Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Croquettes

by VikFx - Jam Entry

Croquettes! You 're a cat in a single room puzzle platformer. Find the cat food and have fun.
Better with a controller
press A to jump and X for action with a Xbox360 gamepad.

You will find the original game (published for LDJAM) and the updated one (Post - LDJAM) in the archive.

LAST UPDATE : 2016-12-31
- Fixes weird climbing and jumping on plateform.
- Changes inputs for keyboard controls.
- Adds some audiofx and music.
- Changes some designs for being more understandable.
- Adds popups for tutorials.

EFFECTIVE WORKING TIME DURING LDJAM : ~48h
EFFECTIVE WORKING TIME post LDJAM : ~15h

CHANGES I WOULD LIKE TO ADD :
- Time limit for levels
- Bird with extra bonus (like the mouse)
- Moving dog
- Level Transition
- Other animations
- Breakable objects
- Movable Platforms
- More (and better) sounds
- More Levels...

Thank you for playing and yours precious comments.
I'll try to continue this game for those who are interested.

You will find more games soon on my website.
http://vikfx.fr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#623Humor(Jam)1.95
#628Graphics(Jam)3.04
#673Theme(Jam)3.11
#782Innovation(Jam)2.31
#794Mood(Jam)2.43
#822Fun(Jam)2.38
#837Overall(Jam)2.68

Comments

onixowl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:45am

I figured out how to jump only when accidentally clicked the mouse button. Very difficult to control the cat due to delay

Bellatrion says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:38pm

The controls are difficult and i couldn't manage to grab the purple marks :/
Otherwise, nice graphics, animation and idea !

Thijs Tak says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:51pm

A bit hard to control. Also, it seems you cant grab the purple scratch marks.

skorpyo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:56pm

I had some difficulties with control. Movement delay is not good idea :)

fauche_j says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:14pm

really nice idea but control are really hard and purple marks can't be grab.

HotByteDog says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:16pm

I totally like the artwork and the main character is nicely animated. The scratch jumping is a nice idea.
The controller needs more direct response and less sticking to edges on platforms.

TheAmante says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:21pm

It's too bad that there is no audio, thought the game was nice !

Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:05am

I like your cat design and animation. Gameplay was a bit hard though... And some purple marks were not working very well.

Skruffye says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:11am

Cool idea with a nice black on grey colour scheme. The platforming controlled nicely, but the climbing was very buggy, depending on where you approached the scratches from.

Additionally, not being able to tell which platforms you can interact with until you bump into them makes for a rather frustrating experience.

I also think this could have definitely benefited from a suitable soundtrack, but you probably didn't have the time.

Good job though--keep making games. :)

SbstnC says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:41am

Nice take on the theme, with a nice concept.

DOXM says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:09am

Personally, I love the controls.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:26am

That was cute ! Good take on the theme, getting new powers to explore the same room is pretty clever.
I manage to finish it, but the controls are quite frustrating. But hey, nailing control for a platformer with a few different moves takes time !

TBOI TEAM says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 5:36am

Interesting platforming idea. I played on the keyboard, so i had to try every button to figure out the controls, but that`s not that big of a problem. My suggestions would be put on some background music and improve the climbing mechanics (which are a bit weird to use).

Diplodino says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Couldn't grab the purple marks, but I see where this was going, and I think it was a nice idea to exploit one room !

Louspirit says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Cute game. Missing some audio. Couldnt grab the purple marks too.

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 12:45pm

The climbing is a bit awkward and the window(?) confused me quite a bit, since I thought it was something to stand on, but it wasn't.
But the idea behind the mechanics wre pretty cool. I really liked the swinging on the fan.
Overall a solid entry.
And here is a cat for you:
^---^______|

automatonvx says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Quite nice, cute art style, the post jam version is a big improvement with the controls fixed and some music and fx makes all the difference. Swinging from fans and lamp shades was a nice surprise.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]