Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Decube

by ato - Jam Entry

"Decube" is a simple shooter ("shmup") where player fights in one room with one enemy. It's like a game with one boss fight. You need to defeat the boss by shooting his weak points (red dots).
If I had more time, I would lower the difficulty a bit and add more varied bullet patterns. I hope you'll enjoy the game.
It's my first LD entry. Finally :)

Controls:
arrows, WSAD - movement
Left Ctrl - shoot

Changelog:
--- ver 1.0.1, 16.12.2016 ---
Added working builds for Windows, Linux, Mac. Fixed only lighting setting which was causing problems on older graphics cards.
--- ver 1.0.2, 18.12.2016 ---
Changed controls: removed WSAD keys, changed Left Ctrl to Z

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#371Fun(Jam)3.26
#447Audio(Jam)2.88
#480Innovation(Jam)3.04
#548Graphics(Jam)3.26
#566Overall(Jam)3.17
#607Humor(Jam)2.03
#690Mood(Jam)2.83
#711Theme(Jam)3.00

Comments

TheHighChairs says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Hey! I liked the concept of trying to hit the targets on a cube - really cool! I found that if you don't move and keep shooting, you can get pretty far though.

Nexus64 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Good game.
I like the style and animations a lot.

I think that the biggest problem is the "killer walls". Normally, in this kind of shoot 'em up the walls are only limits, no insta-death. It can be very confusing.

Also, improve a little the lighting, it will make the style look even better.

Nexus64 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:34pm

I forgot to rate.
sorry :P

ato says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:41pm

@TheHighChairs: I realized today, that not moving can be a strategy. That would be one of the first things I would improve.
@Nexus64: to be honest when I play any shmup I expect that walls will kill me instantly. I didn't think it could be any other way, but I'll consider it, thanks :). About the lightning: I think that "Windows" version has some bug with lighting, it looks different than on the screenshots. Maybe you saw the bug too.

Thank you both for your comments. I'll check your games too :).

tylerdoggone says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Like the cube enemy a lot!
I wonder what if the player could influence how the cube rotates?

Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Very stylish, very minimalistic, pretty cool design. It's also extremely brutal, I couldn't survive longer than a acouple of seconds, but that's okay, since you restart so quickly.
Dieing from touching a wall or ceiling might be a bit harsh.
Really like the weakspots on the cube concept.

Notester says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:40am

Oi, to be honest, I didn't really like only having one life and dying if you touched the back wall, but if I sound nitpicky, I apologize, it's just something I noticed. Other than that, the game's pretty cool~ c:

ato says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:37am

@tylerdoggone
I thought about player influencing cube too. Actually cube rotation is directly affected by player's actions but it's not communicated in any way to the player. I'm gonna play with the concept after the compo probably.
@stupidmindlessf
@Notester
Looking at the comments I realize that the game is too difficult. It would help if someone other than me would play test it before submitting. To be honest I was working on the difficulty during final hour of the compo. It's something to improve on in the next LD.

Gamechoy says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Control probably wasn't the best button for shooting, considering it exits out of your browser when you press W and can mess up a lot of things. The game eventually got to a point where I would instantly fall to the bottom of the screen and die. With some reworking of the keys I think this could be a great entry.

mooncalf says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:21pm

It's a well designed boss room encounter. Great use of the theme and great execution. Something about the controls didn't mix well with the death walls. I tried many times to stop in time to where I felt I should not hit them, and I just couldn't do it.

A terrific first entry. Can't wait until next time.

ato says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:16pm

@Gamechoy
I changed controls. Haven't thought about ctrl+w combination. Thanks.
@mooncalf
Ah, death walls. I really would like to change them, but I think it would be against the rules. Or wouldn't it?

Thank you both for your opininons.

cushycode says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Quite challenging, but not very catchy for me.
However, I like visual style of this game.

Berbecarul says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:36pm

That cube boss looks intimidating.

antishow says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 12:41am

Great, quick shmup. Way too difficult for me!

ato says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 7:46am

@Berbecarul
I'm sorry if you felt intimidated, but that's the cube boss' job :). I destroyed him a couple of times, maybe that will make you feel better.
@antishow
It seems a little too difficult for me too (although the game is finishable). I'd lower the difficulty if I could.

