Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

DarkLight

by Minato4th - Compo Entry

Description: You appear in a place full of darkness, where there is only one single light. "IT" it is something what you are looking for a long time, and now you have opportunity finally to reach it. But the things is not so simple, and the darkness hides many obstacles..

Will you able to not lose "IT" again?



Update : Windows PostCompo

As I mentioned before this was my first game for LD, and if to be honestly this was my first game that was practically ready. In same time I recived some comments about shortcomings and unclear parts of the game.

So I decided to "finish" it, or better to say "update" this prototype to something what may be called the game.

Meet the latest version!

P.S. Keep Right! :)

////////////////////////////////////////////////

My First game for Ludum Dare :)

All function is working, but unfortunately was done only one main transformation in room... so gameplay is for 1 - 3 minutes :)

CONTROLS:

Movement: W/A/S/D
Menu: Escape
ON/OFF music: Space

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#246Audio3.00
#279Mood3.17
#476Innovation2.65
#536Theme2.87
#552Graphics2.30
#602Overall2.50

Comments

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:01pm

It's so dark I can't really tell what I'm doing, sorry.

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:09pm

That is a very dark light

Mik3 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:21pm

Seems like an interesting concept, but I wasn't really sure about what am I supposed to do.

Minato4th says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Zarkonnen - this is one of the ideas!

Artylo says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:42pm

A really nice, short and minimalist game. Although it does suffer from being a bit dark, even though that adds a lot to the mood and the atmosphere of the game. Some of the sights were oddly pretty.

FiloGC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Imo the game lacks some explaining. And it's dark Indeed.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:37pm

Good job, the game is great, a review from MD

Cyberlight says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:24am

I'm pretty sure I won, it wasn't super clear, but that's not necessarily a terrible thing. I was able to get to a reddish light and then the Exit showed up. Definitely an interesting concept for a game. It was hauntingly beautiful.

caranha says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:38am

Well, congratulations on completing your game!

I am afraid I didn't quite get it though. I ran to a white light, then Another white light, and then I saw a blue and a red light... and I think that's it. Did I miss something?

Maybe you should add the goal of the game in the first screen :-)

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:44am

Some lights and some sound and some confusion?

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:28pm

Wow, very dark, however nice!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:12pm

You could have extended and exploited your idea. Light at the end of the tunnel.

Currently it's just bland.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:01am

Too confusing. Didn't understand what I should do.

fauche_j says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:00pm

it's an interesting game but i didn't really understand the goal.

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:12pm

I think there was room and those lights guided you trough it? I'm not sure. It was pretty atmospheric though!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 9:31pm

That was a surreal experience, loved it! Puzzles were interesting and different each time. Got to were the light splits into 4 and chose the left most one, the game then restarted... so I guess I completed it? lol

Would have liked the ability to sprint :P

dringy says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 9:41pm

My thoughts on the original:

It was very confusing, I think I reached the end but I'm not sure. I replayed it and got stuck with a red light. The idea seems cool and music is very fitting.

My thoughts on the post compo:
This is really good, it's super dark and I guess it's all part of the puzzle, there was a bit with the wall maze that I got stuck on for a bit with the red lights on the ceiling (at least I thought it was the Ceiling). It was really good and really original well done.

I'm going to have to rate you on your original though as it's only fair, but seriously one of the best games I've played. I just couldn't stop until I had won.

jramell says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 8:21am

I didn't get what I was supposed to do. Things seemed to happen arbitrarily.

Blobo says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 4:46pm

This was pretty neat. The game was confusing at first, but i did make it to the end. A little note in your description explaining what to do would be nice.

saurterrs says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 5:16pm

That's very interesting concept. Good work

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Suggerent but too abstract for me, but's is an interesting idea which using advanced shaders could have nice effects. Well done!!!

nick.bota says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 2:28pm

This has to be the most interesting game of this LD! The idea is kinda simple, you chase a light in the dark but the symbolism of this concept is so deep and vague that everybody can interpret in a different way, and I LOVE IT! You really nailed the experience, and every aspect of the game is reinforcing, the graphics are great, the music in on point, and the player is sometimes hard to control but this also helps your point. I'd say this is my favorite Compo game of this LD, especially considering it's your first entry, keep it up man!

Linear says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 10:09pm

I think it was really frustrating to figure out where anything was... once I got to the level with all the blue and red lights and you couldn't see past the walls, it was pretty much impossible to figure out if I was looking up or straight ahead or which way to go

masterkrepta says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 4:23am

The music sets a cool atmosphere that i feel could be improved with some more detail to the world. I will have to check out the post jam builds

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 8:31am

An intriguing abstract concept you've got here. Reminds me of Antichamber a bit.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 4:28pm

It was pretty confusing working out what I was actually meant to do in this game (before eventually realising it's to simply get to the white light) but nonetheless it's a rather interesting entry. Like others have said, the ambient lighting is pretty dark and at times it sort of hinders rather than helps the game (Also, maybe some sort of narrative might help in explaining the game's story better).

Palarus says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 11:58am

Quiet interesting! It remembers me to a mirror maze xD

I get stuck sometimes not sure it's is for a bug or because it has to be that way. Requires more polish. Good job on your first jam! GZ!

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 8:34pm

At first I fell into the pit. It made me stare into the darkness and to begin to discern a reddish glow. The game is very well recreates the feeling of walking on groping.

DOXM says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Interesting concept, the audio is great.

Dec 30, 2016 @ 9:04am

Very dark game ;) I managed to finish it though!

NoobDude29 says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 9:28am

I did not know what to do with the game, it has an interesting feel to it, but i didn't manage to do much in it.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]