Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Recyclinator

by ThatSnillet - Jam Entry

Recyclinator is a physics puzzle/management/throwing stuff around game where you have to deliver cans and bottles from one side of the room to another.

You begin by loading the objects manually, but you will quickly find easier ways to do it. Try to get as rich as possible, or just make a really cool contraption. Try to make a fully automated system!

This version of the game is made for Ludum Dare 37 and was made in just over 24 hours. All assets are made by me.

READ THE README FILE

Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vfdrPwBTjYo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#159Innovation(Jam)3.69
#250Fun(Jam)3.48
#274Theme(Jam)3.86
#304Humor(Jam)2.96
#389Overall(Jam)3.41
#394Mood(Jam)3.35
#489Audio(Jam)2.71
#514Graphics(Jam)3.34

Comments

Mieeh says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Great fun game!
Really cool concept, good use of theme! Played for like 20 minutes just grinding!
Loved it.

batmagus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:03am

Fun idea with a nice progression, I really like the feeling of putting together an automated factory. Sadly the game glitched before I could get my last conveyor belt down to get a fully automated line going.

I did feel like it was quite frustrating trying to place the boxes down. Would have helped to have some kind of snapping system, or at least make the hold distance far enough away that I could see where on the floor my box would be placed.

JK5000 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:04am

The game is great, but in the beginning it is very slow.

slovakyan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:10am

Cool concept, great fun! :)

Darenn says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:19am

I like the idea ! It was fun to combine objects to bring bottles to the holes. But is there an end ? I did not understand why the music starts randomly and stops randomly. By trying to put an object near a wall, this one disapeared ! Good job, keep creating games !

Avon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:27am

Really fun game mechanics, it was fun just trying to throw the cans into the hatch from a distance, and the puzzle mechanics are pretty deep.

Awesome game overall, only drawback is the audio cause of too few sound effects, and the music goes quiet for a long time before looping.

AXaViaN says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:45am

Placing mechanism was a bit odd but other than that, the game is good.

n00basaurus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:42pm

Interesting game and a good use of the one room concept. lacks a bit of intuitive design, like in game indications of where to put the objects. For objects that require precise placement, I'd suggest having a snap system primarily for the baskets. Had issues with it being close to the conveyor output but not close enough, and was prevented from getting the objects dropped into it due to the imprecise physics placement.

Game starts a little too slowly but ramps up pretty quickly, nice job.

Fidrik says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Really liked the concept of this game. I wanted to try and get enough conveyors to get a direct line to the recycle chutes, but it would have taken a bit too long to grind that much.

The mechanics are solid, but placing boxes at the end of the belts and using the compacter gets a little finnicky. Overall its great game, I would have liked to experiment more with the features, but the slow progression prevented me from doing so.

Good work!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Really fun! Would like to see more of this. I got problems with placing one belt that could not be placed anywhere but on one position, otherwise nice.

Alex says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Cool building style-gameplay idea! The only thing that killed it for me was the poor physics. I kept buying expensive things, but they kept clipping through the floor, never to be seen again.


If you work on the physics a bit, this can be a fun little game. I killed about 15 minutes on it lol

Treborginho says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:29pm

Really fun idea. At first I hade the urge to buy at least a basket. I lost some bottles which disappeared through the walls. Sadly I couldn't see where I was going with the basket in front of my nose. I will play your game a few more times if there is a real goal.

ThatSnillet says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:37pm

If you feel annoyed by bugs you should try the newer version. I know it is uploaded post-jam, but it will make it a lot less annoying.

local minimum says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:07pm

This is a manual labor horror game! Running back and forth like crazy trying to pick and throw things into their respective bins. I think it would have been more rewarding if the character didn't simply drop the contents but actually threw it. It was also quite hard to pick things up once dropped. Tossing things around feels like it would have fit the feeling of the game. I managed to scrape up to a box and fill it up, but once I used it once it felt like it got lost and that mean I went -5 on buying the box. Maybe it would eventually return or was but I lost it. Any way, it felt like a bit of a bummer after having worked so hard for that box. Since there were different things on the lines and several target holes and the game was called recyclinator, I was also expecting my job to be sorting the incoming goods, which made the start a bit confusing.

Cool concept though and I think with some more effort it could become a quite hilarious physics management manual labor simulator.

ThatSnillet says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:20pm

I think you need to play for a bit longer for the gameplay to become rewarding. Also you throw things with rmb.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Really cool idea for a game. It's like a first-person cookie clicker. Unfortunately, I couldn't move the press from its starting location. Clicking on it did nothing.

ThatSnillet says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Use E to move contraptions.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Bit of a bug report to start off: At some point, just as I was about to finish building my automated system, I lost the ability to move contraptions around. If I pressed E on one to pick it up, it'd just disappear for a second then fling itself all physics-like from underground near the center of the room. Since I'm now unable to place any contraptions the game's effectively broken. I wish I could tell you more about what's causing it or how to replicate it, but if you manage to fix it please do post an update.

The game itself is really fun. I giggled a bit at (what I assume to be) the Viscera Cleanup Detail references. The physics on the cans and bottles are just silly/wonky enough to be amusing to watch and produce satisfying chaos, without interfering in the basic function of the game. One reservation I do have is that the contraptions (save for the basket) really shouldn't be physics-enabled. When I placed them down I wanted to be bolted to the floor. Being able to ping off into space because I nudged them the wrong way was more frustrating than anything.

If this were a fully-fledged 72-hour jam game I'd probably be complaining about the graphics. They don't get in the way of the gameplay, and I typically don't care all that much if something's shiny or not, but in this case there's such a strong emphasis on playing with your environment that having such basic white models restricts my immersion. But you only had 24 hours to make the game so I'm not gonna hold this against you; it's not too bad for the time frame. I like the floor texture especially. I recognize it's for the best that you didn't focus on that aspect since you were able to make the gameplay fun and solid. But I do wonder if the project wouldn't have been better off had you outsourced the graphics and music; either to someone hanging out on IRC or just to some public domain work.

As I said though, the graphics didn't get in the way of the core enjoyment of the title's mechanics. Thanks for the game :)

ThatSnillet says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Thanks a lot for the information! This one really helped me improve the game :-)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Great fun game - really interesting concept with a smooth physics. I had fun playing it. Well done ++

Coomzy says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 10:58pm

This game is really good. It had me really hooked, I played it for an hour! Picking up items was glitchy & tedious, placing them wasn't much better. Really good core, if it was more polished would be even better.

rburema says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 10:50am

Loved the inherent silliness of the concept!
Impressive for just 24 hours... I've seen a lot of Unreal engine games doing impressive stuff this jam :-)

Not being to be able to see through or around the basket is just a tad annoying though. Also, are you sure you want to keep the 'despawn if not touched for about half a minute' mechanic? I can see why you put it in, but still... lots & lots of objects slowly filling the room would add a lot to the silliness.

Dec 31, 2016 @ 12:15am

Surprisingly entertaining for a game about recycling

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]