Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Hamsterical Nuts

by mirta000 - Jam Entry

you're a genetically engineered hamster to be the best hamster of them all! You undertake combat training against robots in a house-like setting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#340Graphics(Jam)3.73
#360Humor(Jam)2.84
#601Theme(Jam)3.27
#630Mood(Jam)2.96
#644Fun(Jam)2.81
#659Overall(Jam)3.04
#724Innovation(Jam)2.55

Comments

Ayxs says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:44pm

It's a fun game, the graphics are beatifully handdrown and the music is nice, the gameplay is a little bit slow and repetitive. Also a sound effect here and there would've been nice

Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:32am

The hamster animation is really nice. Give your artist a hug.

bplane2 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:36am

For some reason it took a really long time to load (I'm not one to talk mine did too, but it seemed disproportionately long for the amount of code that must've been running). Apart from that the game wasn't too bad, it suffered from some slow and repetitive gameplay. The shooting to either side seemed to be slower than shooting up or down for some reason. The music was pretty good, but the looping got pretty tiresome quickly. The art and animations were great though, the spitting animation was really solid.

I think the theme was incorporated pretty minimally, and a small upgrade system or even just some powerups would've helped the gameplay a lot. Obviously the enemies needed to be more eloquently programmed, but that can take a lot of time, especially without any knowledge of AI or more robust movement algorithms.

Overall it was a solid foundation for a game with a better than average art style, that could've benefited from more time or better knowledge of enemy code. Good work.

ZQMony says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:42am

Nice game. The animation on the hamster looked amazing along with the rest of the art. I wish everything was a bit quicker though.

Uruca Games says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:02am

Very nice art!!! I like the hamster char! ^^ Cute and deadly ehheeheh Very good game!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Simple but fun little game. The graphics are really nicely done! It could use some polish here and there but a solid entry overall. Well done :)

hildegain says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Quite surprised by the positive reception to my art work. Was my first time making anything for a game. My first time animating anything too :D

Yeah the horizontal and vertical shot speeds are different because the timing of the animation is off too. So I will be addming more frames and fixing that up later on but it is out of the question for the LD. We're considering making this into an actual game.

As for power ups and the like: Yeah we were super into the idea of making power-ups but had little time to make it into the gamejam. Pretty sad about that but it's okay! Because I also wanna make more hamster variants too. Gonna be sweet.

Bunch of really good criticisms here :)

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:44am

The graphics are really nice! The game's pretty fun once you get the hang of it, sound effects would have been nice but it all works.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:17pm

Nice animations! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/jkCKtsfy-DM

Sean says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Nice entry! The hamster animation is pretty good, but there is quite an artistic disconnect between the hamster, the enemies, and the room itself. They all seem to be drawn with wildly varying styles.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 5:35am

Good game! Easy to start playing and chipmunk music is nice. Please add improved graphics solution and more gameplay features.

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:25am

I'm not a fan of the handwork style art in general. But still, yours is nicely done. The shooting mechanism felt a bit too slow for me, and the level were a bit too repetitive. Some sound effect would help, especially since it's ashooter: makes thing more engaging.

stefvanschie says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 7:29am

It felt like the red balls hit the hamster even when he isn't touching them at all. Perhaps you should shrink the boundary of either a bit.
The graphics are great and the animations are really smooth. The gameplay is very fun and pretty difficult.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:09am

nicely drawn. but starting with the exact ammo, that you need, leaving you with no place for mistakes, is a bad idea. also, it could use some sort of visual indication that you've lost a life. otherwise, nice and fun game

Drkr says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 3:36am

Didn't load for me, and for the windows download I couldn't download the Data folder. Please put everything in a .zip file or something. It would be a real shame if I don't get to play your game.

Dec 20, 2016 @ 3:36am

Animation was pretty nice, but the gameplay was pretty slow. Also, it could use some player feedback.

sikosis says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 3:39am

Unable to download the Windows one as the folder and files are separate. You should zip them all up. I then tried the web version and after installing Firefox and the Unity plugin I got a white screen with no game. You should have used WebGL as that works in Safari and Chrome.

So, sorry I was unable to play your game.

TBOI TEAM says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 5:20am

Well done! The only complaint i have is the animation when the mutant hamster is facing right or left, which is slightly slower than when he is facing up or down. But the animation itself is awesome!

Maple says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:53am

I beat the game!

Once I realised that those big things are spawners, and that you can shoot vertically much faster, it became much easier. I assume that the quicker vertical shooting speed was unintentional?

The music was a bit off-putting at first, as it didn't seem to match the visuals, but it shortly grew on me.

Awesome animation/drawing.

Above all, it kept me playing until the end, which not many LD games do.

Good job!

P.S. if you want a good game to check out for your vid, check out Managore's Walkie Talkie. Best game I've played yet for this LD!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 11:09am

Cute and crazy design, leading to a very specific mood :)
As some others said, adding some elements to make diversity in the gameplay experience could have helped a bit :)

Well played anyway!

mirta000 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:39pm

zipped it all up into one package for those unable to download and added with the rest of the stuff. So if you can't download the folder and exe separately, just download "ALL IN ONE.zip".

Reiv says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 5:36am

The graphics and animations are pretty nice! The animation of the hamster could be just a little bit faster. Something you should have in mind is to give the player the proper feedback when interacting with things, and I say this because sometimes I didn't realize that I was being hit by the enemies. The way you approached the theme was interesting. Overall a fun game!

