Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Poopy R**mba

by Moritz - Compo Entry

"Before your ungrateful owners replace you with a N**to, go ahead and ruin their brand new studio apartment."

Object of Play:

Step 0: Find the pile of Dog Poop
Step 1: Get there in as few steps as possible
Step 2: Spread the poop everywhere in one go

Hint: Don't go anywhere twice, or your CHARGE runs out before you have 100% SPREAD. You need full spread to advance to the next level.

Hint: Extra Points for more turns (grind that poo into the carpet!)

Supports WASD and Cursor Keys.



This is my very first Ludum Dare Entry. Feeling accomplished, it was so much fun!

I don't even know what else to write.

Thanks for playing!

Software Used:
- Unity3D
- git for windows
- Velocity Video 3
- Visual Studio
- ReSharper
- Sublime Text
- sfxr
- Paint.net
- 7zip

Libraries:
- Entitas
- PicaVoxel (non-free)
- Unity Standard Assets: Image Effects

Time Lapses:
- Brainstorm: https://youtu.be/FmftjR0sqVY
- Day 1: https://youtu.be/yQq6FNKKWUE
- Day 2: https://youtu.be/SETBxA8AMQw

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#16Humor4.09
#55Graphics4.06
#77Overall3.83
#84Fun3.75
#143Innovation3.60
#156Mood3.47
#233Theme3.75
#366Audio2.56

Comments

tinykidtoo says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:55am

Wow this is a really fun game. I find it a really fun puzzle to spread poopy all over my oppressive owner.

Moritz says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:56am

Thank you for the kind words! :)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:03am

Great job, man! This is a really compelling puzzle game, with a hilarious premise and a great visual style.

Some music would make this really shine - but it's awesome all the same.

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:47am

Space-filling poop curves. :D

Aster0id2000 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:47am

Really fun to play! I enjoyed it. It's kinda missing the background music tho, but well, good job man!!! Nice game!

Moritz says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:51am

Thanks a lot! I hacked in sound basically going into submission hour, no time to compose any music. Also, it's 20 years since I tracked my last piece... :D

Time Lapse Videos coming later today.

I'm considering making a "Jam" or "Polished" version with some transitions after this is over, adding some funny music.

gene-z says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:56am

I can´t play

Oxeren says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:19pm

Haha, that was fun! :)

saurterrs says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:41pm

Cool x)

_beta says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:43pm

Spreading poop has never been this fun

Aliencargo says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:44pm

Fun game with nice polish. I was really confused in the beginning because you can press a button and close the text between levels very fast, so it took almost 4-5 maps before i understood what was going on!

Moritz says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Yeah, no time for waitstate

Moritz says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Will add more polish to the "end level" experience in a later version. (obviously not the compo version). Thank you for the kind and constructive feedback :)

Xinelu says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:59pm

Lol i will never buy one this robots after this !! Good job

sanojian says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Is this game based on personal experience? ;-) Fun game and great graphics and lighting.

resty says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:31pm

This game is really nice. Played to level 16, not sure if there is an end.

After some level, it becomes a problem to find shortest path road to the poop and find a Hamilton-Road. Never thought that finding Hamilton-Road is such fun.

And nice random puzzle generator.

Only problem troubles me is that sometimes i can't sure if a given cell is blocked or not.

Moritz says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:36pm

The path length goes up unto level 20, with a 50 step length. Then it stays constant. The simple Generator has problems with longer paths because there are literally bazillions of routes to try.

Who would've thunk I casually get to build a game that has two NP complete problems, bin packing and the Hamilton path :)

Asturk says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Hey man, about my game not working on web version, i fixed now, i just accidentaly left on "draft mode" instead of "public mode" so only i could play the game, so really sorry about it!

I will test your game later when i got more time and vote / comment here again, if you can test my web link again, i will be appreciated! ;]

Mik3 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Really fun idea, fun to play as well. The sounds were a bit annoying though.

harark says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Quite fun puzzle game. Played to level 9. I really like the graphics! Blocky in a nice way. Cute roomba! It was sometimes hard to see if a tile was blocked or not. It didn't affect any decisions negatively but made me having to focus on something other than the puzzles themselves.

Asturk says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Oks i am back to test now!

Well, i really enjoy these style of puzzles games, and i found the level design really creative and, sometimes, challenging. Also, it was a very funny concept and cool to play. Also, you did pretty well for a first run here at ludum dare, good job!

Tommy says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Great game! Really original and funny, I love the graphics. The only thing that I feel it's missing is the possibility to move holding the keyboard buttons.

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Really fun game! Great voxel graphics. Kinda missing the background music sadly.

Kazik_210 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:16pm

I like this graphics style and the idea for a game is really clever :), though the voices are a little bit annoying for me

makhovykh says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Innovation genre! 10/10 poops!

