Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

VR Block Buster

by jerwil - Jam Entry

My first ever Ludum Dare!

Note: You do not need a VR headset to play. PC and web versions are not in VR and use mouse to look around, but it's more fun if you have an android VR headset!

You're in a room with stacks of blocks. A cannonball floats in front of your face. Launch that cannonball to cause maximum destruction!

Each block that falls in the lava is worth 1 point. Earn 200 points to unlock missile mode.

On Android with Google Cardboard: Press trigger/bluetooth Fire1/touch screen to launch ball in the direction you are facing.

On PC: Use mouse to look around, click to launch ball in the direction you are facing. Right click to lock and unlock cursor.

On Web player: Use mouse to look around, click to launch ball in the direction you are facing. Right click to lock and ESC to unlock cursor.

If the ball gets stuck on the platform, click again to reset the ball.

Future work:
-Add basic sound effects
-Add more levels
-Make missile mode more fun
-Add more unlockable projectile types
-Add ability to switch between projectile types
-Upgrade visuals
-Add menu

Lava texture from: https://dcrazed.com/best-free-seamless-background-textures/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#340Fun(Jam)3.32
#662Mood(Jam)2.88
#672Innovation(Jam)2.68
#739Theme(Jam)2.92
#781Overall(Jam)2.81

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:43am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:56am

Congrats on making a game! And a fully functional game at that! I liked that the lava made the "world" believable, if that makes sense.

I was so pumped when I got to 200 points. Made the grind all worth it.

For the future, I'd focus on sounds first, HUD second. Easy things to make the game feel real.

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:22am

It was really satisfying to knock down all those cubes

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:11am

The idea is not something inovative but i love the simplicity and i had fun playing it. Good Job

BathPirate says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:23am

Not bad! But no so innovative. But also congrats on making a game!

Birke says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:53am

Fun mechanic. Didn't like the way the camera followed the ball so directly. I also had a bug where the structure fell down but I still had to shot an extra ball before the game would recognize the level to be completed.

sudojess says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:27am

Really satisfying to play!

erikiene says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:04am

Pretty fun game! And very cool of you to share the source code

Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:42am

Great game! Good job doing the VR. I gave you points on innovation for that, even though the concept is not new. I wish I had a headset with a trigger to test it out. On web, it worked great, and although it was a bit simple, it was still a lot of fun!

Green Soda says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:52am

Good thing I have a VR Box laying around!
Nice touch with the VR, man... pretty satisfying to play only issue is that I get dizzy after playing for a while but overall, I give it 4/5

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:29pm

I had some difficulty loading the web player. And I am on a mac, Uncaught abort(125) at Error
at jsStackTrace (blob:http://www.jeremyadamwilson.com/1592586f-04d9-48af-9f96-8fc1301ada08:1:22715)
at stackTrace (blob:http://www.jeremyadamwilson.com/1592586f-04d9-48af-9f96-8fc1301ada08:1:22898)
at abort (blob:http://www.jeremyadamwilson.com/1592586f-04d9-48af-9f96-8fc1301ada08:36:54303)
at Array.ean (blob:http://www.jeremyadamwilson.com/1592586f-04d9-48af-9f96-8fc1301ada08:29:71022)
at iJl (blob:http://www.jeremyadamwilson.com/1592586f-04d9-48af-9f96-8fc1301ada08:25:59675)
at Array.KKh (blob:http://www.jeremyadamwilson.com/1592586f-04d9-48af-9f96-8fc1301ada08:17:376305)
at Array.egj (blob:http://www.jeremyadamwilson.com/1592586f-04d9-48af-9f96-8fc1301ada08:8:901142)
at Object.M3m [as dynCall_iiii] (blob:http://www.jeremyadamwilson.com/1592586f-04d9-48af-9f96-8fc1301ada08:29:44209)
at invoke_iiii (blob:http://www.jeremyadamwilson.com/1592586f-04d9-48af-9f96-8fc1301ada08:1:366631)
at Rpl (blob:http://www.jeremyadamwilson.com/1592586f-04d9-48af-9f96-8fc1301ada08:12:730317)
If this abort() is unexpected, build with -s ASSERTIONS=1 which can give more information.

I didn't rate. Just thought you should no.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:00am

^ Same error for me on the web player.

Thijs Tak says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 1:16pm

Not rated since the web players throws an error. -- WL

jerwil says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Thanks for trying to launch the game! Those that have had trouble with it, I have found that chrome works the best, and it may take a few page refreshes to get the game to load without errors. However, it doesn't seem to work at all on Mac.

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 4:39am

Really neat idea and i like the physics. Wish there was an extra level of difficulty though instead of just getting a low score.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]