Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

AmmoRoom

by HazmatPajama - Jam Entry

AmmoRoom is a 2d, top-down, shoot-em-up, bullet hell game. The objective is to kill 1000 enemies.

In AmmoRoom, your ammo is also your life, so don't run out. You can pick up ammo upgrades that drop from special enemy types. Max out the upgrades and spend ammo judiciously to make it to the end.

This is the first game that I have completed. I worked from Saturday at noon to Sunday night. I used GameMaker Studio 2 Beta. I would love to spend another weekend making some more adjustments, but I am pretty happy how it came out.

Edit: Thanks for all the comments and feedback! I updated the game to fix the bug people mentioned about getting stuck at the edge. When I find another free weekend I hope to flesh out the game with more features including controller support, full-screen mode, menu & victory screens, better enemy pathfinding, and maybe even a boss.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1798Coolness0%

Comments

Kris with a K says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:36am

I like the style, but twice I got stuck - once on the bottom edge, and once just above the top. It was fun until then, tho.

kolbjorn says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:38am

Cool! I like the visuals with the nice hit effect and colouring.

I totally blew all my ammo on my first try, but had a short and sweet moment with awesome rapid fire :)

Seemed a little bit hard, but a solid entry!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:47am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:40am

Pretty cool... lots of fun!

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:42am

Cool little game. I enjoyed the core mechanics and the sleek visuals. I would really like to see this more fleshed out. If you have any updates please let me know, I'll be glad to give the game another shot.

Some recommendations from my point of view:
- One life is pretty harsh, especially since it takes a long time to build up your upgrades
- A game like this really comes to life through sound effects. It will take you about half an hour to generate effects in bfxr that will be perfect for your visuals.
- Controller support is really easy to implement in Game Maker and it would make the game so much better.
- You didn't tick the "Windows" box on itch.io, so I can't download the game in the itch downloader which I really like to use.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:54pm

Fun game. Love the concept of bullets being your health. The visuals are super simple, but really consistent - very pretty!

Drury says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:43am

This was pretty cool, I liked being fully upgraded and vomiting bullets everywhere. Bit of a shame though that there's no victory screen.

Diplodino says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Super cool but lacks sound! Why can't we rate this game ?

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]