Moritz says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Thank you all for the great and constructive feedback. :)

eri0o says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:08pm

I played this for a long time, and then noticed I was stuck in Level 5! I like to spread lot's of poop, I wanted cool words pooping in the screen to make me feel more awesome, but it was cool and really creative! I missed a background music. I like the shining logo!

Moritz says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Added a proper embedded version. Supports screens up to 16:9. (coming from a passionate UW 21:9 screen user, this is quite embarrassing :D)

terop says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Looks nice, sounds work ok, was kinda difficult to control when the player was behind the cover... But good work...

Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Have mercy, this apartment is wayy too big. Think of the costs of upkeep! (By the way, I love the 3D pixel art).

I had an impression that the text 'Full Spread' (or 'Missed spot') sometimes obstructs the direction the player should go first.

In general, this is very enjoyable up to a point when it gets too repetitive.

blinry says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:25am

Fun idea! I also suspect this is based on personal experiences ;-) The graphics and models are amazing! :O The game concept was maybe a little bit too simple for me, I would have enjoyed more objects with further game mechanics. At the beginning, it was not always clear to me which floor tiles were accessible (like, below the table?), and I was confused when "level 6" changed after a failure ;-)

I definitely would have liked an undo or a restart button, because when you know you did a mistake, you have to poop around until your battery dies.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:48am

Great work! Audio is a little grating, but the gameplay is great!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:18am

Full spread!

batmagus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:40am

Love that voxel art! It could probably stand to be a little shorter, some of the levels feel like filler.

x1212 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:42pm

I need to show this to the other members of our team! There was a robot like at the place we used to work on the game. Luckily it wasn't active at the time ... :D

Great Graphics!
Also the mechanics and puzzles work really well.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Loving the voxel art! The humor is A+, I was really compelled to seek revenge.

limmmmm says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:11pm

this is legitimately really fun. love the revenge element, too haha

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:23am

Id throw my roomba out the winda-

Did this happen to you? Personal experience here? haha

Very well executed game- and lots of levels! Wish there was a restart button, I made mistakes and instantly wanted to redo the level. :P Art works great- sounds work great- well done!

Dejvo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:30am

Nice one. I like puzzle games. but sometimes, I have no idea where I am unless i move

Dejvo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:32am

Also, I've made a roomba game as well

Moritz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:52am

Left you a review there, thanks for reviewing mine :)

Dvorgaz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:52am

Neat:) Although it took me some time to realize that you can go under the tables.

hunttis says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:57pm

I can't believe it :D

I laughed my bottom off when I saw this, as this has really happened to a friend of mine (well, the roomba probably wasn't actually vindictive, but the mess was still quite something :D). I'm guessing you've had it happen too? :D

Aaaanyway, about the game:
+ a new kind of a puzzler, which is always nice to see
+ nice graphics + simple controls + easy to grasp
- the sounds were a bit sharp for me - sometimes the roomba started from behind the level sign and I had to move first to find out where I start

leondryaso says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:30pm

This is really weird but fun! :D

Firellon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:46pm

Really cool graphics!

Moritz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:07pm

Thank you XD

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:56am

Who doesn't stay up late nights just imagining what it would be like to be a poo-spreading roomba?! It's like a dream come true...

yuigoto says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:46am

I really love puzzle games like this one! Had great fun in here spreading poo everywhere!

The voxel graphics, coupled with the sound effects, give that 8-bit feeling, which is really nice. :D

Controls also work really nice for me, can't get as simple and better as that. :)

My only complain would be the camera angle, sometimes I don't know if there's a space or not in some places. Maybe it's me, but it kinda confused me a bit. :P

And, first entry? Really? Great work you've done here! Congrats on surviving and submitting! :P

Cheers!

Green Soda says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 4:10am

Nice game you have here! I had fun spreading those poops everywhere!! I noticed that you will spread more poop and gain more score if you stay on a spot for long time... puzzle games like these are nice to play, nice mechanics!

Moritz says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:57am

This isn't my first game jam, but I never particpated a jam that was over 12 hours before.

The camera angle is indeed good feedback, I changed it a bit in testing and the best fix is to remove a certain chair and to cut holes in high furniture.

It has been quite insightful in terms of usability to make this :)

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 5:10am

I found some poo. lol'd alot

NuSan says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Nice game, I liked the puzzle idea. The goal was a bit confusing at first. But once the rules understood, it's quite fun to plan the spreading !

Dec 29, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Funny game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/hYD1PzuDX-0

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 8:10pm

Fun poop spreading game, very comic take on the theme.
Sound is a little annoying.

How many levels are there I must of played 40 diferent settings.

Moritz says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Thanks Jupiter! :-)

SamuelSousa: There are 20 difficulty levels, and all levels after the 20th stay the same path length. (optimum difficulty is actually around 15 or so)

Ellian says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 12:30am

... This is a game about spreading dog poop as a ruumba.
11/10.

No seriouly, it's a very very solid entry. Super fun, puzzles are simple but work well, the graphics are great and it's dumb and funny as heck. Love it!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]