Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

SpaceBeaver

by OWC - Jam Entry

Control:

‘A’ & ‘D’ – move
Left Mouse – shoot
Wheel Down|Up or 1, 2, 3, 4 – choose a weapon
Q, W, E, R – use ability

Abilities:

Rocket Jump
Lead the sight in the right direction and push ‘Q’ to fly to the other side and show to evil, what's what!

Tail Strike
Press ‘W’ to do a melee attack and kick some enemy ass!

Rebound-bullets
Press ‘E’ and shoot at the walls! You will see that mistakes are not always bad things!

Slo-mo
Press ‘R’ if you think that the enemies are moving too fast!

UPD №1 (17.12.16 / 12.17.16):
We fixed the balance! Now it became easier to play.
We fixed control! Now it became more convenient to play.
We fixed introductory screen, so you can skip it now (but you shouldn’t).
We fixed sounds, because you’ve not heard the shots!
We made restart button, so you don’t need restart the game to restart the level.

------------
Made by One Wing Cicada(https://twitter.com/one_wing_cicada).

We are grateful to the LITTLE ROBOT SOUND FACTORY (http://www.littlerobotsoundfactory.com/) for a music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#74Overall(Jam)3.98
#98Graphics(Jam)4.34
#154Fun(Jam)3.67
#206Humor(Jam)3.27
#218Theme(Jam)3.93
#225Innovation(Jam)3.53
#296Mood(Jam)3.54

Comments

dx0ne says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:46pm

One of the best. Little too hard so could you some balance tweaking. Amazing you squeezed so much in such little time. Congrats!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:46pm

Oh and put it on itch.io please. Especcialy I you are going to do post LD update.

OWC says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:34pm

dx0ne, thanks for your comment. Yes, we didn't make good balance, bit right now are working on it.

Kurakurt says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Nice game and beautiful art! But controls not comfortable.

Leon Möhring says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:35pm

great game, cool music, awesome artstyle! (the intro is very cool too), but I would like to have the abilities on qwer instead of having to scroll through them

homeworld says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Very hard, and i really wanted to be able to hop-jump over individual enemies, but so many mechanics! Amazing visuals too, for those who are wondering, you can see more of their artist's work here: https://www.behance.net/CobraLad

Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Very well done. The controls were tricky to get used to, and combined with the game's difficulty, I didn't get very far, but there's definitely a lot of gameplay value in there.

drakekin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Very hard, but also very fun. Wasn't sure what the abilities do, some help text wouldn't go unnoticed. Also, would suggest having the game rotate instead of the character.

leondryaso says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:18pm

The art was awesome, but the game seemed a bit too hard. It's also a shame that there were no sounds other than the music. Great game overall!

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Music in the game function adds stress and a desire to kill them all.Ave Ceasar

c4m says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:37pm

very creative game!.... The controls are kinda tricky, and the balance of the game need to be adjusted. Good job on the graphics and features of the game!!

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:01pm

Really cool game! Love the graphics and the gameplay is super awesome too. Would be nicer with some sweet gun-shooty sound effects but at least there's some great music! Keep up the good work!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:03pm

What a fantastic artwork... I love Space-Beaver! Cool gameplay... great sound... best in gfx so far! Good job!

Devastus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Nice graphics, a lot of content value here with some trickier controls though, changing between weapons and abilities both by basically scrolling up and down makes the game even harder than what it is with it's balancing. A very good entry none the less!

OWC says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Thank you, guys! We're working on a balance. We'll fix it in a couple of days! ;)

Fuad says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:32am

Very cool idea of fighting inside asteroid.

I think that some collision between beaver and enemies will give gameplay a little less chaos, but maybe chaos was designed :)

Go space beaver!

KadaDev says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:05am

Was difficult to tell what's happening with abilities, but looks great + fun!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:10am

Awesome Game got hard quick, balance is for the weak :) the controls took a minute to get use to but are reactive and good once you get them down. Thanks

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:21am

That was pretty fun. I love the humor. It controls a little weird, but once you get used to it it's incredibly fun. I like the extra weapons and abilities. :) Good work!

