Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Nightlight

by captainskye - Compo Entry

Follow the journey of a man locked in solitude with nothing but his thoughts.

Puzzles in the shadows, and a voice in the air.

Controls:
WASD -> Move Player

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#161Mood3.44
#202Innovation3.44
#323Graphics3.11
#337Overall3.24
#425Audio2.17
#498Theme3.06
#545Fun2.44
#1071Coolness41%

Comments

JD557 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:06pm

The .jar file is returning a 404 error.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:48pm

So is the source code zip.

abezuska says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:41pm

same issue as JD557 for me.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:03am

+1 for the 404 issue! Link needs to be fixed!

captainskye says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:09am

Sorry! Links have been fixed. Direct link to the files weren't working for some reason

captainskye says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:23am

Files somehow disappeared from my server. Welp having my girlfriend send me the code so I can re-upload (used her pc)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:50pm

So it's a labyrinth gaem in which you participate as a DFS algorithm. I like how you used light, but the player isn't much involved in gaemplay. Story would be much more interesting with a backstory.

Light looks unrealistic, because alpha channel blends too quickly in my opinion. Also, check your credits text. Ludum Dare 48 will be in 3 years.

captainskye says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:20pm

@starlightglimmerisbestpony well geez you didn't need to rip on every aspect of the game, all the way down to the "alpha channel blend of the lighting"

Vadim Ivshin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Good mechanics and design. Music is a bit more aggressive for such story, I guess. But game is still engaging.

quiv says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:54pm

This is a cool game! I really liked how you kept the central navigation via light mechanic, but adapted it to be slightly different in each new area. The minimalist music and art/lighting worked really well together, well done :)

Michalidis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Nice graphics of the game which I like a lot :)

Unfortunately I think the music does not really fit the gameplay which is quite slow, including the story which is supposed to be a bit mysterious...

Anyway you have done a great job and I like the concept a lot ! It just felt a bit punishing to travel around the screen for a minute just to find out I hit a 1mm wide wall taking the victory away from me :D

Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:16am

Very pretty. I personally enjoyed the audio track and thoguht it went pretty well with the visuals. I do think the player ought to move a little faster, but thats minor.

hijomo says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:09am

The light mechanic is cool. The music didn't really match the mood. I liked how the puzzle changed just a little each time.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:21am

These mazes are rather large
Yet my body is tiny
I wish I was a little faster
Faster?
Brighter

-batmanasb

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:15pm

I loved the music and lighting effects. The noise/grain texture adds a lot of visual appeal here. The gameplay was very slow and frustrating, so I had a hard time getting through a ton of it, but you've put together a nice piece.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:16pm

I loved the music and lighting effects. The noise/grain texture adds a lot of visual appeal. The gameplay itself was on the slow and frustrating side for me, so I struggled to get through much of it, but you have a nice piece here.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 8:22pm

nice one! love lights. but I wish I could move more quickly

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 5:33am

broken

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]