Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Slime Box

by KadaDev - Compo Entry

Dungeon escape, where the room is your weapon.

1. You are a slime in a dungeon.

2. Lazy programmers have prevented you from leaving your assigned room due to bad coding.

3. You dislike dungeons ... so you'll need to find another way out.


Controls:

W,A,S,D - Move

E - Interact

Escape - Leave Game



Scripts and Downloads:
https://kada.itch.io/slime-room
Slime_Room_Scripts.rar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#16Innovation4.22
#83Theme4.15
#118Overall3.68
#176Fun3.49
#254Humor2.70
#282Graphics3.24
#307Mood3.11
#378Audio2.52

Comments

Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:36am

Great puzzle game and great use of the theme!

A little more sound, maybe music, could really help with the mood, though.

Attrition says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:49am

I didn't finish this, but I really adore this concept, really great job here, love it.

slimabob says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:55am

Really cool idea, and fun backstory to explain it all! Wish there was a bit of background music though. Either way, love the art style- and great job on the project!

sichy says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:35am

I didnt finish this but I loved the concept

DemiPixel says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:41am

Definetely had fun, and as others have said, cool concept! I wasn't completely sure how the baddies moved (it seemed like sometimes they got pushed and other times they didn't).

Do note that I got stuck at one point! Not sure if the way to solve this would've been level design or adding an "undo" button if it detects you can't move (or something like that): http://i.imgur.com/ZxnKAPu.png

Regardless, I know you can't test everything, so I enjoyed it nonetheless :)

batmagus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:44am

Clever, original puzzler. I love the way the room is an integral part of the gameplay. A few more animations might make the gameplay concepts a bit easier to grasp.

KadaDev says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:02am

@DemiPixel thanks, yes thought I tested everything, but I guess you can still get stuck.

maybe an undo or reset would work, and enemies could be removed once a switch is hit

@batmagus yeah need to work on animations, pretty much sfx were only feedback

batmanasb says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:09am

Gets a little confusing and frustrating, but that might be the point...

senabryer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:39am

AAH I got trapped really far in and felt stupid about it. Great concept, and really well executed!

KadaDev says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:56am

@batmanasb senabryer I think it's broken need to add a reset, couldn't figure out all the ways to get stuck

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:57am

I like the concept. I accidentally maneuvered myself into a corner with enemies that was impossible to escape, but it was fun

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:10am

not sure if it was a bug, but i got stuck between some enemys and a wall. and i tried hitting escape but nothing happend. its a nice concept puzzle game though

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:14am

I like being a slime.

mipo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:29am

I really like the concept of this game. Some of the puzzles were fun but it seemed really linear like you were just moving through the game rather than solving problems. I don’t know how possible branching paths or more complex puzzles are to make but I think they would add some depth to the game. Like some other people commenting I got stuck at one part mostly because I wasn't paying attention and I assumed the enemies wouldn't be able to trap me because the arrow pads were laid out so well. I think there should be a check point system and enemies should kill you when you push them into yourself instead of just occupying the same space as you (I think this is a bug). Also a minor issue is tapping the keys to move which gets repetitive, being able to move by holding down a key would be nice. This game has a great concept and was executed pretty well considering the deadline. I think there is a lot of potential here and would be interested in and more fleshed out version.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:40am

Interesting concept! Nice art style too.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:43am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Loyance says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:56am

I'm still debating if I like puzzle type of games in LD, but this one was definitely worth my time. I love this gimmick of "limited movement"

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:49am

A really interesting concept for a puzzle game! I would play a full game of this.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:16am

Good idea. Interesting to play. Please add improved graphics. Sound of enemies is very loud.

ThatGuyMiniB says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:18am

Really cool concept! Would love to see this go further!

xiaolee92 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:33pm

The concept itself is pretty clever. I played for quite awhile until I got stuck. Pretty fun overall.

kraftkar says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Very nice entry!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Really ingenious use of the theme to create an engaging puzzle mechanic. This kind of thing is hard to pull off in a game jam so congrats!

ema1ih says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:03pm

I like the idea and how you used the theme, nice graphics too.

wujood says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Audio is a bit to aggressive IMO , but rest is nice base for puzzle games. And nice interpretation

qristofer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:35pm

This is a very successful take on the theme and a fun game. Clear and effective graphics. Good job! Nitpicks: the control could be a bit quicker/more responsive (but it may be that my laptop is sluggish).

ScreamRawr says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:11pm

Got stuck and didn't finish but I loved the concept!

ploy says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:10am

awesome idea :) beat the game with pleasure. Hope, It will be extended

mirta000 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:29am

nice little entry. Didn't solve it, but the controls felt interesting :D

kleinzach says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:58am

Very unique use of the theme. I managed to move an enemy to be in the way, and couldn't get rid of it which stopped the game for me, but i really enjoyed it regardless.

Kurang says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:30am

Really innovative puzzle, never seen anything like this

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:55am

Very good project

Dagorlad says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:56pm

This puzzle game feels really good, the levels are well designed and the mechanics clear, the only thing is that it is not exactly clear how to play sometimes, i felt stuck in some situations, especially with enemies.

Good job tho!

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Great take on the team and really cool puzzle game. The step sound got a little annoying but aside I enjoyed it.

ionprodan says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:01pm

Good job man! You have to finish this game!

Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:58am

Whoa. Really nice work. I wasn't sure what I was getting myself into at the start here, but this was delightful. A really clever puzzle game and great integration with the theme.

Stylo21 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:25am

Very good idea!
Simple but effective!

Nice "puzzle" game with "one room" as theme :D

JK5000 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:22pm

Great idea for a great little game.

KadaDev says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:07am

Thanks everyone for the feedback, takeaways so far are:
1. Get some music make it fit the atmosphere
2. Test for conditions getting stuck, provide a way to reset/undo
3. Pick sfx that aren't annoying
4. Make better animations, give more feedback
5. Improve graphics
6. Make mechanics cleaner, wall interaction with enemies seems ambiguous
7. Expand on complexity of puzzles rather than just moving through an environment, maybe branching ways
8. Make a full game

I'm new to game dev, and this is very helpful, it would be hard to improve without feedback from other developers.

Thanks for taking the time to review and give feedback, I really appreciate it. :)

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Excellent use of theme and a lot of fun. Great job! :)

XenosNS says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:54am

Great concept! Looks great too. Think I ended up in a game breaking state and couldn't proceed but enjoyed it nonetheless. Some music would of added to it.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:56am

Very cool idea. Nice puzzle. there are many dead ends in the levels... i was running into all of them... but great concept. Nice gameplay. A little more polished artrwork and nice background music and it would be a very nice mobile game.

dunin says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:46pm

That's a pretty original and cool concept!
I hope you will continue it with more harder levels (little repetitive at the end). And if you do, I was disappointed that ennemies don't fall when we push they on empty space, maybe it's an option? (then you have 2 possibilities: stuck by a wall or fall).
With falling options, you can have different puzzle: crates you have to push on interrupt where you can't go, and you have to be carreful to not fall the crate, for example.
Or different ennemies that fight if you push one to the other...
It's just some ideas if you want to continue, because I would like to see an improve version...

Ping78 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:47am

Nice idea, cool sounds and mechanics.

columhiggins says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:30pm

A fun puzzle. Reminded me of the Numberjacks.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]