Sublustris says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:21pm

Nice visuals! 5 for GFX.

elmoGames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:44pm

Only the controls are a bit wierd. You should view them at all time but wow sound, graphics and the idea are so neat

skorpyo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:47pm

wow, that pixel art.. i'm in love

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Nicely Done!

Firellon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Art is cool, music is ok, but it's way too hard. Also, there's death spiral if you are not fast enough to kill the aliens, as the game gives you no room no breath.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Good graphics, cool music. I wish there were some pickable gun upgrades.

piller.yann says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Very fun game, I like this type of game ! The controls aren't ergonomic and I want more FX sound .

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:22pm

A good game with a great work on the aesthetic. However, the controls seem to me too weird and I struggled hard to play correctly. I had fun playing it. The hero is cute. Well done ++

TitoMakaniJr says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:26am

Great job with the game guys! I really love general movement and the animations look great! I agree that the controls were a little hard to get used to though.

Stylo21 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:30pm

That was hard, but very cool art style.

kleinzach says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Great artwork, and it plays well also! Switching between abilities was a little cumbersome, especially when it gets tense.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Nice to see some juice going, liked the pixel art style. Too bad you guys couldn't get some Sound FX in, would have made it even better!

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:37pm

Great game. The art is amazing. My suggestions: Bullets could go a bit farther, and lots of screenshake makes guns feel good. Well done this LD. :D

Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:46pm

Great design, loved the scenery. Gameplay was fun but a bit hard to master with all those possible switch (weapons, ability). All in all, great entry !

Just missing some sound effects. ;)

gontzalve says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:46pm

I like your idea alot but maybe making this more simpler without abilities and lowering enemies hp, might balance the feel of your game. Good and funny game though!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:49pm

Beatiful graphics and music. I really would like the space background moving, I think it would makes the visual more interesting, anyway, a lot of powers and guns makes the game cooler to play, but the difficult starts too high, if the game starts slower it would be nice.

I enjoyed your game, Well made :)

HotByteDog says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:09am

Great combination of sticking to the theme and a really innovative game mechanic.
The pixel art style is an eye catcher.
For my taste this kind of cool arcade setting should not be controlled with mouse but with the arrow keys.
Mouse is combined with keys is too imprecise.
Make it faster + less health for the enemies + more enemies + more damage done by player. And every intermediate screen should be able to be clicked away at once.
After all one of the best arcade concepts here so far!

GriloGordo says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:47am

Very nice concept. The screen could be bigger. If polished it could be a very nice game. :D I missed faster weapons, but it could be improved. ^^ If possible, put some skip button (after loosing, before starting)...

Ithildin says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:17am

It was a bit challenging to get the hang of the controls and the circular movement. Also, W/S made for a strange combination to toggle abilities, maybe the numeric keys might have worked better.

Despite this, the visuals are awesome, the concept is cool, too, and there's quite an impressive and polished amount of content for 72h, so congratulations!! :)

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:03am

Enemies was tough, but I've enjoyed every aspect of being Space Beaver :)
Nice job!

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:41am

Loved the little intro, the fun premise, the circular room mechanic. Controls are the trickiest part - there's lots of cool abilities and weapons, and remembering how to switch between them is tricky.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:44am

Slick presentation and interface. Didn't have the confidence to pull off rocket jump > tail strike combos with the control scheme, but what can you do :)

Greek85 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:05am

oh! Nice! And it's also online! Can I find it on indiexpo? I'm making videos about the games of this Jam, but only about the games hosted also on indiexpo.net! Tell me if you will add it, so I can include it in my next video ;)

OWC says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:45pm

Greek85, No, but we can unpload build in few days.

ato says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Really nice graphics. I liked the intro. Gameplay for me is difficult, but I assume that if you had more time, then it would be more balanced. Overall it looks really good, I like the fast gameplay too.

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:28pm

Pretty solid entry. The graphics are beautiful. Good job.

mooncalf says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:26am

Everything is great but the controls! Like ... really great. I'd kind of like to be able to use mouse wheel to scroll guns - that was a lot of buttons and each of them did something deadly and awesome.

Well done.