Testlab says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 10:17am

Cool boss idea, liked it a lot!
Only thing i would change is instantly dying to a shot. Was a bit frustrating after a while.

ionprodan says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 10:51am

Wow! One of my favorite LD37 game!

ato says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 12:17pm

@Testlab
I see that it can be frustrating. I'll experiment some more with difficulty in post-jam version.
@ionprodan
Thanks. I am happy with the result.

JesseyCool says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Cool game! I think it get's pretty boring after a fun runs though... Like it! Good job.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:39pm

Practically beat the game by holding fire and staying still :( the cube needs a few more different firing patterns.

Otherwise, nice aesthetic and cool death animation :)

ato says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 5:29pm

@JesseyCool, @Almax27
I see how it could get boring :). I really wanted to add more firing patterns. I just didn't make it in time (poor time management, lesson learnt for next LD). With other firing patterns, which I tested, it was much more difficult, so I left my initial patterns. That's why there's not much variety in attacks.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 1:17pm

Interesting game mechanic =)
Cube animation is simple and looks very good.
Didn't like weird bleeding effect and projectiles, though :)

Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:57am

Sleek! But super-hard. Bullet-hell is a bit much for me. I can only ever avoid one volley.

Dec 22, 2016 @ 9:32pm

That was a lot of fun.I was actually pretty terrible at it until I read other people's comments that it's boring if you stay still. :) Now I'm a PRO!

ato says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 9:44pm

@SimonHutchinson
I don't like bullet hell either. I should've worked on bullet patterns earlier instead of testing them in last hour. Only one side of the cube has really hard firing pattern but it can be destroyed earlier by accident, and I guess most people didn't even see the hardest side of the cube :).

@Captain Awesome
Yes, it's not that hard. If I'll ever work on post-jam version, I'll try some ideas which would spice up the game, and practically block possibility of "stay-in-place" technique, heh.

edve98 says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 4:25pm

Insta death is too frustrating for me :c

ema1ih says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 9:44am

It is hard, but i find it addictive. I like the animations :3

Dec 26, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Good stuff! Really hard though. It would've been nice if the walls didn't kill you and the cube fired a little less often, because that made it very very difficult. Cool sound effects and an interesting aesthetic. Nice job!

mirta000 says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 5:22pm

really liked the mechanics of it, kind of difficult on just one life point though.

ato says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 6:31pm

@edve98
I'll try adding some kind of hp to the player ship in post jam version.
@ema1ih
I am happy with how the animations ended up, too.
@Cole and Jordan Studios, @mirta000
I'll experiment with the difficulty in post jam version.

Zgragselus says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 7:16pm

Nice and quick game. I'm perfectly noob for this genre, so I didnt beat him, and had hard time surviving for just few seconds.

The death walls are making it even harder, but generally the idea is funny. I had my few minutes of fun and that counts.

Audio-visually it is really matching, I like it.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 8:28pm

Pretty nice. I think I really didn't like the fact that the edges of the room would kill you. And there was one (rare) bullet pattern that I couldn't dodge no matter what (when three red dots started shooting a wide fan of bullets at the same time) – I'm not sure what the hitbox of the ship is like, and it's even harder with slightly floaty controls.

But the enemy design was pretty clever, the random (I assume) rotations seemed quite intentional at times. The graphics are pretty simple, but they work well enough (although the blood seems a bit too … thin? I would either go for a more blobby look, or no blood at all). And the sounds were okay.

Well done!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 8:56pm

The cube boss concept is really good, that's just such a great idea! I like the bullet hell gameplay even though I was kinda bad at it. Good work!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Really nice looking game. I love the look of the cube boss. The difficulty was a bit high for me, though it got a lot better when I realized I was killing myself on the walls a lot rather than getting hit by bullets.

MrTroy says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 11:00pm

I haven't finished this yet, but I've been playing for at least a half an hour. This game is awesome.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 12:06am

Nice idea and solid execution, with clean and simple visuals. I really like 2D shooters, and yours was well implemented. Great job!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 1:43am

I like the visual style. Some critical opinion, I feel the control not very smooth. Did you add some acceleration or somewhat? Don't do that in a shooting game.

Green Soda says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 8:30am

Awesome game! I found it really hard though. It would've been nice if the you could destroy enemy bullets too, because it's hard especially when you're just 1 hit. Cool sound effects and beautiful mood and graphics. Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]