Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Little Sandwich

by NumNumDude - Compo Entry

Guide the sandwich bun as he goes around the kitchen acquiring more food to put on until he become a full sandwich.

Written in C# with XNA.

Programs / Things used:
-Visual Studio
-XNA Game Studio (Library)
-Paint.NET
-Audacity
-sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#109Humor3.27
#226Audio3.07
#264Mood3.20
#314Overall3.27
#331Fun3.13
#344Graphics3.00
#1294Coolness32%

Comments

Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:01am

To be completely honest, I'm not super excited about running an "installer" for a LD game. I think you'd be much better off just giving someone something that they can run from a directory.

Zulunko says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:05am

The fridge levels were practically invisible on my monitor (whitish grey on white), which made it a little annoying to play through that part.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:11am

Does it end rather abruptly in the room after crushing the tomatoes or am I off my bonkers? At any rate, what little there is plays alright, simple but working.

Hamichi Lim says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:13am

I cannot install the game, it shows cannot download the application. The application is missing required file.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:14am

Installed it but when launching it in Windows 10 x64, nothing happens :/

srakowski says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:24am

Cute little story of a sandwich trying to invent himself :). Fun stuff, and kudos for using XNA, I'm pretty fond of it. Pro tip you may want to share so people don;t have to worry about installing.. there is a stand alone executable in this directory: .\Little Sandwich\Little Sandwich\Source Code\LDJAM37\LDJAM37\LDJAM37\bin\x86\Debug. Good job!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:29am

Unfortunately I was unable to install/run on Windows 10 64bit.

NumNumDude says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:27am

I hope the new download will work...

babyjeans says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:50am

Was unable to run the game from the Windows download link. It launches and just recloses.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:11am

Couldn't get it working

Jimbly says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:01am

Stupid oranges. Managed to get to the end and beat the boss. Often died unexpectedly, standing on a ledge, orange moving beneath me, sometimes killed me, sometimes didn't. Couldn't see the text on some levels, looks like my sandwich was saying something off of the top of the screen. It was challenging, but not too challenging, so that balance was pretty good =).

quiv says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:58am

Great work with the level design, it got progressively more challenging and was never too frustrating (maybe there was ONE jump :P) You gave the little sandwich a lot of character with those comments at the start of a level, and showed how you could interact with the enemies.

jerwil says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:03am

It's a cute and surprisingly long adventure to get your sandwich assembled (and then eaten)! It got frustratingly difficult in some areas, but with the right timing it can be beaten.

automatonvx says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:30am

I could run it just by running the exe in the release folder, but i happen to have XNA installed already so probably wouldn't work for others. Pretty fun little game actually. I liked the humour. I wished the jump wasn't so slow, but maybe its a feature, i also hit a glitch when i went from one room to another and ended up stuck in a wall. And yeah maybe use the theme next time :P

Feng says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:58am

Good level design. There is one level too hard if you get the extra piece in previous level, but I finally figured it out. :)

Dec 23, 2016 @ 8:10am

Gameplay is nice and simple, but works. Could use music.

Main problem was in incredibly unfair and frustrating level design. This mostly came in two ways: tight vertical confinement with enemies, making it hard to jump past them (see: level where sandwich says "That was cold!") and places where it was necessary to jump somewhere and then jump away, but jump height was too high.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]