Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Let them in

by Wildebeest Studio - Jam Entry

You always want to have a party with some friends in the forest? Yeah? Let's get the party Start now!!!!!!!!!!!

S, D, J, K on your keyboard when your friend is next to the door!!!
And if you want to stop while playing the level, press Escape on your keyboard to return to the menu.

Mouse left click to select button from the menu.

Now show us your skill and DANCE!!!

You can let everybody in to score.

Play on the shiny one graphic mode.

Know bugs: - Some users may have trouble and everybody get in there *wink* but you don't push any button ...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#34Audio(Jam)4.13
#64Graphics(Jam)4.43
#210Mood(Jam)3.68
#312Overall(Jam)3.54
#354Humor(Jam)2.86
#408Fun(Jam)3.20
#410Innovation(Jam)3.17
#554Theme(Jam)3.39

Comments

Tilemapping says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:43pm

Holy moly this is D A N K

The music and visuals are stunning

SkyWolf says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:17pm

I absolutely love this art style. I'm in love.

Pajama-Llama says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:34pm

Really cool visuals and audio! Love it :)
Could use some more feedback on when the door opens maybe.
I also assumed the guys with the daggers should't be allowed to enter? But not sure since there's no losing state.

Hamichi Lim says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Cool Music and Graphic~

TeamSemiColon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:46pm

Amazing music, great art. I don't know whether I should be letting the animals or the humans in. Or both? Also there seems to be no drawback to spamming the buttons instead of tactically pressing them at the right time

Devastus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:26pm

So shiny!

Maybe some key re-binding possibilities would be nice here. But very nice job!

HoraceRIBOUT says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:06pm

No very clear about how to score, but a really great DA and atmosphere !

topatisen says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:08pm

Interesting "game", did not understand completely on how to get a higher score or to how to lose though, but the visuals are amazing and the music fits good with the gameplay. Great job!

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:18pm

I like your lowpoly design :)

Firellon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:21pm

Nice graphics, though the gameplay could be a little bit more user-friendly
Atmosphere, too.

kptemre says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Just a little bit direction to player would make this game perfect .. Yet it is wonderful now :D A little bit aimless but wonderful.

patrickgh3 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Great art, memorable atmosphere with the colored lights and variety of partygoers. Gameplay was simple, but fun.

oyoh says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:29pm

Damn dude, one of the best game i've played in this jam so far ! Everything is fantastic, the DA, the gameplay, the music ! Nice job

bes_kurales says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:29pm

Great! why bears fly out and don`t take part in party?:(

raconteurnick says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:31pm

Fantastic graphics and art style! I agree with another reviewer who said more feedback when a door was open would be good - additionally, it's a little easy to just hold down SDJK and release them occasionally. Excellent work overall and again, really impressive visuals!

Aun says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Very good game with nice graphics. You can also play alone so it is cool. It looks like guitar hero but with animals. Maybe you could give some feedback when you click but miss and print the live score.
Btw, I wonder what is happening inside...

peredm says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:36pm

It was extremely laggy for me I don't know why. I didn't quite understand the game but everything else, the music, sound and art, are amazing! Good job

Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:41pm

Really nice art and atmosphere !!!

I didn't understood well the concept though, since whatever I did, all animals where going through the room except big bears, it wasn't really clear to me.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:41pm

Thanks for the reviews and comments. the bear doesn't get the party because you don't let it in XD. Sorry for the key binding and no clearness of the control and how to score. You just need to push the right button on your keyboard when someone is on the red spot. If you get a good timing, you probably get a perfect and the house group. I don't know if you can put a screen shot of your score here. But if you want to share with us your score puts it just in your comment.
Love you.
WildBear <3

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Greeeeeat game. Definitely will keep playing.
Congratulations

popogames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:46pm

I Like the style and the overall theme. And once you've played it for a bit you can get into a grove which is really neat. What i'm missing (personally) is some kind of way to keep track of how well you are doing, something of a score/meter/way to fail the game. Also because this game relies on your peripheral vision if a lot of animals show up a way to quickly see in what lane the closest thing is would be a great help once the game really takes on speed. Overall a stunning game and a fun take on the theme.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:50pm

If someone have "the everybody get in there" bugs can you give me your computer config?

SleepyStudios says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Really cool aesthetics but could do with some sort of state system like win/loss etc

Wolar says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Funny and catchy

ondrej.paska says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Great visuals and sound, quite confusing controls and no tutorial.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Thanks for the feedback. We working on some in game feedback like score when you get a nice or a perfect ect, and minor bug correction.
Version 1.1 incoming...

WildBear <3

Yvanor says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Goods visuals and sound effects ! But looks like I suck at this game x) Nice job !

Aless says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Awesome, there is great stuff here !!!!
Everybody should try it this one !

GCPD

Benstar says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Really loved the game. The idea is really neat, graphics are great and the music is fantastic. Well made game :D

Almax27 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:29pm

haha great take on the theme! Unfortunately I was able to just mash buttons to win. The game should punish the player for pressing a button when there's nothing near the door. Perhaps reducing their score. Speaking of which, it would also be cool to see the score while you play.

Cons aside, visually this game was epic, the music fit the style well and it was just fun to look at :D

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Great music and art, but no idea what I'm doing :D

mooncalf says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Great job. TBH I played for awhile and didn't lose and really wasn't sure at times if it was working ... but it was still fun! That is a huge indicator of quality imo.

Extremely well done.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Indeed +30 for a perfect one, +15 for a nice one and -5 for a fail.

Roffe71 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Love the visuals!

