Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Cranky Adventure

by nick.bota - Compo Entry

A Cranky Adventure is colorful side-scrolling platformer that is aimed to answer one main question, what would Breaking Bad be like if the action was set in just ONE ROOM? It's my first Compo and I overestimated how much I can do in these 48 hours that's why aspects like animation, upgrades and other stuff that i really wanted to do remained out. Thank you for your time and reviews!

!Note: After you get past the first day, don't give up, keep playing, the story goes on until day 5.
Another note: Recommended resolution 1920x1080.

Feel free to contact me at: nick.bota@yahoo.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#31Graphics4.31
#158Humor3.05
#209Mood3.32
#238Theme3.74
#284Overall3.33
#317Audio2.79
#354Innovation3.02
#468Fun2.79

Comments

DemiPixel says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:56am

Really amazing job for a first entry and aspiring programmer. Despite not many particles effects or fancy animations, the game seemed amazingly well polished with all the graphics, so you're getting a 5 from me in that category (just from looking at the screenshots, I thought this was a Jam entry)... wanna team up for a Jam next time? ;)

In all seriousness, working a ton of gameplay in with 48 hours is definitely difficult. If you could have (by spending less time on the art or switched some aspect of the game), it would've been cool to see something like purity (how accurately you press the buttons or something like that) to earn more money. Also, a quick (but slightly cheap) fix to make the game run longer might've been to add a phone call for some random amount of time (a day or two) after you've completed the first one so you have to keep earning money! At the end, if you reject and decide to not give the money, perhaps 5 guys come in with guns so it's more challenging and worth paying sometimes? Who knows.

I think for your next one, perhaps consider time allocation. For example, does the picture hanging on the wall really contribute as much to the game as an upgrade system? (I understand they wouldn't take the same amount of time, but it's simply an example). If something mind-twisting is what you're going for, see if you can focus more on the programming and needed assets first before going back and polishing. If you're looking to focus on the assets, going for a more simplistic approach while remaining fun (I understand, easier said than done). For example, for the latter, you might have (unrelated to this theme) and farm where animals pop up and you have to click on them to catch them and raise your score. The game goes on forever, increasing at which the animals rise and then disappear meaning that users can play for a long time without you having to worry about extensive programming, giving you more time to design and create the farm, animals, and other beautiful assets.

Sorry for the long rambling, but I hope you get one or two things out of this long mess of a message!

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:25am

The Graphics are super-impressive! Fun concept. I'd like to see it finished!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:32am

The artwork was really nice, and I think that the concept was solid. I think that the actual gameplay was quite boring though. I wish it had either been more action packed, or had a bit more of a story. Either way, really good entry for your first Ludum Dare.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:00am

Amazing art, I loved the idea of making a breaking bad themed game. Great story and really good idea on playing with a mini-game key-presses + clickathon as well. My only feedback is that sometimes you don't get feedback on how well you did your actions. Like I could press the wrong keys I wouldn't even know. Anyhow, it was super fun to play :)

Megalink says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:23am

Pretty good artstyle! I also loved the story. Good job!

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:30am

the art work was great but i tried 4 different sizes (1920x1080 was not available) and none of them allowed me to actaully see the full screen and the details of what i was supposed to do were off screen

tomdeal says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:39am

Grats to yout first LD game! Very well done! I like the graphics, they are pretty good. Also, the quicktime game is neat. Is there any way to get the first part higher than 30% of the bar? I was pressing the spacebar as fast as I can. The shooting mechanic could use a bit of work.
I found one gamebreaker: I was in the quicktime minigame (spacebar sequence) when a Gangster came in and tried to shoot me. I manage to kill him, but the bullets had pushed me away from the table. I could not move anymore and no buttons worked.

nick.bota says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:51am

@tomdeal Unfortunately there are more gamebreakers that I noticed after the game was submitted, sorry about that. And yeah the bar not going higher is because it's tied to the upgrade system which was never finished properly, sorry about that too. Thanks for playing though!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:54pm

It's a really nice game. We really like the graphics and we get fun with the story. It's a really nice game and doesn't look like "a first" game at all. Keep working.

The phone mechanic for the narrative is a great idea but the shoot experience was not so good. The cooking one is ok, but I think that to make the game more fun the player should do different stuff in different places (like overcooked for example). In this way you can introduce a resources management mechanic to the game.

t4u says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:52pm

I gave up after day 1. Graphic is above average. Music is ok but the rest is painfully lacking.

There is no indication of meth quality during day. I want to know that I did epic A+ score meth and if only I make it to the end of day I will sell it for lots of cash.

