Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Furni-Chore

by AgentParsec - Compo Entry

It's time to re-decorate the house, and someone else is in charge of it (which frankly is the way you like it). They still want you to decorate ONE of the rooms yourself, and it needs to meet their approval. Oh well, let's get this over with...

Each level gives you one room to place all of the furniture given to you. Hold the left mouse button to drag the furniture to the room, and click the right mouse button while dragging to rotate it. Hover over it to see the rules for its placement. There must also be a clear path at the end to walk from one door to the other (rugs will not block the path, of course).

(NOTE: OS/X and Linux versions are untested, but it's made in Unity, so they SHOULD work. WebGL didn't work however, so I didn't upload it.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#37Overall4.00
#42Fun3.91
#49Audio3.79
#53Innovation3.94
#67Mood3.81
#83Theme4.15
#161Graphics3.59
#200Humor2.88

Comments

FiloGC says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:19am

Very charming. Really enjoying the underlying complexity.

Serious Table says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:19am

I enjoyed this! I would also make a terrible interior decorator. Love the charm overall and the background music fits so well.

menip says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:10am

I like it. Music and graphics fit well, and levels are well simple and well designed. Couple things though: Played this with a touch pad, and I found right clicking to rotate is really awkward. Also, if there was a shortcut to auto-grab the next eligible item it would be awesome :)

AgentParsec says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:22am

@menip -- Yeah, I didn't really make it with a touchpad in mind. If I made a version for touch-capable devices, I'd probably make it so that while dragging you can tap a second finger anywhere to do a rotate.

BonozoApps says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:42am

great use of the theme, looks easy but isnt always so, very addicting. really delivered on the fun. nice polish. great job!

batmanasb says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:56am

The best use of the theme that I've seen thus far!

meg says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:54pm

Deceptively simple, level 13 was the hardest one I think. The solution for 14 was really satisfying but I don't think anyone would appreciate living in that room. ;) This would be a fun game to play on a tablet, I think.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:32am

nice use of the theme, and pretty inovative. :D

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:42am

Chip and Joanna Gaines would be so disappointed in me.

Intelli-Gents says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:52am

Lovely idea! I loved how each piece of furniture had it's own set of rules, and when put together had a lot of interesting interactions. The music was relaxing, and it was a generally chill game even though we were yelling at the screen. Great job!

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:25am

Enjoyable and relaxing puzzler!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:20am

Only complaint is that I didn't feel it captured the spirit of "one room" since there are many rooms but that being said it was quite fun, even though I am stuck on 14!

Drury says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:03am

I like it when people take the most mundane thing imaginable and make an actual enjoyable game out of it. I'm not even a fan of grid-bazed puzzle games of this type, but this one is great.

Dec 18, 2016 @ 5:21pm

Interesting. Some of these were kind of fun. I laughed at how absurd some of the outcomes were; I think I had like a couch facing a wall because I forgot to rotate it, and some of them were just some of the most nonsensical layouts but they worked. Overall it was pretty good.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:55am

Really incredible game! Level 14 was my favorite, and I thought the difficulty was very well done. I found the game in general very fun and well designed, great job!

tellus says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:31am

Surprisingly fun and engaging. I really liked this game despite the terrible wordplay in the name. >:(

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:04am

A pleasant puzzle. The graphics are competent and I love the music, it fits like a glove. The theme doesn't fit that well, but I'm in no position to judge that!

The placement rules are well thought-out. Unfortunately only one of the levels (level 14) requires some out of the box thinking. The others, especially the last one, can be completed easily by simply slapping down furniture based on their placement rules.

More challenging puzzles and this one will be a keeper.

jramell says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 9:02pm

Really fun entry. Even though, when I read the title I think of chores. Chores aren't fun. Also, I think the introduction story could be shorter.

Jan 1, 2017 @ 5:26am

Awesome game. Only one level really had me stuck, and the puzzle mechanic behind it was awesome. The music was very good.

Jelinib says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 8:18am

This was very relaxing to play. No time limits, calming music and sound effects, and the satisfaction of making things fit just right!

The green highlights for valid placements are a nice and easy way for the player to see and remember what can go where! Thank you for implementing that! It was super helpful in solving the puzzles.

Like others have said, level 14 was the hardest. And I didn't have much of a problem with 15. They should probably swap places so that 14 is the last level, hehe.

Graphics are clean, the glitter is great, and the puzzles are nicely challenging! I really don't have much to complain about. Very well done!

Zee says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 3:57pm

Once I got the hang of the rules, it was quite a fun and relaxing puzzler! Once the difficulty kicked in, I had a lot of fun working on the rooms! Levels 13 and 14 took me a while to solve, but they were a fun challenge. The music really added to the game's overall tone and relaxation, it really sets the mood!

(Below, I wrote more then expected, must of been the drinks on New Years :P )

My only real complaints are UI issues. The coffee table was quite hard to pick out, since it blends in with the black background of furniture picker. Having to click on the black dot to pickup the furniture seemed counter-intuitive (why not just the object itself?). I often had a hard time picking up the love seats, since the dot is only on a single side. Meaning I often clicked the wrong side and started to drag, only for me to realize I didn't actually pick up the seat.

Having to use the space bar to move to the next level became quite tedious since the entire game is controlled with the mouse. I often moved my left hand anyway from the keyboard to a more comfortable position, or to rest my head. I would consider adding a button or a click to continue instead. These are nitpicks, I know, but they did become small points of frustration after awhile.

Other then the UI issues, I really enjoyed my time with the game. It was a great concept, and a great execution of it!

Jan 21, 2017 @ 8:19pm

Nice concept! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/9xy3qMJx7GQ

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]