Sundr0 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:46pm

Really fun game, loved playing it and loved the music and art style! Well played guys ! (Bisous Yann :p)

Diplodino says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:12pm

love

Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:40am

Great aesthetics, but the gameplay falls short. I'm not sure what my objective is, if I'm playing correctly or even how score is measured. For the most part, it doesn't really feel as if my button presses matter at all.

xbcw says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:03am

I liked it! Nice rhythmn game

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:41am

Awesome Music and interesting graphic.
How many people created that game?

Thanks!

Pixtopher says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:09am

Very pretty game! I did want the animals to enter the house more in time with the music however.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:04am

Great idea, I was immediately interested once the game started. Even rhythm gamewise it was fairly unique in how you had to parse the different parts of the screen. I wasn't entirely sure how long the song would go, one fun thing you could add is a visual to show how close you are, like the sides of the walls get pushed out as it gets filled, or you can see silhouettes of the party in the windows.

bigpan says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:56am

3105pts 82%, guess I did fine, hahah. I'm a musician so this game is 5/5 :) great concept and well done!

Stylo21 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:37am

Visuals are great, very interesting concept.

Albert Viader says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:13am

Very good game with amazing visuals and graphics, but is too much difficult for me xD

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:43pm

Wow! The visuals and the general polish of that game are over the roof! For me it wasn't that clear if every animal was my friend or only the humans, I was letting everyone in hahahah. Keep up the good work!

Zhorky says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:22pm

We really liked the visuals and the music.

Awpteamoose says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Visuals are great.

Stending says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:21pm

The visual are georgous, everything is so beautifull, the light effect are stunning, and the audio work really well with the atmosphere, amazing job, i love everything about this game

saurterrs says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:56pm

That was just fantastic. Awesome art, music and gameplay.
10 flying away bears of 10 x)))

badabooom63 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Rather funny and psychedelic, but it feels some lack of usabilty ingame

Cole Chittim says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:15pm

I never thought I'd find the desire to let so many wild animals into my house XD Really great little rythm game. I found it would sometime let one animal in and one not even when I press the buttons at the same time but besides little glitches like that, great submission!

Kirthos says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:31pm

The game just run with something like 2 fps on my bad computer. I can't play.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:15pm

This was so so much fun. It looks and sounds amazing, I had a difficult time stopping :P

DoubtfulGames says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:13am

Really pretty, but it doesn't give me much of a sense of progression. I quit because I couldn't tell if I was making any progress. Really neat looking though!

JK5000 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Great music and visuals.

akai_0okami says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Really good graphics and audio, overall a good game.

Broxxar says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:28am

Very impressive! Rhythm games are not usually tackled in a jam so that alone was quite the feat. Really well done :)

fufi says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Nice entry! I really like audio and graphics. Gameplay is simple yet effective. I wish I could see my score in game whereas at the end. Anyway, good job ;)

Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Hey, I liked your game it was actually fun.
You can improve the audio and the graphics at some point but overall not bad!
And please go and try out my game!

Cerberus says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 11:00pm

i really liked the game. it is very unique in its mechanics. very colorfull. loved the music.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 7:37am

Very smooth production.

I found it hard to play (some lag maybe?), and also it's not clear what to let in and what not.

However, a very nice entry.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Really nice aesthetics and music.
The concept is not really original but it fits the theme perfectly.

What I missed the most is some feedback on the inputs and scoring. Besides, it gets boring quite fast and I guess you could use some combo mechanics to spice it up a bit.

Nice entry overall!

Doomdad says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 8:28pm

Top notch audio and graphics!

Palarus says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 3:44pm

Great aesthetics! Pretty funny playing with a friend! Also great music :) Good job!

Coomzy says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Visuals and Audio were amazing for a 3 day jam, very nice. Didn't really know when I was score or felt like I was in control.

Thijs Tak says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 7:29am

Very nice entry. Loved the style and mood. Can be quite hard though with all the animals running at the house.
Again, exelent entry.

PolygonTeam says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 10:12pm

very cool art! i love it!!! Fun game, guys!

Minato4th says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 8:31am

Great! A specialy I liked art

Karai17 says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 12:38am

Fun with pretty good visuals and sound. Timing seems slightly off if you ask me. :P Not sure I understand score...

xesenix says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 1:08am

Nice graphic and soundtrack but lack of game play i did not see difference in not trying to let them in and trying i see you have some top scores but i didn't save any feedback on my own score while playing.

Zambini says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 8:46am

Amazing jam! The graphics were super fun :) The interpretation of the theme was killer. My biggest challenge was that while the name of the game made it clear what I was supposed to do, but I couldn't tell until I intentionally started doing nothing which was the success state and which was the fail state. I still really got into the rhythm game aspect, though. Well done

Green Soda says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 1:34am

Nice paper-poly 3D graphics! I am a fan of paper-poly graphics and this is good!
I like how you made a rhythm game out of the theme, good job!
REALLY FUNNY! HHAHAHA

banana4life says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 11:57pm

I love the music and the graphics but the game doesn't motivate you to play it more than once.

kato9 says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Really cool graphics (especially that title animation wow!), but the gameplay is very hard to decipher. Like am I supposed to let everyone in and why is the timing of the button press seem so hard to nail down? But still really solid effort!

Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:36pm

Beautiful! Absolutely beautiful and the music was great. I'm not sure if the creatures were synced to the best or not, but it was hard to get a good rhythm.
Only other minor complaint is that it was a bit hard to tell exactly when I was supposed to hit the buttons. It seemed like I should press them right as the creature crosses the button on the ground, but that was frequently a little bit late.

Great entry though overall, high marks!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]