The whole gaemplay is a "no". If only there were some upgrades along the way - nothing fancy a damage upgrade/better cooking, anything.

I played 3 times because two of them got bugged. In first run I manged to get two additional number at the end of the clock so getting to 15:00 was impossible. During the second run I couldn't reach the phone - got stuck. Little bugs are acceptable but game breaking ones are big no.

Lack of animation was something that really struck me. You clearly are a talented artist so why the character can't have a 3 sprite animation of walking?

I think you might have invested too much time on graphic and not enough on gameplay and concept. Next time try to concentrate on those and if you can't use idea that always works platformer/topdown shooter and turn it to 11 with your art.

See you next jam.

tommarx69 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Very impressive !

ahmedmohi says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:40am

good work on the game , i did hit some bugs and i don't think i ever manged to make the space bar or quick time events :D .. the art is great but i would the gameplay to be more focus there more you can get from the idea

Greek85 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:07am

oh! Nice! Can I find it on indiexpo? I'm making videos about the games of this Jam, but only about the games hosted also on indiexpo.net! Tell me if you will add it, so I can include it in my next video ;)

DOXM says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 10:00am

Original concept.

Shivur says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Good Graphics.

MementoGames says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:29pm

The graphics are good, despite lacking animation. I think that the generate meth minigame is a bit repetitive. Good job on your first jam!

nick.bota says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:45pm

Thanks to everybody who played the game! Your praises have been really inspiring and your criticisms have been constructive, on point and really helpful.

JesseyCool says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Great job! For the amount of time you had it's impressive. Im sure you're aware of all the flaws of the game.

nick.bota says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 5:29pm

JesseyCool, thanks man! Yeah, repetitive boring gameplay, some gamebreaking bugs, lack of animation and subpar audio, definitely gonna improve on that next year

Dec 20, 2016 @ 5:42pm

Nice polish on the aesthetics, and quite addictive gameplay, you had me smashed my space bar :)

SeaDads says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 9:43am

Love the artstyle, and gameplay is really ambitious for compo, but you got so much in there! Congrats!

Dec 22, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Fun game with great looking art. I was really into it until someone walked through the door while I was doing the spacebar challenge, and it didn't let me dodge bullets or fight back, so I just had to watch myself die :(

Dec 22, 2016 @ 7:05pm

I really loved the art in this game. My only complaint is getting killed while cooking because I can't move my character. Other than that it was great! I tried 3 times but didn't make it to day 5.

Minato4th says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 1:13pm

It tightens for a long time!
The is small problems but the is not critical, you should go ahead and try to develop idea!

Sarge3v says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Real good arts, but I wish it there was some animation too.

ijzm says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 8:37am

The progress for passing Day 1 seemed so slow. I got to the part where I had to wait for the 15:00 mark? But it seemed like the time moved so slowly, and the game wouldn't even run in the background. All I could do was the tedious hit-the-spacebar and then press the sequence keys. I felt like there wasn't enough time allocated to that particular part to make it engaging.

The art itself is the most well done aspect of the game. Like the others said, animations of the main character would have really elevated this game further. But the colours and details inside the room look great!

The music is quite repetitive, but decent enough for what you could do with forty-eight hours. There is potential for this game, so I think you have a good start. It's certainly a good feat for a first game jam. :)

~Random-storykeeper

Erkberg says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Really nice and clean graphics. The gameplay was alright and varied enough, but I just don't like things like pressing a button as fast as possible, the other "minigames" were good though. The music was alright, but got repetitive quite fast.
I really wanted to make it to day 5 to see how it ends, but on day 4 I was attacked while cooking it up and could not duck, so I died :(
Overall, I enjoyed this despite its flaws, good job! And really impressive for a first compo!

mar3k says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Nice game, love that art, but I had a problem, where I got to cooking (for 2nd time), but it froze, the timer and me pressing space did nothing. But cool game otherwise!

Dec 30, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Wow that's a huge amount of work for a 2 days solo work. Really great entry, I loved the Breaking Bad vibe, the storytelling is well designed, aesthetics are really pleasant and there is lot of content. All the game is well put together.

Dec 31, 2016 @ 3:42pm

Cool idea and neat game. Really impressive graphics and aesthetics for 48 hours of work.

I'm playing on Mac and a lot of the text overlaps for me, so I think I missed a lot of what was happening.

Stending says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 4:03pm

Awesome level of polish! The art looks really great and the idea is really fun!
Congratulations on that! <3

nick.bota says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 12:29am

Thanks to everybody who played the game, you have been truly inspirational. This was my first LD but it definitely won't be the last one, thanks to you guys and your amazing feedback!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]