Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Laser Panic

by ACCBDD - Compo Entry

You're stuck in a room that constantly gets more dangerous as time goes on.
Also, you have a grappling hook.
Survive for as long as possible!

Instructions ingame.
I FORGOT TO INCLUDE THAT YOU CAN CHANGE ROPE LENGTH USING 'W' AND 'S'
(Also, the web version is kinda buggy)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#69Fun3.81
#107Audio3.50
#145Overall3.63
#225Innovation3.37
#297Theme3.62
#377Graphics2.94

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:18am

That was fun! :3

djfariel says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:18am

The grappling hook is actually pretty cool. I'd be interested in knowing how you did it in Unity.

xclementx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:22am

I like it, nice idea. But my score is too low to post it over here !

Shockk says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:23am

Pretty interesting concept, although I feel like it needs to be quite a bit more fast-paced, but that's just my opinion. If this was fast-paced rather than slow and floaty, I think it'd be a pretty arcade-y style game with friends challenging each other to beat each others' highscores.

wilbera says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:25am

This was a very fun game, I love the grappling hook. I also am interested in the grappling hook mechanic.

ZQMony says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:59am

Really nice little game. The grappling hook is pretty fun to use.

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:01am

Grappling hook technology is most superior.

Kyuuki says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:02am

Game looks like dong

Uruca Games says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:03am

heeheheh Very cool!!! I like a lot throw the cube in the air and grab again like a spiderman XD \o/

Kyuuki says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:03am

and by dong it's pretty okay ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

d3uced says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:06am

great work this is a lot of fun, I agree with Shockk some speeding up mechanic would make it more intense but as is it is a great game.

DillonEA says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:11am

Oh my word this idea is neat! A few nitpicks though:

The grappling hook, while fairly neat did seem to allow the player too much control over their movement that would make the game easy. At one point, I was just holding down the left key with the grappling hook, and it would just keep swinging back and forth in the same quarter circle, rather than respecting the gained momentum from the downward swing. Obviously, there needs to be some exaggeration for the sake of player control, but I feel you could have respected momentum a little more, and had the speed changes be done more through adjusting the vertical position along the rope.

Another thing that I feel would make this more fun is if you sped up the game slightly. Movement and actions feel a little sluggish. Admittedly, as much as I mentioned it feeling like the rope gives more freedom, it is true that at the top of the swings, it can be difficult to quickly gather enough speed to dodge a laser. This may contradict the last point, but there was still places where I felt my deaths were a bit unfair.

However contradictory and nitpicky my points may be, super fun game! Love the fact you kept the graphics simple, and always great to see web options available for LD entries.

columhiggins says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:15am

Good fun, once I got the hang of Tarzaning across the space.

I would like if the gun shots could take out the wall laser fences.

Mr.Chippy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:38am

It was fun :).
The grappling hook was a good idea.
It was a bit floatly. That made it kind of hard to move around.

BoneDaddy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:59am

Woah nice job on the rope. I like the movement. Fun to get into the groove of grappling around.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:22am

1:08 is my best. Unique and fun. Good job! Keep working on this!

jperlin says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:37am

I really enjoyed it! I like the idea of the laser "fences" that block the walls spawning as well as the turrets. And the controls feel good as well :)

phoenix1987 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:48am

That was really fun. The grappling hook was a great mechanic and something I would love to see continued. I'm not very good and kept dying within a minute but I kept coming back for more. I think you should allow more categories when rating though and just so you know the resolution was a bit off (bottom) but that's fairly trivial. Well done :)

Ednei says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:49am

I liked to die hahahah It almost make me crazy lol!

Brickkid512 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:48am

I had fun playing it!

TeamScripta says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:26am

I love this game. Some of the smaller touches really make it cool. The burst of red cubes when a laser is fired and when it hits, the music, and my favorite part is how when you die the you decompose into cubes which scatter on the ground. It looks so cool!

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:21am

I really loved it, it was fun and challenging, and pretty hard hehe.. could past 45seconds.

the grapple mechanics are spot on, I agree that it could have been a little faster though.
Great job!

Omniorcus says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:25am

Simple concept. Simple Controls. I love it. Addicting to. You die, but just want to come back for more. Art style is basic, but effective, With the color scheme making hazards easy to spot. Great job man. :)

Palmish says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:26am

FUN!

It's pretty hard, though, and you need to work on the controls. At the times when I felt like I had control, it was a lot of fun, but when I didn't it was just frustrating. I think the ability to shorten and lengthen the rope might help. Try giving the player more control over the movement somehow.

Graphics are same old terrible Unity blandness. Music is really good and it's great that you have sound effects. All sound effects are good except the laser hit effect which sounds weird and is too loud.

ACCBDD says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:35am

Palmish:
I agree with you on the terrible bland unity thing. Art isn't really my strong point. I'm glad that you liked the music though! The laser hit effect is actually only glitchy in the web version, sorry about that. Similarly, I forgot to mention that you can, indeed, shorten and lengthen the rope by using w and s.

cablay says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:53am

Very cool! The grappling hook was really satisfying.

A game built around that mechanic focused on traversal rather than survival could be even more compelling (but admittedly less applicable to this jam's theme)!

Olowynd says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:10pm

Fun little game, I really appreciate the hook mechanic (and i'm pretty jealous cause i don't know how to handle such a thing in Unity :3), but I feels a little lack of player control on the character, it's too slow and floaty, i would like more gravity, and more speed following the inputs. The musics and feedbacks are very very nice, and even if the game is short it has the pride to be "finished".
I think with the modifications on the controls I suggere and with differents level design and more threats and differents things to handle it could be a really awesome platformer (but maybe all the suggestions wouldn't fit the one room theme).
Nice work !

Olowynd says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:51pm

I have replay it and got a lot of fun, so here a:
"Neeew Recooord":
1m31s63
http://puu.sh/sUTFC/cf7261530f.jpg
Nice work again !

Dec 20, 2016 @ 2:26am

Interesting idea. Easy to start playing. Please add improved graphics solution adn more gameplay features. I think time should go faster.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 10:29am

While I found the controls felt a bit too floaty they did add a sense of feeling 'pathetic' and made near misses much more fun. Kinda like throwing a ragdoll around. Didn't come across any bugs. Great work :D

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]