Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Sygnal

by Intelli-Gents - Jam Entry

THIS GAME REQUIRES TWO PLAYERS.
The objective is only revealed when another player enters your room.

"You have made contact with a new form of intelligent life but communication is difficult. Use the tools at your disposal to learn about them. Are they hostile? What do they want/need?"


NOTE 2: Enter a keyword into box on the right and it will display an image each time you press enter. You may have to press enter more than once

This is a game about language and communication. The alien is assigned a specific purpose and the human is tasked with discovering that purpose. The catch is that you two are speaking two different languages (even if both players are typing in english, their languages will be obscured) Type 'end communication' when you think you've figured out the puzzle and you will be asked questions to ensure that you truly solved it.

Each player must visit the page http://qt.wtf and join the same room to start the game.

This was created by OnlySlightly and Michael Delfino

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#66Innovation(Jam)4.00
#376Overall(Jam)3.43
#386Theme(Jam)3.68
#488Fun(Jam)3.07
#596Mood(Jam)3.04

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:22am

Cool interpretation of the theme!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:51am

interesting game, though i didnt have a second player to get the full experience. so i didnt score it.

kd7uiy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:52am

Very interesting idea. It's hard to find other players for it, but I had a decent sense for it, it's pretty neat looking.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:38am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:59am

Couldn't get a connection :(

Dogeveloper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:20am

Very interesting concept!

fafastudio says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 3:05am

Nice take on the theme !
I played with my little brother, and we finally, without talking, came to the conclusion we needed to give the alphabet to the other
Once this was done, we were able to communicate not without efforts, but this was a pretty cool experience ! :)

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 6:58am

Nice concept.It's hard to get connected though.

Vadim Ivshin says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 9:52am

Great concept. BTW I managed to play alone in different windows. Thanks for this entry, it looks fresh and distinguished.

MrErdalUral says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:17pm

It was interesting only for a few seconds. It feels this game could improve with an objective or a puzzle.

Intelli-Gents says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 11:23pm

@MrErdalUral :( I'm afraid you missed the actual game. There's an explicit objective and win state. And the entire game is a puzzle. The alien is assigned a mission, and the human must discover it's purpose. After ending the game you are asked questions and if the answers are correct you win! The puzzle is figuring out together how to communicate despite how different each other's language is.

rburema says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 12:28pm

Brilliant! No one else here to play with currently, so I played both the 'Chrome' and 'Explorer' aliens (to pick two completely random names)... ;-)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 11:34pm

It was strangely buggy when me and my friend tested it (and for some reason it kept locking our browsers up a lot) but the concept itself was pretty unique and interesting.

Zener says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 2:09pm

Wonderful idea!! I was able to play with the two windows trick

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: using cached page]