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:14am

Very nice game! Graphics are really cute. The control were a bit hard though. Using the wheel or the 1,2,3,4 to change weapon is hard to me, considering there are also some abilities on Q,w,e,r.....

But still, I though it was a very good game! Really polished.

gironC says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:35am

Great entry! love the graphics! :D

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:03am

Nice entry. The control is a bit weird, but the art work is perfect in a jam.

torcado says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:04am

really cool game, lots of content! Maybe a little too 'in your face' all at once when you start though, like maybe let the abilities and weapons be collectible/upgrades?
either way, nice job!

jakebooyah says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:23am

Great job! It's well polished tho it could be boring after a while.

erik says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:37am

One of the best I've played so far, particularly in terms of polish and art. Is it winable? The thing I think it needs the most is some sense of progress and change.

DOXM says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:21am

The music is great :)

wowa_u says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:54am

Cool idea and very well done :)

Sawtan says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:03am

Solid gameplay, solid graphics, maybe a bit to easy with to little variation, I think you could down the health stats some to make it a bit more interesting, or up the enemycount earlier! A solid entry! Good job!

coborax says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:07pm

Awesome game, great job!

aemiliu5 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Beautiful art! Unfortunately most of the time I couldn't tell what was happening due to the clunky controls and absence of a few sounds :(

Dejvo says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:17pm

really nicely done. I just wish I knew what I was doing

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:26pm

The art is awesome. The only complain is that with a lot of ground enemies it's difficult to see the character. Overall, one of the best entries I've played so far. Keep up the good work!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:50pm

I played the version on the ludum dare site so not sure if it was updated or not, that's the one I rated. Graphics were very impressive the background I liked especially. Sound of the weapons was good. Gameplay, yeah was a bit hard but I still enjoyed playing it, it wasn't a frustrating game. Only thing I thought was needed was better range on the machine guns and faster rate of fire on the pistol(might have all been fixed already in post jam build havent played it yet).

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Gorgeous pixel art and design. I loved the idea of the circular level layout.

I wish the difficulty ramp was a little slower to be able to get a grip on the controls and what the specials do. Sound effects an somewhat faster fire rate would also help.

Besides that, a very neat entry.

fafastudio says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:41pm

Very nice entry! Feel polished, graphics are beautiful. Some problems with sounds but not anoying

Sorak86 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:07am

Veeery nice, probably the best I played so far, gj!
Although it was way too easy, tbh, too bad I din't get to play it when it was harder :P

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:14am

Very nice entry! Nice scene transition animations and cool ability mechanics!

Joshsimard says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:33am

My favorite game I tried (so far)! I found it easy abusing the ricochet bullets for a few minutes, until I ran out of ammo and had to sit there and die haha. Music and sound effects were on point. Introduction of the beaver was cute. All in all, a great game! I'd love to see this played out in levels, or some way of progress, if you are working on it in the future.

donvermo says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:58am

Awesome entry, after figuring out the controls I quickly realised that the bouncing bullet skill was super powerful when combined with stronger weapons making screen learning perhaps a tad too easy. My only suggestions are adding sounds for pickups (when you collect them) and what would be cool is the stage itself rotating (so you also need to keep track of where the dam is).

fufi says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:59pm

Excellent entry! Concept is simple yet effective! I wish there is a score panel, but appart from that, everything is good! Well done ;)

Holofire says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 11:23pm

Super satisfying, great sense of weight with the gun fires. Initially struggled with controls and playing the game, but once I figured it out I was a god and could probably sit and kill things for hours. I played this far longer than I needed too, just so satisfying!
Graphically looks amazing, could probably use a colour change on the spawn animation, blends in just a little too much especially when enemies spawn on top of your character.
Bouncing bullets seem a tad overpowered. able to wreck an entire room with one click if angled right. though, this is super satisfying!
Great game, love the little story, really adds charm.

-Comment on behalf of MrDinosaur. (http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/mrdinosaur/)

onixowl says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:55am

Lots of stars for this one! Really liked it. Would really hope with will have some post LD life

SandBloom says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 9:51am

Congratulations! It's a really funny game! We can't say any more...

