Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Disco Vampire

by MixBulfreak - Jam Entry

[!!! Go play on itch.io (Web and Windows links below) if you have troubles with fullscreen !!!]

A vampire stuck on a disco dancefloor, blazing spotlights incomiiing !

- Use 'V' key to dash through the lights

- Use the space bar to teleport to the other side

This is a ryhtmic game, put the sound on ! Done ? Fantastic !


@I208iN - Illustrations / Programming
@Glugludor - Sound Design / Level Design

@MixBulfreak - Programming / Level Design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#27Audio(Jam)4.20
#219Graphics(Jam)4.00
#264Innovation(Jam)3.44
#293Overall(Jam)3.56
#378Fun(Jam)3.25
#614Theme(Jam)3.25
#1655Coolness14%

Comments

iossif says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:51am

uuuh this one is pretty!

TheMightyTeam says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 8:50pm

The concept is interesting but the difficulty should be better adjusted.

Dec 27, 2016 @ 2:34am

it's a nice looking game and a good concept, but its not really a rhythm game since the lights dont match the music, and it's quite difficult.

graebor says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:41pm

Nice music! I found the hit detection on the light to be pretty unforgiving, there were a few times I dashed through and it visually looked like I cleared it fine but I still died. Pretty difficult to play, but still a good entry :)

Jan 3, 2017 @ 12:18am

Very cool! I love the audio and graphics (and concept)

The game is a pretty challenging, and doesn't seem to reward skillful play sometimes.

Siridakis says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 12:35am

Cool game, really challenging also, couldn't stay alive for over 14.49s
I really liked the audio and light effects!

Maffew says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 12:56am

Good job! Fun game

qzqxq says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:19am

I played for about 10 minutes and got a high score of about 20 seconds. The polish is very good, and I enjoyed the graphics/music/sound effects (the death sound effects were great). The overall flavor of a vampire dancing and trying to avoid disco lights is really funny.

By far, my biggest complaint is that the light hitboxes were frustratingly wide: a lot of times I was sure I rolled through but then I'd die on the very edge of the light. If you made that a little more lenient, I think I would have had a lot more fun. I also feel like there were some light patterns that were almost impossible to dodge, though that might be related to the wide hitboxes.

Overall, this reminds me of the VVVVVV Super Gravitron in a good way. They're both very difficult and have instant death, but the hazards are all telegraphed in advance, forcing the player to dodge the current hazards while preparing for future ones at the same time. I very much enjoy these types of games, and I similarly had a good amount of fun with this (though, again, I would have had a lot more fun if I felt that my deaths were "fair", as opposed to "you mistimed your roll by a few pixels"). Overall, I love the core mechanics here, and I think this has the potential to be a great arcade-style game. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]