Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

(One) Room for Improvement

by quiv - Jam Entry

====================
(One) Room for Improvement, by Leg Godt Games
====================

This is a game for the Ludum Dare 37, and one of our first actually completed games!

You are a spy infiltrating a state-of-the-art space station, wealthy enough to fund lava transport to outer space and develop non-euclidean, space defying rooms!

Navigate the same one room over and over, but each time you reach the exit, new obstacles and threats are added. Make it to the end as quickly as you can, then go through again and try to beat your best times!

====================
Versions
====================

* NOTE * If the browser version doesn't receive inputs, try clicking on the -dark grey- border around the game viewport, then on the viewport itself. It can take a few tries for it to start recognizing keyboard presses.

Desktop version recommended for smoothness and details. It will also be a bit more stable and friendly towards lower-end systems.

Web version available for your convenience, because we love you <3 If the web version doesn't want to cooperate, please try the desktop one.

====================
Controls
====================

- Left/Right arrows to move
- Z to jump and double-jump
- X to do a quick, horizontal dash
- R to restart the level, only when dead or completed

====================
Goal
====================

- Reach the exit door present in every level
- Choose the most optimal path through the rooms! The top route may be more dangerous, but give you a better time!
- Infinite lives to optimize your movement through the rooms

====================
Developers
====================

Mike Desrochers (quiv)
Arne 'S Jegers (methodrunner)
Programming, Level Design: Arne 'S Jegers, Mike Desrochers
Art, Music, Logo: Arne 'S Jegers
Particles: Mike Desrochers

====================
Tools Used
====================

LibGDX framework + Android Studio
Tiled map editor
SunVox
Paint.NET
Inkscape
Gimp

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#378Fun(Jam)3.25
#380Audio(Jam)3.09
#439Overall(Jam)3.33
#445Mood(Jam)3.27
#550Humor(Jam)2.27
#559Theme(Jam)3.38
#689Graphics(Jam)2.86
#742Innovation(Jam)2.49

Comments

Mennalus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:17am

Did I do something wrong, I couldn't get the arrows to move me. I tried keyboard and keypad. :( Nice music though

akirassasin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:29am

Web version gets laggy at level 5, not sure why.

quiv says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:50am

You did nothing wrong, just that the web version can be more finnicky than desktop, especially when not optimized.

This is also sometimes the case with the random lag spikes on web version.

quiv says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:57am

Lesson learned for the future: focus on optimizing the most commonly viewed platform for your game :P

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:12am

Interesting little game. Good use of the same room over and over. PS The only way I got controls working was by pressing TAB.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:15am

The spikes on the top in lvl 6 don't kill you. But other than using that I couldn't find any other way of beating that lvl.

leondryaso says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:57am

Nice little game :) The web version could be optimized more though. That LibGDX Javascript exports doesn't seem like a good idea :D Also, using Z for jump makes me anxious, especially when using QWERTZ keyboard.

Simple Ghost says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:33am

I enjoyed playing this. It was really challenging and that`s what kept me going :) Only problem was that sometimes the jump key did not react.

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:02pm

Fun little game with potential.
A little more of polish and it golden.
The controls are to tight its hard to move almost gave up on the 3/4 levels (mines)

xclementx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Good little game ! Really fun to play !

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:02pm

As mentioned the web version didn't seem to want to capture my controls so couldn't move. The jar worked fine though. Level 6 seems to repeat. Fun and challenging, well done.

ahmedmohi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:26pm

Nice work , it kinda reminds me of that level again i think you might get some ideas from this game .. but still overall good work (Y)

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Frustratingly cool!

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Argh! I didn't finished level 6...it was too hard, quite frustrating!! Good job!

Per says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:50pm

It was an overall fun game!
Had some initial issues with the input. I was looking for that black outline until I figured out it was actually dark gray :)

Aaranos says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Web version didn't work for me in Chrome or Firefox. All I got was the arrow in the top left that doesn't do anything when pressed. (didn't rate)

Ednei says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:22am

I could not move the character, the commands do not work in the web version, but the music is very good

#gmdsgn says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:50am

Unique style. I dig it.

Giardi says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:28am

Very good game. I really would like to continue playing.

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:58am

Fun web game! The first few level are are little easy, but quickly ramps up. Fast paced and fun to play, I loved hitting them with those super shots. Those warning circles were really helpful in later stages. Great work!

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:29am

Unfortunately could not launch the game, so cannot rate. No idea why browser just lagged :/

Cerberus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:34am

it was a nice concept i just feel the controls could have been a bit better, kinda had a hard time double jumping. good work though.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:42am

Hah, reminds me of the There Is Only One Room flash game with the elephant. One key difference is that you actually allow multiple ways to beat the level here, nice job.

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:55am

yeay i finish all 10 level! nice job.

Ganon says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:13am

Well executed game! Its very polished and feels like it's a full game. Very impressive for only 72 hours. Well done guys! Tip of the beanie to ya and enjoy a sodipop!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:17am

Interesting use of the theme.

Kyrv19 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:59am

It feels to responsive to input, but still playable :D

vcyborg says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:01pm

It was challenging! A little frustrating but fun. Still wasn't clear for me the purpose of the lighted areas.
Definitely play the java version, web version made it almost impossible to double jump for me.

andreshiciano says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:19pm

Was good but a quite difficult but is ok

Maple says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:37pm

You really shouldn't get the player to move their hand away from a particular spot frequently. Pressing R to restart is great when you are actually stuck in an area and can't die, but it really breaks up the game to not have auto-respawn, when death happens so frequently.

Also, I feel like the dash would have benefited from zero gravity for the duration of it -- I couldn't really practically use the dash, because I didn't feel like it got me far enough in the air.

Aside from these things, you did well. I liked the Spy vibe you had going on there, and the variety of enemies and obstacles was nice.

Nice game. Keep it up!

quiv says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Very good points, Maple. I agree with both of those ideas, but they just never occurred to us while making the game. We'll play with them for the future.

And thanks everyone for your feedback! It's great to hear the good and the bad, we're learning so much for how to make things even better for you all while playing :P

GuiGs says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Nice game

NicMagnier says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Got some performance issue which is a shame because I would have liked to play a bit more.

HappySaila says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:46pm

awesome game. More levels please! :)

Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:20pm

I like the mood of the game.
I would like to see some kind of story for why the character is trying to reach the door :)

Cheers,
Morco (Maybe Later team)

Moeilijk says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Fun little game. Nice build-up in difficulty with the mechanics being explained one at a time.

W.GASABF says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Interesting and difficulty is great ! :)

Skosnowich says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:58am

Fun little game. I played the desktop version, because the web version didn't load for me. But I'm more of a friend of desktop versions anyway. :D

I liked the music and the sounds very well, they fit the game. But the music could've looped a little bit better. The introducing of new game elements such as turrets and mines was nice, so nearly every level had something new.

The dash worked well for me. :)

Some minor negative points, I noticed:
- the font is a bit blurry
- if you stand on the ground and dash into spikes without jumping, you don't die
- controls on a QWERTZ-keyboard are weird :)
- you go behind doors
- hitboxes are sometimes a little bit too big

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]