Good Job!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 12:04pm

Great entry!
One of the best games so far for me.
I love the art, the catchy music and the smooth gameplay!
Well done!

cicanci says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:55pm

Nice game! The pixel art is amazing!

makhovykh says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Awesome!

Junber says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 8:12pm

That was pretty fun. The number of abilities/weapons you managed to make in the short amount of time is impressive and so big in fact that it was a bit overwhelming at first. The difficulty curve felt pretty uneven too (I played the web version here on the site which I think is the post-LD version). Apart from that a really nice game with great graphics. Good job.

Chaoslab says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Reminded me of the old arcade game Gyrus. Nice pixel Art.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Great execution! It seems that balancing has been done to make it easier, but in my opinion the difficulty is the biggest problem. The game's great, but enemies are so slow and nonthreatening that there's no tension. Awesome game nevertheless, lots of fun.

barkergames says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 12:49am

Honestly I felt a little bored. I think it was because it wasn't that difficult. If it was a bit harder it would have been much more interesting, for me at least.
Great work!

Logicon says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:01am

Great game. Found it a little too easy once I figured out all the abilities but definitely one of the best up here.

ValiaP says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 12:35pm

Cool! Really awesome pixel art and fun game play. Well done!

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Awesome entry. Art looks phenomenal. Individual actions could use a lot of polish and feedback, but there are a lot of them and the overall package is amazing. I really liked the intro and character art in particular.

I wasn't immediately clear that the dam at the bottom was the defensive goal, despite the instructions at the beginning. I was a little overwhelmed by the circular room and figuring out the controls to pick it out from the rest of the scenery which it sort of blends into.

Karai17 says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 12:53am

Fun game, I liked you could teleport around and that it was a round room and who doesn't like pace beavers?! Good job on graphics and misic.

saucygames says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 7:28am

Beavers are cool! noice game! ;D

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 7:24pm

One of the strongest entries I've seen so far. Everything is smooth and well thought (even that "jump" mechanic). Visuals are also awesome :)
Very well played!

Palarus says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 10:34am

Great game!! Easy to understand hard to master, but once you do it 'kind of' the game becomes easy, maybe harder waves o different levels make it more complete. Good work!

SUNFURY says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 11:31am

I felt too OP ^-^'
the amount of work you've put into this is really appreciated!
graphics and sounds are beatiful~

TurboCorp says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 11:40am

Really cool idea! love the ammount of abilities & weapons you got in, too. With a little sense of progression and some balancing this could be a really great game!

Moving left and right when on the top of the screen and sides is kind of weird, but oh well.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 1:39am

Arg ! The non-relative controls makes me make mistakes. Not sur the Relative controls would have been better, thought.

Had fun, however. Nice polish !

Tortoise says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 6:38am

awesome game, loved the art, audio, and concept. controls were a bit hard with everything being on one side

Minato4th says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 11:41am

It very good and inovative Idea in shooters, good job!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 5:20pm

Pretty solid entry and I like how the player has access to a lot of different weapons and abilities (which however is a bit of an overall). I think the game art should be drawn a bit bigger as a lot of the time I found the player character to be very tiny.

Tkachov says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 7:45am

Very good! Played post-LD version and actually thought it's pretty easy, even though I wasn't using anything but the pistol. Then I remembered there are weapons and it become even easier. Bouncing bullets are uberskill, too easy to deal with everyone - I didn't really used the other abilities.

Played it over 10 minutes, it's fun, but I think it could be even better if there would be some goal in the game. For example, make it a platformer and place such circular arena in the end of each level (or even make all levels circular, but larger - may be without jumping, but some ladders to move through vertical levels). These arenas could be not only for defending something for some time, but also a boss fight, etc. I think that could be an awesome game to play (and for you to sell) - because the graphics and gameplay of this one is really polished.

Dec 29, 2016 @ 7:19pm

This game is very beautiful and the space beaver is adorable <3

Dec 31, 2016 @ 12:29am

Really good stuff! Graphics were all really nice and remind me of the games I played when I was really young. Game was fun and I found myself strategizing and learning new techniques. Well done!

jlcarruda says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 6:28pm

I really Enjoyed the game. It was a little hard for me. Arts are cool, as well as the Theme! Nice game :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]