Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Nobi Sword

by matthewpalaje - Jam Entry

About:
Nobi Sword is an action arcade game where each kill allows your sword to grow. You can only kill enemies that are as big as your sword and you must avoid being hit by enemies/hazards in order to survive.

I worked super hard on this and appreciate everyone who plays it :)

I joined in a little late to the jam and had around a little less then 40 hours to develop the game.

Controls:
W/A/S/D to move
Left/Right mouse click to swing the sword
Walk into the glowing particles once the boss is defeated on each stage

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#177Fun(Jam)3.63
#179Graphics(Jam)4.12
#235Overall(Jam)3.63
#331Audio(Jam)3.23
#353Mood(Jam)3.44
#359Innovation(Jam)3.28
#678Theme(Jam)3.10

Comments

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:17pm

I really enjoyed this game. The control scheme was unique and the game seemed fairly challenging but not impossible to get the hang of. My one issue was with the sword getting a little bit unmanageable at a certain size, at one point glitching into the wall and slinging me at an enemy. Other than that minor issue however, I liked it a lot!

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:19am

Hey Matt! Thanks for the feedback. Since the jam is still on I updated it and fixed those issues :)

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:47am

I like the idea of the game, something like an idle dungeon crawler. I thought since the enemies didn't move it would be impossible to lose but the movement and traps made it more challenging. Great work!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:49am

The basic gameplay mechanic reminds me of the mobile RPG, Fairune.

Paradoxa42 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:18am

Very good game

Kurang says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:18am

Good game! The graphic is simple but the shadow and particle effect together with the nicely designed floor really gives the atmosphere. The music is really nice too

BathPirate says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:19am

Fun! Not bad! Great work!

Awpteamoose says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:21am

It's often hard to tell if my strikes will connect or if my sword is too small. Also, livelier enemies would be more interesting than slippery movement.

Peringo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:56am

A great entry, just not a very fun one for me.
The visuals and the atmosphere of the game are superb! It´s really relaxing and the whole game looks great. I get that the wonky controls were needed to add some kind of difficulty to the game, but the bouncy, unpredictable movement of the character is a bit frustrating, especially when the sword bounces or stops your momentum. Since you loose momentum with everything you hit, it also never feels really satisfying to swing the sword.
Nonetheless, it's a very soothing experience and it's apparent that a lot of effort has been put into this!

Mouch says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:06am

The game looks pretty good. I think the game is not hard enough though, so maybe add a time limit/moving obstacles and faster enemies.

Dvorgaz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:10am

Really nice look and feel, although it gets somewhat repetitive. Maybe the ability to launch enemies in a pinball-like fashion could make it more interesting (and hilarious).

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:19am

The core game mechanic reminded me a lot of Slash Quest, the game that won LD34's jam. The mechanics have been changed a bit though, and the visuals use a different but still pleasant style. I think having the difficulty coming from poor controls rather than smart enemies makes the game a bit too frustrating, and you can't tell which enemies your sword can kill. I think having an indicator for that would greatly improve the playability of the game.

Simple Ghost says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:27am

Hey man! It`s Ondrej from Twitter ;)

Really beautiful art and design. I genuinely enjoyed playing this and I have cleared all 3 levels. This is certainly one of the "better" games in LD37! Great work!

Just some of my ideas... they may be really stupid so brace yourself :D
It could be funny if you got pulled towards the sword when you spin it.
I think that sword could spin on its own. I imagine that everyone was just holding the mouse button.
Or... you would have to continualy click LMB and RMB in certain interval to spin in faster and faster ..that could have really interesting feeling.

I would love to see more of this. Leveling, upgrades, shop for better swords and maces... the concept you have there is really fun! :)

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:30am

Hey Ondrej! Thanks for the amazing feedback :)!!

I actually really like those ideas!! I'll try them out. Thanks so much, It makes me want to continue developing it.

Palarus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:53am

One of the best games I've tried so far. The concept is nothing new, but the twist and focus is so interesting. The graphics are really fitting and they help making the overall feeling incredible.

Congratulations!

mipo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:30am

Fun game with great art. Once I stopped holding mouse 1 and spinning I started to like the control scheme. It might be nice to experiment with twin stick controls or have the mouse control the sword. Some of the enemies would spawn outside the playable area (not that it stopped me from killing them (: ) or at a different height than my sword. The enemies are good for the beginning levels but it would be nice to have more difficult enemies that move or fire projectiles. The graphics look really polished other than a jittery trail on the sword that sometimes appears. This game looks really promising and I would love to play any future versions.

panurge says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:32am

Neat mechanic - a very nice base upon which you could build a full game by adding some variety to the combat, locations and enemies. I really enjoyed playing and beat all three levels.

Asghardian says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:38pm

Awesome game! Original and fun. I liked the concept and the gameplay. The Soundtrack is as good as well. Just one issue: sometimes the enemies cross the walls and get unreachble, this might be a problem to get the sword bigger. But I guess it's a small issue. The game is incredible. Congrats!

hugofock says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:44pm

Nice concept, it's like agar.io but with sword!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:59pm

I love the concept, swinging with sword is tactile and really fun, but because enemies are only standing in a single spot there is no challenge. Maybe something changes after 3rd level, but I couldn't progress because of glitches - some of monsters (even boss) climbed on walls and got out :) I think I can call it solid prototype to a very cool game, I'd like to see.

negativice says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:22pm

Pretty good all around, i'm not sure if i missed something or what, but sometimes my sword would not kill the enemies.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:59pm

Controls are a bit slippery and it's a bit hard to tell what you can kill with your sword, but otherwise it looks nice and the gameplay is nifty. :)

leondryaso says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:39pm

The graphics are absolutely adorable, love it! The movement is a bit floaty and it looks strange when the sword goes through a solid block, but still... good entry.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Really cool mechanic. Nice game :)

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Really nice game, graphics look nice and its fun. It would be great if it was a little harder tho.

murilo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Although it is quite simple, the sword's resizing idea was creative and the game is fun.

saucygames says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:50am

This has a lot of potential! Someone said for obstacles. I do really believe you need that and for a way to tell the player how they can attack larger enemies. This is for long term planning though! This is great for you only having 40 hours! :D

Sean says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Nice entry! I really enjoyed the cartoony aesthetic and the gameplay idea is pretty great.

One major issue I had with this game was that it was never clear whether your sword was big enough to hit enemies or not. I think this could be fixed if instead of making enemies a one-hit kill, give them different amounts of health have the size of the sword affect damage. That way you wouldn't feel as if you have to hunt down as many tiny enemies as possible and instead make it possible to take down a larger enemy with a few more hits if needed.

The traps were also a bit hard to distinguish from the rest of the environmental obstacles, but that's a fairly minor issue. I'm also not really sure how this applies to the "one room" theme?

If you haven't played Slash Quest from a few LDs back (theme was two buttons/growing), be sure to check that one out. It did a lot of cool things with a similar core mechanic!

tylerraz says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Had some fun with this one. Getting that massive sword at the end of each level is awesome. I do wish the enemies were a little more dynamic, whether with movement or some sort of projectile attack. Great work!

Thijs Tak says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:23am

I liked the game. The sword movement took a moment to get used to but was executed well.
Not as easy as it first seemed.

Dec 22, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Not a completely original idea as I've seen a similar LD entry like this before. Still, it's well made :) Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]