Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

one room arena

by Starlight glimmer is best poney - Compo Entry

Note from 14 XII: If you have any issues with controls, please try to forget about your 'S', 'A,' and 'D' keys. 'W' with mouse is enough to play (albeit less funny), and it is really straightforward.

What happens when you put multiple deadly quadrangles in one room?

It's a kind of shooter with destructible terrain where you have to survive for as long as possible, and hit as much stuff as possible.

Controls:
W — acceleration
S — acceleration backwards
A — strafe left (relatively to the direction you are facing)
D — strafe right
Mouse — rotation
Left mouse button — shot
Right mouse button — nuke (limited quantity)
Mouse roll — zooming

You will encounter some power-ups for which I did not have time to do descriptions. There are bombermanish happy beams which increase the radius of your nukes, triangles which hasten your attack speed and boots which increase movement speed.

This is my first LD and I enjoyed it even though the result might not be that great (especially the source code; I provided it, but don't look at it to prevent cancer). I was clueless about the theme 'one room', so I interpreted it as a single level. A level is also a room. I think in gm8 they were called rooms. And since I am a below average artist, I couldn't draw an actual room.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#286Fun3.21
#294Mood3.13
#331Overall3.25
#342Audio2.68
#388Graphics2.91
#405Innovation2.88
#490Theme3.10

Comments

Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Interesting game. Good work. I don't know if the typos are intended or not (gaem over, lol), but i like them.

Aliencargo says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:51pm

Pretty interesting concept when it comes to the steering. It was not very intuitive from the start but i can imagine that you can learn it better and actually do some cool stuff. I played with a track pad which I assume is not optimal. Would love it if the mechanics that you build actually got to shine a bit more. There was never any reason for me to destroy terrain even if i could. Also one hit death and awkward restart button was annoying.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:55pm

Gaem over is very much intended, @creativwhisper; it is my personal habit for some reason. Thanks for your feedback.

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:01pm

Innovative!

Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:01pm

@Aliencargo At first I wanted to make controls keyboard-only but it felt even more awkward. Trackpads are just sub-optimal for gaming in general. The rest speaks to my mind, though. Thanks for contructive feedback.

nycolas says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:30pm

I am not fond of the graphisms but the gameplay is interesting. Good job

fishbrain says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Nice effort. Found the controls a little difficult.

resty says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:08pm

The game is ok. I've try it for about 20 times. The control is a bit annoy with a bit fun, bullets too fast to dodge, reduced some interesting actions player can do.

When the retry clicked, it's better to just start a new game than to show a welcome screen and let player to click play button again IMO.

Overall, it feels fun when playing. Have great potential when playing with friends instead of AIs.

SoKette says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:13pm

After understanding how it works, the movement control was pretty great ! Aiming was difficult though :)

cyfixus says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Very nice use of contrast and colors. Sounds were nice too, I also enjoyed the console message lol

eri0o says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:02pm

I died sooo many times. I liked how there is the translucent arrow pointing the direction of every adversary. I liked the feeling that the enemies are real players. Damn, I wished there was a shield item to survive one extra bullet. But it's ok. I loved the right click bombs, they were very satisfying to use to break things. It took me a little while to be able to control the fighting ship but once my brain understood it felt natural!

Moritz says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:09pm

Gloomy, great soundscape.

Loving the arena graphics!

Really wonky controls make this "dual stick" shooter a single stick shooter.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:02am

It's a little too hard, and this is coming from someone who only makes hard games. Enemies are too powerful and 1 hit kill doesn't suit this game well. But even after all that, I still liked it...

Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Thank you everyone for your feedback!

I will add a shield item and more control options in a future update. I still don't understand why many of you have issues with controls; they feel natural to me (maybe except for strafe). I was inspired by Reassembly (which although does have two additional control presets).

@batmanasb I created this title with 1-hit in mind; restarting isn't that punishing after all.

@eri0o To say that the enemies felt like real players is a huge compliment to me. I never created a decision-making AI before and this one was kinda rushed. Being a newbie in this category, I like how it turned out.

Would you be interested in further development of this title? To be honest, I created this gaem with online multiplayer in mind.

vinipc says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:52pm

I found the controls hard at first, but after a shot while they do start to make sense.
The game is difficult, but I liked the concept and I think the visuals worked pretty well in the end.

slimabob says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:15am

Cool concept, controls were a bit rough to get used to. I'd like to try a version where w always moves you up, a always moves you left, etc. I do like the mouse aim though, good job!