Tkachov says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 7:20am

Nice. Music is a little bit annoying, and the gameplay is pretty repetative, just keep spamming projectiles until something disappears. Flying things were difficult, but their collisions with stuff were saving from them for a long time.

ato says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 9:50am

Nice, colorful game. I really like the animations of the hamster, spitting nuts and running looks good. Good thing that the bed can block for a moment the flying enemies, I used it to my advantage.

Berbecarul says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Nice little game. The concept is really cool and the aesthetics are pretty good and I also liked the music. However you might want a bit quicker gameplay (is a hamster after all), and more variety on enemies or projectiles. Good job!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:19pm

I'll be honest, I think the best part of the game was the music, which I guess wasn't yours. :/ It is pretty, but it is missing the gameplay. If you were aiming for a twinstick shooter, then these are the issues that come to mind:
- there should be no delay between me pressing the key and the hamster actually shooting
- I'd personally make the shooting + cooldown much faster, make the enemies have a lot more hp, but allow the hamster to move while shooting
- the reloading adds nothing to the gameplay, and the ammo counter is super easy to miss
- shooting up and down is faster than left and right for some reason?
- the monsters should absolutely not spawn on top of the player (or at least let the player know it will happen, so they can move out of the way)

And then of course – more weapons, enemy types, sounds, etc. Still, congratulations on your first LD entry!

kptemre says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 4:48am

Nice game @mirta000 you also don't have a voice control but I guess you didn't need it as much as I do :D

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 2:29am

Pros:
-The animation on the hamster, especially when he's firing from the side, is excellent

-Good pacing (it really picks up around level 4) and perfect/smart length of play time for a game jam when many people will be only getting the surface level of your game

-Intuitive easy controls


Cons:
-It could use more of a variety of firing patterns from the robot baddies-- maybe just change the color of the same sprite and make one that also fires at diagonal directions?

-It wasn't obvious until level 5 whether the spawners were actually responsible for the enemies spawning or whether they were simply something I had to destroy to beat the level


Suggestions:
Maybe have an autofire for the player or a mechanic where the longer you hold down the fire button the faster/slower your projectiles get created. The former, in conjunction with maybe adding regenerating health on the spawners could make things a bit more interesting.

Also an animation that cues the player in to which spawner is spawning which enemy type would be helpful.


Thanks for playing mine and it is a joy to play yours as well :)

qzqxq says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 4:21am

Just a note: When I try to download the zip on Google Drive, it tells me that a virus was detected. :(

I'll try to download Firefox, but it would be nice if there was a web version that worked on all browsers.

qzqxq says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 4:45am

I tried this three times. The graphics and animations are well-done and I enjoyed the lighthearted/silly mood.

To be honest, I didn't even realize that the game had multiple levels until I looked at the comments after my first two tries. I didn't realize that the machine thingy was responsible for spawning robots, so I kept killing the robots, and they respawned, and this repeated until I ran out of ammo. Some visual feedback on this would have been nice (e.g. a robot popping out of the machine and being thrown to its location in the room). Also, speaking of player feedback, I would have liked more sound effects to indicate when I hit a robot or got hit by the red circle things.

The second level seems really difficult, given that I only have 20 ammo and there are 2 spawners and 5 robots, so I'm not sure how to get past it (is there some way to restore ammo?). Also, moving and shooting in general just feel kind of sluggish; I think I would have found this more exciting if everything was sped up 2x or something like that.

Overall, I like the idea, and with some more mechanics this could be really fun. You said in the comments that you're considering making this into an actual game, and I'd highly encourage that!

qzqxq says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 4:47am

Well, I just saw that you can press R to reload. Boy do I feel dumb! (but again, in terms of feedback, it would have been nice if an R key appeared above your head if you ran out of ammo)

keckles says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 5:11am

not bad

jramell says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 5:19am

I've seen several games with "cute" on their title because of the art style, but not one of them got me to think they were actually cute... until now. Amazing art, and the background music fit perfectly.

I'd suggest adding more sound effects. Also, the fact that your projectiles could collide and be destroyed by yourself was pretty counterintuitive and frankly frustrating. Was confused by this through the entirety of the game.

But yeah... really cute.

Minato4th says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 9:44am

Very interesting idea of the shooting, but i think it is too hard for casual players. Otherwise all is very good!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 4:38pm

The shooting animation was very cute but the actual shooting itself was very slow.

rojo says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 1:02am

Loved the hamster! The music was a good fit as well. I think some ammo pick ups would be a nice touch. Also fine tuning the collision / movement / shooting mechanics would be good - they felt a little clunky. Overall nice job!

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 10:59am

Visually very nice, especially the animations which are awesome! I also really liked the music.

Gameplay could be improved to be more snappy. Sound effects and hit feedback would do wonders for the game.

automatonvx says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 2:25pm

Cute graphics, I seemed to get stuck on corners of things a bit, so maybe the colliders need some tweaking, took me a while to figure out that those things were spawning the enemies and I needed/could to destroy them, also reloading with 'R' was not that obvious and seemed a bit uneccesary as its instant anyway. More variation in terms of enemy behaviour would also really help the gameplay. I also felt everything was a bit too big, that made avoiding the enemy bullets difficult.
I really liked the main character though. I also made a one room shooter style entry, please feel free to give it a try.
Personally I really liked the music choice also.
Overall good job.

dollarone says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 7:10pm

Great "one room" game. I didn't remember the reload button at first so thought it was super hard. I mean, the game gets harder, but you need more than 20 ammo to get by even the 2nd level :)

Cool idea with the spawners and the exploders! Pretty good controls, I found some corners where I could (as I hoped) hide and fire at the incoming enemy hordes :)

Good fun!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]