Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

One Room to Freedom

by mianagames - Jam Entry

"I was stuck in jail for 40 years. I just need to cross ONE ROOM to get my freedom. I'm not that young anymore, but I have to try to escape this last time."

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#249Humor(Jam)3.13
#457Audio(Jam)2.83
#521Innovation(Jam)2.98
#604Fun(Jam)2.88
#648Mood(Jam)2.92
#725Theme(Jam)2.96
#742Graphics(Jam)2.67
#743Overall(Jam)2.90

Comments

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Whoa! My left hand hurts! It's a funny game to play, but maybe it's a little bit hard to keep pushing so fast that space if you want to keep trying to get far again and again! Anyways good job!

mianagames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:59pm

This is the intention. Make the player feel tired with the effort as if he really were an old person. Yes, I really think the room got a little long. Thanks for playing!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:07pm

Well, I think I need a new keyboard but... I escaped and with 11 money! ;) Pretty straightforward idea, very well executed, took me 3 tries to reach the end! Didn't quite understand the heart rate though, will I get a stroke if it reaches 100? Perhaps it would be more intuitive with some kind of graphic meter. An indicator of the distance left would be great too! Just a couple of ideas if you make a new revision ;) Congrats!

mianagames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:06pm

Yes, 100 and you die. I thought of a graphic meter and the sound of a beating heart faster. I ran out of time. Thanks for playing!

Cyros says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:00pm

Awesome!! Odd control scheme but I don't care because it was super fun to play!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Good game. At a point i can barely go on on my space bar haha

blaster391 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Got to the end, then got stuck on a box before I could reach it.

I thought it was fun, since I had to adopt the double handed spacebar mash to run fast enough, I had to keep swapping out to steer the poor old guy

kamranwali says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Nice game to play. Wasn't fast enough to keep. Overall gameplay is fun. Keep it up!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Nice game, fun to play. I like the storyline!

Smiley says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:13pm

this reminds me of the old C64 games where you had to jiggle the joystick to run in sport games :)

tompudding says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Neat idea and fits the theme well, though I think the cooldown on the heart rate might be a bit quick, it might add a bit more pressure if it were slower. Great job overall though!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Really liked the gameplay. I think it would feel a little better if the tempo of the game was a little faster but I enjoyed the gameplay of it. Nice work.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:27pm

It was very funny but my arm hurts!!xDDD Nice work!

VILAM says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:28pm

Thanks for my arm bodybuilding ! :)

mianagames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Thanks for playing "amigos"! it's my second game jam and each advice it's super important to me.

davisan says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Cool game!, Very tense! Too many spacebars will be broken (free). haha
Nice!

jramell says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Moving by button mashing is quite an experimental mechanic. You said the intention is to make the player feel tired like an old person would feel, but then I think that:

-40 is not old enough for this purpose. A 40 years old person is not at his peak, but it's not that old; maybe 60 would be better. Or don't focus on the fact that he's old, but that escaping from prison is pretty difficult and you have to run to the limit of your strength to do so.

-The art doesn't match this mood. It is colorful and cartoony, but you're trying to communicate a harsh feeling through mechanics.

When reading my critique, however, keep in mind that I didn't like the game very much. It's not a bad game, but I couldn't get into it. That, of course, is my opinion and not your fault, so try to see which parts of my critique are because of my opinion and which might be true. Good work overall.

mianagames says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:44pm

1. Maybe I did not express myself well. He was 40 years imprisoned. 2. I was not happy with my art either. Your review is valid. Thanks for trying to play.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:57pm

I can imagine this being fun on a phone, good stuff.

Dege says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Daaaaaaaaaaaamn, I made it!I enjoyed it, but that was exhausting. I read that was your intention to make it hard, hard like for a 40yo to escape prison, ahahah, sure you reached your goal. Don't know how possibly you can get to 100 for the hearth attack. Anyway, I'll go buy a new keyboard.

smaganik says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:13pm

Interesting concept, we had same idea at the beginning)

Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Erg. My poor space bar. I like the idea, and the fact that I as the player have to invest some serious effort, but I've got to admit that clicking games aren't my bag. I feel like I'm in a "Resident Evil" QTE.

mianagames says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:16pm

I think at this moment it would be a good idea to open my store of keyboards.

Logicon says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:58am

The space bar mechanic was super iffy, my friend was yelling at me not to break his keyboard. Game was kind of fun.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:28am

I like the idea behind this in that mashing space to run faster could be a fun mechanic. However, I found that it was somewhat inconsistent as to whether my mashing would be registered, and even mashing as hard and fast as I could, I still could barely move at the guards pace at my fastest. As such, the game could be greatly improved by increasing the player's speed.

Protrance says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:38am

Cool idea, but I feel like you have to push the space bar a bit too fast.

mooncalf says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:39am

SO CLOSE TO THE END. XD I am driven to play well, and that's what counts. Breaking out of the room but playing in an enclosed space = one room. Nice job!

Ednei says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:41am

too hard, and the run is too slow, need some balance, but the idea is good, congrats!!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:21am

Oh man, I just can't stop laughing after playing this. The idea is so simple, but it really does do an excellent job making you feel like you're an old guy who can only barely putter around. Love it.

TheFudster says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:22am

Pretty fun! At first I wasn't sure about the heart attack mechanic but it was fine. One of the few games I managed to beat.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Challenging game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/xWdPMmlW1Hs

mianagames says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:18pm

thanks for all the reviews.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:36pm

I thought the "one room" would refer to a prison cell - as in my game :-)

columhiggins says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:34pm

my space bar is mashed but i did not escape.

SUNFURY says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 7:34pm

looooooool,
and he also keep trying to run even after he got shot
poor man D:

Serious Table says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:53am

Really an interesting game! Really was not a fan of the space bar to run idea without getting a couple steps or even some acceleration out of multiple presses, but I understand the premise. Well done!

Tezra says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 2:01am

Spacebar smashing is too intense! I can't make it to the end but still had fun :)

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 7:36am

Really..strange control. Btw I don't think the heart attack is needed - It's hard for me even to keep moving.

Dec 26, 2016 @ 1:49am

the controls is very tough! overall quite funny and interesting idea.

Minato4th says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 10:03am

Spacebar mashing it is very good experiment, but for me it is funny and not good..
Maybe mouse clicking will be better?

Louspirit says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 10:20am

I am tired after spamming so much the space bar :)Nice explosion animation!

Palarus says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 12:02pm

Men my hand!! what you do!!!! It's really interesting but the control at first feels like... 'whoa! tapping like crazy', but at 1 minute it's like... 'I want to stop because it hurts but I don't wanna lose!' Good job!! Nice idea!

mianagames says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 3:35pm

In this first version the speed of the guards became dependent on the frame rate. The better the processor, the higher the speed, making the games more difficult. I'm working on another version with an independent frame rate. Thanks for the reviews!

mianagames says ...
Jan 10, 2017 @ 1:39am

Hi everyone. Last version in https://www.scirra.com/arcade/action-games/one-room-to-freedom-14269

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]