Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Da Vinci's Revenge

by jaxturnmir - Compo Entry

Jax age 11 made his first game as a game compo. His brother has made games for years, so he wanted to compete this time too. He used Game maker and did everything except the final posting on the internet. Dad helped with the posting on the web.

You are a troll and you are after Leonardo Da Vinci because he killed your family. So go kill him now!
arrow keys and space

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#500Graphics2.53
#526Theme2.94
#564Fun2.38
#583Innovation1.94
#614Overall2.41
#1655Coolness14%

Comments

insane66 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:13am

Good job on your first compo game son!

Fiote/Phanx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:39pm

The link is not working for me. I'll try again later!

wujood says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Link is not working. Will come back later

FlyingBokChoy says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:07am

Link's broken rn.

Prospero says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Would love to try, but link still broken.

Mr.Chippy says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:09pm

The link doesn't work.

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Link still not working!

muriel says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Wops! Link is broken :(

SpyderMoHawK says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Broken link

jaxturnmir says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Link is working!

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Link worked for me :) Congratulations on your first entry, the character was quite charming! :3

Knowledge says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:07pm

OK game for the first time and for your age. There are collision problems, player should be faster, firing left is made wrong...
But you will learn all that with time and I bet your next game will be better.

Bellatrion says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 7:10am

Good game for a first compo ! :)

Dec 22, 2016 @ 2:04am

Decent graphics, especially the knights. On my first playthrough I suddenly won and I did not know why; I hit Da Vinci from far away.

For the controls it would be better to let the arrow keys change velocity, and update the position with that (like the gravity works).

Funny how you used Da Vinci, in the last LD both we and a friend of ours made games themed around Da Vinci :D

http://ludumdare.com/compo/2016/08/29/leonardos-painting-machine/
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-36/?action=preview&uid=18490

Congratulations on your first game, I hope you had fun and will make more in the future!

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 5:26am

Nice game for an 11 year old, you are a genius mate. well done. 5 stars and a smiley face sticker.

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Not bad for being 11 years and first jam entry, but of course there is always ways to improve. Good luck in future jams! ;)

rburema says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Well done!
Wonder what got 'ol Leonardo so worked up he had to go and kill that poor trolls family...

ALobker says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 8:55pm

Welcome to the LD community.

kato9 says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Great work for an 11 year old. Congrats and keep making games!

Levi D. Smith says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 4:42pm

Nice little platformer / shooter game! The troll was really well done!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]