Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

flwr truss plus

by wscones - Compo Entry

[RECOMMENDED SETTINGS: FULL SCREEN 640x480 OR LOWEST RESOLUTION]

[CONTAINS FLASHING COLORS]


in a place, there's some flwrs


look closely at the inside of boxes

look closely at portals

bring objects between portals

throw away items in the trashbin to discard them


put corresponding objects in outbox to achieve


Controls

WASD - Move

Q and E - Look up/down or left/right

Spacebar - Toggle look direction between up/down and left/right

Mouse - Click and hold flwrs


Credits

Art/Programming/Music by wednesday scones

Sfx made using Bfxr

psx_retroshader by dsoft20

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#90Mood3.70
#161Audio3.27
#208Graphics3.45
#321Innovation3.12
#424Theme3.29
#512Overall2.88
#594Fun2.14

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:22am

kind of made me feel like i was picking up someones trash. :(

conradte3 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:41am

Very weird, but also very awesome. I felt like I was getting a peek into the life of some alien somewhere. I especially liked the graphical effects when going through portals.

Hovester says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:23am

I liked the fell of the game i always knew i am a bit alien inside :)
But the camera control is a torture really hard to get used to.

Aliencargo says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:36am

The controls where a bit uncomfortable, and i pretty much didn't understand what was happening during the whole game, including the teleportations.
I do appreciate the efforts made to include sound and music and the graphic effects to set the mood.

Tuism says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:50am

Moody and interesting, though completely incomprehensible...

Why keyboard look controls when mouse would have done?
Why use a switch to change look directions?
Why pick up flowers?
Why the cool but epilepsy-inducing effect?
What's the point of the second room/screen?
What's the point of it all? XD

Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:54am

gj but boring after a while

JK5000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:16am

I love the weirdness. I do NOT like the controls.

moomoomang says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:19am

wat

Chaosmore says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:20am

Well done on the visuals! I felt weird and inconvenience with the control, but I'm kind of ok with it.

slimabob says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:34am

Such a strange game, very interesting though. I liked the odd controls and thought it was a very bold decision.

rburema says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:56am

A bit surreal... which makes me ask, is the 'non-standard'/awkward control scheme (look around w. keys instead of mouse direction) on purpose?

Fitting graphics, a box spewing flowers, claws & moody bleeps feed the 'what's going on here' vibe.

Unfortunately, I couldn't any 'flower of lager size', 'discarded' or otherwise, even when inside the in-box or trash can.

Cosmic-Hawke says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:21am

That was hella trippy

avalkyrie says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:57pm

I'm very confused, in a good way. I couldn't find the larger sized flower.

wscones says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:33pm

originally I went with a WASD / mouselook control scheme, but couldn't get the mouselook to be smooth enough; after deciding on the ps1 vibe, I decided to combine the movement/look into a clunky keyboard scheme to try and emulate the awkward controls of some ps1 games

wscones says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:35pm

also, you can hold objects while going through portals (probably not apparent sry)

spoilers if u want to know how to get large flwrs and discarded flwrs: http://pastebin.com/KQT0p63P

nikitapash says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:16pm

Fun, but psychodelical

gene-z says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Nice game, i think

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:29pm

Very nice atmosphere, but I had no idea what was happening :) For the most time I felt like I was tripping balls.

Good graphics, fitting music!

Well done

Yamzho says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:36pm

The mood of the game is set : awkward music, awkward colors, awkward controls ! ;)

Tilemapping says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:54pm

This is A E S T H E T I C

The Input was fitting in my opinion, since it underlines the trippiness

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:48am

Great joy! Everything was perfect, though the controls were a bit wacky (cool thing) and it was difficult to get flowers into the bins at first. Wish it was longer.

hermetic says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:11am

This game wouldn't be as tedious if it had regular mouse look controls. Everything else is fine. Go collect flowers, be an alien, take orders from a box, see weird colors, listen to trippy music. It also might have helped to have a story. The teleportation effect was awesome.

irwatts says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:41am

I really like how the input awkwardness compliments the mood!

Awpteamoose says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:03am

not sure if bad controls are part of the game

JoeYoshi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:12am

I am gonna be super honest, I loved the controls. It really added to the weird appeal and aesthetic. I was super intrigued. great music, trippy art.

aaaleee says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:19am

Interesting style, but there's pretty much no gameplay.
Also, I had to cmd+tab and then quit that way on OS/X, maybe you should make ESC quit the game or something (this is probably not a problem on windows though).

Birke says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:31pm

Really liked the aesthetic. Controls were awful you should have stuck to traditional FPS input, it's an established convention for a reason. Couldn't figure out how to make a bigger flower.

Also asking for donations for a jam game is annoying. I don't think you should ask for money for something you spent a weekend putting together. Wait until you have a more polished version.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Very experimental, interesting movement. I suppose that your were trying to make the player feel like an alien using a control scheme so weird. Interesting, good job.

Tifu says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:03pm

I got as far as picking up a large portal and dropping it in the outbox, but nothing changed, it didn't seem to register the flower in the box =(

Palarus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:47pm

I'm a sucker for surrealist stuff, loved it

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Strange and awkward, hands are animated exactly creepy as the music is, those fit prefectly)

Bomany says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:38pm

Liked the graphics and the music but the controls are not very good.

Doomdad says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:16am

It was quite an experience. I didn't mind the controls i'd even say they added to the experience and weird surreal feeling this game gave me. Great job!

jerwil says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:32am

A very weird and sometimes frustrating game with a handful of cool moments. I really like the effect when going through the "portals" and the visuals in general are delightfully trippy. The gameplay itself isn't much fun, and the controls are not pleasant. Overall, it's unique, but I ALT-F4'd out of it after a few mins of putting the same stuff into the same bucket.

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Interesting...

Unfortunately I didn't really get anywhere. I was asked for flowers of various sizes, but I feel like there wasn't really any way to tell them apart, and I can't say I ever saw any that appeared particularly bigger. Maybe I didn't get any? :C

I suspect that perhaps I was supposed to do something with the portal to fix a larger flower, but unfortunately there seems to be a game-breaking bug on the other side, because once I'd gone through the portal to the little corridor, I couldn't get back. The character simply wouldn't walk forward any further at a particular distance from the portal, as if there were an invisible wall in the way. Restarted a few times but it was the same every time. I played the OS X version in case that matters!

I feel like you overcomplicated the controllers with the Q/E/space concept, when a simple mouse look would've solved the problem in a much more natural way, and actually is what most people would expect from a first person game, since it's a common controller scheme. How come you ended up solving it this way? p:

Music and graphics are interesting and definitely set a peculiar mood.

Theme is slightly stretched, I suppose, as the portal technically takes one to a different room, but eh. c;

Would be interesting to know more about what you had in mind, as I got stuck and couldn't really get anywhere so I didn't really understand the game. :'c

Linear says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:41am

Well, you definitely win the mood category. That was the most strange thing I think I've ever played...

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]