent assistant killed most of my victims!

- randomhuman

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]