Dvorgaz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:59am

Wow the controls hard to get used to, maybe if you rotated the the camera with the player so you always face up would made it more user friendly.
Also, that's not how you spell "Rarity":P

HawkSandwich says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:51pm

The graphics were okay, the huge arrow icon behind people was a bit distracting. The controls weren't great, the bouncing was kinda painful. If the controls were better, this would be a fun entry ;)

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Nice game ;) but the controls are hard.

gironC says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Simple but effective, good work!

badabooom63 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Maybe you need to make controls more responsive, because it is too hard to really enjoy this. I spent about 10 minutes (it is a lot for LD game, so you made great job), but if handling was better - it will be 10/10

Omniorcus says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:44am

Nice concept. Annoying in practice. The Graphics style is interesting and I like it, but not with this control scheme, as its hard to know the exact borders of the wall. I feel it would have been better as a pure twin stick, or with rotation on a and d instead of strafe. The sound design a bit annoying, but overall fine. With some polish, and a new control scheme, this could be a really nice little arena shooter.

Omniorcus says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:02am

Oh. Forgot to mention earlier, you're right.
Starlight is best pony. :)

Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Tough game!

samt2510 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Loved the art style of the game, and how the game felt to play really good job, nice gaem ;)

saurterrs says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:43pm

Played with pleasure. Simple, fun and piu-piu-piu x)
Good work, I like it.

SmokeNMirrors says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 2:08am

What a complex entry for a compo! The gameplay, albeit familiar and overplayed, was well performed and gave me nice bouts. I felt the AI was able and interesting, but I had some difficulty handling the powerups. I wasn't fond of the level design either, but the controls were SO smooth I had to explore to the best I can.

Dec 21, 2016 @ 9:19am

This is actually one of the more entertaining games I've played, simply due to the fact that it is simple and has a clear although arbitrary objective.

Music, as I always say, would be an improvement.

I think that most of the graphics are good - they have a consistent style - except for the powerup graphics, which could probably be improved.

The AI worked well, which is what really sold it.

Overall, very nice first gaem. ;)

Minato4th says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Hello! I done some update for my game you can try it by downloading Windows PostCompo on game page
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-37/?action=preview&uid=125051

Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Again, thank you all for your feedback. I still can't believe people like my AI.

@Minato4th I mean, you could've at least said a word about One Room Arena.

hlavik211 says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 2:11pm

You had the same idea as me but your game is better I like the movement and I had a lot of fun while I was playing it !

BluShine says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 1:49am

Difficult little game. The controls were odd but kinda cool how momentum was always relative to your mouse rather than absolute in the world. The combination of the weird ambient sound and abstract graphics created a really strange mood. Also, I like how the big transparent version of the enemies helps show you their location. I did have an issue where the game would quit when I tried to restart, but at least there wasn't a long loading screen or anything. Overall, pretty good for your first LD.

doublesquare says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Controls were a little tricky to get used to, and it felt like the AI had a little too good of aim, but I had fun and played a bunch of times. It definitely felt good getting a kill.

masterkrepta says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 2:25am

While the controls are not what i would have expected at first, i did find them pretty intuitive, if not a bit too sensitive. I feel like with the narrow areas of the map it was far too easy to steer right into the wall when trying to navigate.

Hamsternator says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Congrats on completing your fist LD compo entry :D
A pretty good one at that ^^

The controls are tricky to use but work pretty well once you get into it. The biggest flaw currently in my opinion is the one hit restriction (as mentioned by others). It's a pretty fast moving game but also really punishing when you make smaller mistakes. In my humble opinion you should always (within reason) allow the player to make a comeback =)

Enjoyed this a lot though. Hope you'll come back for the next LD ^^

pixzleone says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 3:21pm

Nice game! I like the graphical style of the level, and the nuke mechanic was really cool. The game felt a bit unforgiving sometimes, as you got shot by somebody you couldn't see. Maybe give the player some extra lives, and add some more effects, like explosions and particle effects? I liked the ambient sounds, but the shooting sound effects felt a bit out of place. Maybe you could fit them more in the ambient style.

Overall well done, keep it up! :D

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]